American Gigolo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Gigolo Reviews

Page 1 of 15
September 18, 2016
incredible movie, one i had never seen
½ August 5, 2016
Besides making Richard Gere and Giorgio Armani suits objects of desire, this softcore pornographic art cinema fails either as a love story or a social commentary on male prostitution and rich lonely trophy wives.
June 2, 2016
Only succeeds because of Gere's charisma. Touches on themes still daring today, over 35 years later. Movie's attitude to gays is really outdated though.
May 2, 2016
American Gigolo (1980) ??
Paul Schrader's and Richard Gere's worst film (you can guess what it's about). Not deep, not exciting, not pleasantly seamy, and certainly not sexy. Why Gere, why?
March 27, 2016
First time watch. Schrader and Gere meant it should have been the balls but it just lacked the spark needed in a good frame up thriller.
February 6, 2016
I just re-watched this "classic" again today. It's an interesting metaphor for loneliness and excessiveness all at the same time. I think this might make an interesting remake television series for Showtime. Just a suggestion.
½ October 21, 2015
Wow...who knew Richard Gere was such a bad actor back in the day?! The acting from all involved is so bad you have to see it to believe it. With a messy script, dull direction and some of the worst sex scenes ever shown on screen, I will admit I was intrigued to how the film would end. The answer...not well.
½ October 17, 2015
The film that catapulted the very handsome and talented Richard Gere to fame. Gere portrays a male prostitute in this film. The main detraction from a movie designed with the obvious intention for the womanly faction of the audience to gawk at, is Gere's grating very unsexy accent.
½ June 6, 2015
I'm not at all a Richard Gere fan and for that reason I've stayed away from this film. However, I've been a longtime fan of writer/director Paul Schrader and I've been lately checking out the music of Giorgio Moroder, who did the music for this film, so I finally broke down and watched this film and was quite taken with it. Schrader tends towards the seedy underbelly of society in his films and this one is no exception. Here Schrader follows high priced male prostitute, Gere, as he provides her services for a variety of ladies. When Gere has one "rough trick" he end up being accused of murder by the police and that's the hook to see how Gere moves through high society, political interests, 80s leather bars, rich fetishists, along with lowlife pimps and drug dealers. Besides the social commentary on wealth, power and control, the element I found most interesting was Gere's slow realization that he's a shallow low life who's not the in control guy who he thought he was. I'm not sure if it's the acting or the writing, but Gere seems dominated by the characters around in through most of the film, whether it's his latest client, the gorgeous Lauren Hutton, or the police detective, Hector Elizondo in one of his best roles, or an ex-pimp of Gere's, Bill Duke with hair. You even get Frank Pesce as Suspect #4 in a line-up scene. An element of a lot of Schrader films, like "Taxi Driver" or "Hardcore" is the subculture element, where the audience is taken into a strange foreign world lurking below the otherwise squeaky clean California image. Produced by Jerry Bruckheimer, with a nice synthesizer score by Giorgio Moroder and glossy neon 80s photography by John Bailey, this film is a real classic (despite my dislike of Gere).
½ April 9, 2015
Asking this actor at this time in his career to carry this shallow thriller is way too much.
½ March 29, 2015
Watched this for the first time in a long time and it confirmed my earlier perception - this has the cinematic pacing and perspective of a security camera video.
January 3, 2015
Decent slow paced film about a pimp framed for murder.
He has one person who he can trust to try and uncover who set him up.
Gere is good here but it's so slow paced with not too much suspense as there could of been.
½ November 9, 2014
***Due to the recent RT changes that have basically ruined my past reviews, I mostly only giving a rating rather than a full review.***
½ March 10, 2014
Here's a glossy, slick movie with lush photography and sumptuous settings. All the actors get high marks for their performances but is it enough to make you care about a high-priced gigolo, who is falsely accused of a murder? There is so much corruption and subterfuge in the story, it is hard to like any of the characters.Yet, beautiful people, expensive cars, high-fashion clothes, and celebrity hot-spot restaurants and cafes are always watchable. I would highly recommend the movie soundtrack. The songs really add to the film's atmosphere and set the tone. The picture is still vivid after all these years, and the underlying social commentary keeps it from being dated.
½ February 24, 2014
Being a big Richard Gere fan, I'm surprised myself I'm just now seeing this for the first time. Not a perfect script but must have been pretty edgy for a 1980 audience. I've also never seen Lauren Hutton act. The ending produced a touching love story between two very lonely people. Great soundtrack!
February 7, 2014
An intelligent suspense drama by Paul Schrader (who wrote Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, Affliction and other films). I'm puzzled by the current low rating here (67%). The ending seems a bit overhasty, "too neat by half"...but not a ruinous degree. This film made Richard Gere... before Pretty Woman.
January 29, 2014
sleek and beautiful to look at and another example of music + movies= a gr8 time
December 27, 2013
A time capsule cultural and societal commentary at the end of the 1970's just before AIDS changed everything this film is about. The problem is that it is clear that Schrader simply lucked out.
December 17, 2013
Haven't watch this in years, I remember enjoying it, need to watch it again.
November 21, 2013
Okay-ish thriller-drama. Plot setup was good but it just seems to drift from a point. Ending is a bit trite and quite predictable. Surprising, as the movie is written-directed by Paul Schrader, who wrote Taxi Driver and Raging Bull for Martin Scorsese. Maybe he shouldn't direct... (though Affliction was great and Cat People was decent).

Performances are OK. This was Richard Gere's breakthrough role.
Page 1 of 15