Any Given Sunday - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Any Given Sunday Reviews

Page 1 of 178
September 27, 2016
Good movie. Great acting by Pacino.
½ August 20, 2016
If it would have been an hour and a half, with more social commentary, it could have been good. Instead it's super long and super pretentious with a shitty soundtrack and filler scenes.
July 5, 2016
Although I was not the biggest fan of Oliver Stone, since Any Given Sunday boasted a very skilful cast I went ahead and watched it anyway.

Any Given Sunday is a little too ambitious for Oliver Stone's own good.
I'm not such a big fan of NFL, but I like a good sports movies. But Any Given Sunday is far from good. The problem is that it has a scale too big for it to reach. The fact is that there are good characters in Any Given Sunday, but there is a surplus of them and not all of them are that interesting. There is a central plot and a lot of subplots, but occasionally Oliver Stone fails to make the right elements interesting. For instance, the main story in Any Given Sunday did not appeal to me, but some of the subplots, particularly the one surrounding Dr. Harvey Mandrake. The general story did not feel like it had the heart of a good sports movies and was a little too political for my tastes. The excess of talking and the lack of actual sport in the film rendered flat results. The fact is that Oliver Stone nad John Logan are unable to craft much of an entertaining story for Any Given Sunday, and Oliver Stone gets so caught up in his own self indulgent direction that he is unable to realise how the slow pace of the film and extensive length do no favours to a movie already suffering from a flat and uninspiring sports film. So Any Given Sunday is not an example of him in top form.
Although Any Given Sunday has a decent visual style thanks to some consistently good cinematography and nice scenery as well as some powerful editing, and this shows particularly during the football sequences because everything is choreographed well and filmed to be very entertaining, yet Any Given Sunday is way too focused on talking about the games instead of actually having the characters play them which makes it a thoroughly boring film. I cannot sit through nearly three hours of melodramatic writing without being bored to death, so Any Given Sunday was not a film I could enhoy. It had some nice parts and the football match scenes were executed very well, but the simple fact is that the film is too focused on talking to really soar. If what the characters were discussing was genuinely more entertaining then I could let the problem go, but Any Given Sunday was really just a 162 minute long story recycled from many superior sports movies. For me, Any Given Sunday was not the exhilarating and gritty film that I could have been and was instead just an overly ambitious film which could not honestly pick a path to take and instead skewed off in many directions only to reach a formulaic conclusion. To put it simply, Any Given Sunday is a long, slow and boring film which doesn't really introduce much new to the sports film genre and it doesn't make me a bigger fan of gridiron than I already was. There is no rush, little excitement, and above all, barely any entertainment to justify everything, and if not for the actors, there would have honestly been nothing to keep me watching Any Given Sunday after the first half of the film.
The cast is the only thing in Any Given Sunday that really gives the film any consistent power aside from the musical score and the soundtrack, and in all honesty it was worth watching the film to see them act it all out.
I've said it before and I'll say it again: I think that Al Pacino is the greatest actor in existence, and even though Any Given Sunday did not entertain me, the lead performance of Al Pacino did. Although he gets stuck with material that is rudimentary and repetitive, he manages to make a compelling effort as the lead because of the way that he just dominates the screen whenever he is present. He gets himself involved deeply in the film and is not afraid to shout his way through things which he does with firm emotional power and dedication to the material, so he turns in another impressive lead effort. Al Pacino is terrific in Any Given Sunday, particularly in his scenes with Jamie Foxx, and so he makes it slightly better.
Jamie Foxx also turns in an impressive performance in Any Given Sunday. From a time before his international recognition for playing Ray Charles in his Academy Award winning performance in Ray, Jamie Foxx portrayed "Steamin" Willy Beamin in Any Given Sunday and did it powerfully. He charged fast with the dedicated power of a football player and delivered his lines with genuine strength and gusto which leads him to a charismatic performance. Jamie Foxx is spot on in Any Given Sunday, and his supporting performance is powerful enough to make his scenes fairly good.
Dennis Quaid is also vibrant in Any Given Sunday. Within the matter of a few scenes he is able to use his emotional power as an actor to snatch the attention of viewers and earn their respect. He grips his character with a powerful tenacity and projects his true acting brilliance into the role very well. Dennis Quaid just continues to impress me.
James Woods is also a great presence in Any Given Sunday. His supporting effort captures his natural charisma and instantly makes him an entertaining screen presence which he manages to keep consistent during the brief time he is one screen. His supporting role is small, yet it is pivotal because his character contributes enough to the story to make it slightly more interesting. James Woods is terrific in Any Given Sunday.
Cameron Diaz also delivers a powerful dramatic performance, and Matthew Modine did his part well.

