The Aviator - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Aviator Reviews

Page 1 of 415
April 1, 2018
Scorsese somehow makes this overlong movie work with a series of interesting episodic events that play out nicely with the very thoughtful and period-effective cinematography. The great cast was highlighted by Cate Blanchett's outstanding portrayal of Kate Hepburn - I didn't even know that she had earned an Oscar for her performance until after I saw the movie but definitely had a sneaking suspicion she was at least nominated. I would recommend just for her performance, the rest is bonus.
March 18, 2018
cate as hepburn is perfection ,weel deserved oscar
March 15, 2018
A great effort by Di Caprio to capture the character, worthy in many ways of at least an Oscar nomination for his performance, but somehow he never quite succeeded in convincing me. Physically, he is just too boyishly angelic for a role like this. Hughes was the epitome of a philandering, all american alpha male, good looking but mature and manly. Di Caprio couldn't achieve this for me - all i could see was the teen idol hero of Titanic trying to look grown up. Having said that, the film certainly held my interest and attention and it had some great moments like Hughes performance during Senator Brewsters public inquisition into the alleged misuse of public funds and his attempts to get the Spruce Goose/Hercules into the air. The depiction of Hughes eventual mental collapse was also very impressive and probably the best bit of acting by Di Caprio in this film. All in all, definitely a film worth seeing.
½ February 24, 2018
1001 movies to see before you die.
February 12, 2018
Fascinating to watch! Very intriguing story. Leonardo does another wonderful performance. Just excellently done all the way around!
February 8, 2018
A modern masterpiece.
January 13, 2018
q-u-a-r-a-n-t-i-n-e..

The Aviator

Martin Scorsese pulls you into his late 1920's world like a charm with the help of interesting characters floating around it but beyond that it only offers different episodes of the lead character which may come off as a party stopper for a runtime of 170 minutes.
January 2, 2018
really good movie. about as good as a bio pic can get. phenomenal job by dicaprio, blanchett and others. the history covered in this movie is very interesting (2 viewings)
½ December 25, 2017
M-F

8.2

[Martin Scorsese]
½ December 10, 2017
The Aviator is a true story about how the famous business magnate Howard Hughes goes from a successful billionaire to a corrupt and reclusive madman. The film gives outstanding performances from Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Blanchett and great and assured direction from Martin Scorsese. It's an incredible true story and it includes amazing aerial shots and the making of some of Howard Hughes biggest movies.
½ December 3, 2017
Watched this with wonder. Wondered how much of this story was true to life. Or just full of wonder of how genius, eccentricity, and mental illness were (and are?) the key to the biggest achievements.
November 6, 2017
A wonderful film demonstrating the great talents of Leonardo DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese. Howard Hughes was an enigma of a man, and this film portrays that well. One cannot forget the excellent performances of Alec Baldwin and Alan Alda in this film, who make for fantastic antagonists. And then there is Cate Blanchett who does a splendid job portraying the amazing Katharine Hepburn.
½ October 17, 2017
A decent look into some of the main events in Hughes life to do with aviation. Leo very good
September 30, 2017
Slightly disappointing, the plot for me is very disjointed. Second half much more intense than the first.
August 30, 2017
Though this biographical drama directed by Martin Scorsese is not his best effort and has a lackluster conclusion it is on the whole an entertaining and thoroughly engrossing film that has a solid lead performance by Leonardo DiCaprio as Howard Hughes. It also has a great supporting cast, excellent production with the detail being faultless along with the XF-11 plane crash being simultaneously exciting and brutal to watch. The score/soundtrack is solid, the plot and script are mostly on point and despite the long runtime it rarely grows wearisome.
August 12, 2017
A solid period piece. DiCaprio shines as Hughes, who was plagued by obsessive compulsive disorder and hypochondria. Despite an up bringing that haunted him throughout his adult life, he was able to succeed in his various chosen professions. DiCaprio highlights the pristine peaks and dreary doldrums of his career and life, in dramatic, sticking to the script, DiCaprio fashion. While enjoyable escapism, it leaves something lacking. Cate Blanchett shines as usual in her role as Katherine Hepburn, having all but mastered the transatlantic accent that Hepburn was famous for. At most, this movie is a great depiction of what life is like for those suffering from OCD and hypochondria. I'd recommend watching this when one has exhausted most other options.
½ August 12, 2017
It was very interesting and well acted. However, given how long it was, I was surprised by the abrupt ending.
½ August 3, 2017
Di Caprio and Scorsese is the example of "perfect match in every condition". Keduanya punya totalitas, keduanya punya ide gila untuk berimprovisasi. But, ni film bukan tipe ane, berasa kurang meaningful aja.
½ July 14, 2017
A very good film. There are only a few problems i had this time around. which were the exaggeration of Hughes' Craziness, the fact that they didnt show his drug abuse and the fact that it kept me wanting the film to keep going.
June 20, 2017
Featuring superb performances and cinematography, this epic biography chronicles an amazing period in time featuring a larger-than-life character. AAN GGWD. 1001
Page 1 of 415