But despite a dedicated cast, Any Given Sunday is nothing but an overly long and slow film which spends more time talking about football than it does actually playing it.
½ July 5, 2016
It's an Oliver Stone film so you know its gonna look crazy with the frenetic energy he likes. That said, it's great film on the full encompassing view of professional football and Jamie Foxx kills in his role.
½ June 23, 2016
87%
Watched this on 19/1/16
This is the only sports film (except The Color of Money) that I have seen which does not have a feel good nature. Oliver Stone directs with his trademark hyperkinetic style and captures the game of rugby from all possible angles and what makes it so interesting is the ambiguous nature of all characters where you cannot actually predict their fates which is extremely unlikely for a sports film. The characters are so well drawn and actors Pacino, Jamie Fox, Cameron Diaz etc etc give top notch performances along with Stone's, magnificent direction makes this a memorable ride. This is one of the rare sports films where the scenes without any sport are more interesting than the game in the film. The film's ending is also stylish and rather surprising. However, Stone at times overdoes his work by letting too much footage into his scenes, especially in the scene where Ben-Hur is used.
½ May 26, 2016
Una buena pelicula si te gusta el americano, las tomas que tienen durante el juego son de las mejores que he visto en una pelicula, te hacen sentir como es el futbol americano profesional en verdad, no tiene una gran historia pero muy palomera para un buen domingo de peliculas.
May 16, 2016
It teaches players about selfishness and working with the team I think that this movie is the best since Brian song. Oliver Stone did a great job with this movie and so did Al Pacino also did great speech about inches and football.
May 4, 2016
This movie pure crap. Overacting stinks throughout this clunker. Oliver Stone really sunk low with this one and Jaime Foxx's character is scarcely underdeveloped. 1 out of stars.
April 15, 2016
I really wanted to like this movie but it's all over the place so many sub plots that don't go anywhere script is mediocre performances are solid for the script they were given
March 27, 2016
Great movie, a little over the top, and a little long for my liking but good cast with plenty of NFL stars that makes any football fan happy. Kind of reminds you of Blitz the League if that was a movie for you gamers out there!!
March 24, 2016
Good sports movie. Typical sport movies don't go under the scene as much as this one. Al Pacino's speech at the end is also classic.
February 28, 2016
This was one of the best sports movies that you will ever see... this film sincerely launched Jamie Foxx to the next level.
Super Reviewer
January 26, 2016
Any Given Sunday is one of those rare sports films were you don't have to be into the sport in question, or any sport for that matter, to understand and enjoy. I have absolutely no interest in American Football but I really enjoyed this film. It's got corruption, politics, regret, arrogance..a long list of human traits that really makes this film more about life lessons with sport as the metaphor. The cast is great with everyone on form, in retrospect, this is one of the films that the 90s will be remembered for.
December 21, 2015
No holds barred look at the good and bad sides of professional football.
December 3, 2015
The NFL did not want their name or logo anywhere near this movie, and rightfully so. Oliver Stone teaming up with Al Pacino about a football movie, seemed like something that could be really good. And it definitely had great potential. The run down old school coach trying to keep his team together through turmoil and infighting between star players. Throw in the usually awful Cameron Diaz and the absolutely overrated Jamie Foxx and wow, what a disaster of a movie. I love football. And I'm a big fan of both Stone and Pacino, but this movie is complete garbage. Some of the stuff is so over the top and ridiculous, I am actually surprised Pacino would let himself be attached to a movie like this. Cameron Diaz is so bad it is almost comical. And Jamie Foxx proves here once again, he is really not that great of an actor at all. People will keep telling you he is, because they feel they have to, but in reality he overacts and is overpraised and flat out overrated. Do not waste your time with this movie. If you looking for a football movie, there isn't too many to really choose from but I would go with The Program before I watched this idiocy.
November 30, 2015
The NFL did not want their name or logo anywhere near this movie, and rightfully so. Oliver Stone teaming up with Al Pacino about a football movie, seemed like something that could be really good. And it definitely had great potential. The run down old school coach trying to keep his team together through turmoil and infighting between star players. Throw in the usually awful Cameron Diaz and the absolutely overrated Jamie Foxx and wow, what a disaster of a movie. I love football. And I'm a big fan of both Stone and Pacino, but this movie is complete garbage. Some of the stuff is so over the top and ridiculous, I am actually surprised Pacino would let himself be attached to a movie like this. Cameron Diaz is so bad it is almost comical. And Jamie Foxx proves here once again, he is really not that great of an actor at all. People will keep telling you he is, because they feel they have to, but in reality he overacts and is overpraised and flat out overrated. Do not waste your time with this movie. If you looking for a football movie, there isn't too many to really choose from but I would go with The Program before I watched this idiocy.
October 18, 2015
A star studded film about American football. It's bearable but as forgettable as all of the others.
July 5, 2015
Not the typical Stone film but it's still quite fun and one of the best football movies in recent memory with a pretty decent performance from Al Pacino.
½ May 20, 2015
Another Oliver Stone miss.Big,bloated and too full of itself waste of a talented cast movie.
March 15, 2015
Liked it, good sports movie.
Page 1 of 178