Babylon A.D. Reviews

Page 1 of 330
Super Reviewer
September 5, 2008
Echoes of 'Johnny Mnemonic' went through my brain as I watched this, not that its as bad as that but its abit to close for comfort. I still dont really know what happened haha the plot is very very well hidden and the film is really mixed up.
The film doesnt know what it wants to be, there's the action of a sci-fi blockbuster in there and the usual standard martial arts affair but you can see the serious epic style wanting to come through too, shame they got Diesel in it.
The rest of the cast is weak really, Thierry is actually really annoying as the virgin child, I wanted her to get killed, and the rest dont really do anything.
Some nice touches like a 'Blade Runner' style NY city and quite decent if unsure why needed snow chase but thats about it, the cgi on offer was pretty poor too.
Super Reviewer
½ August 19, 2008
A real mess of a film that doesn't make a lot of sense. So much is left unexplained, so many plot holes....for most of the film you have no idea what it is about and what is going on, after that you only have a small idea of what it's about then it ends, badly with too many questions unanswered. Apparently the studio cut out 70mins of footage! No wonder the story isn't really explained.
Super Reviewer
January 31, 2011
Babylon A.D. is odd, disjointed and a bit of a mystery. I think that's what I liked about it, it's got cult written all over it with a bit of 'guilty pleasure' thrown in for good measure. I can't believe they cut 70 minutes out but then again, I can believe 70 minutes was cut out of it, it does show. Bloody FOX though, I want to see the extra 70 minutes damn it! Although I won't pay for the UNCUT! version because it's FOX and they can kiss by bottom If they think they're getting their hands on my money!
Super Reviewer
October 15, 2010
Vin Diesel not only dishes out maximum hulkage, he does so in the name of saving the world. He alone carries the burden of protecting the fragile and going up against assassins, bullets, rockets, planes, etc. Nothing can stop the the man with shaved gorilla strength. At face value, sure, it's no masterpiece. However, this movie is really fun and I think it's well worth your time. I loved the small touches, like Vin Diesel ripping apart a bunny rabbit and sauteing it with onions. I also appreciated the cage match fight in the middle of the movie designed to show that Vin Diesel can destroy a man twice his size.
Super Reviewer
August 12, 2010
How to ruin a good sci-fi idea.
Super Reviewer
July 21, 2010
boring throught most of the movie but there are some exciting scenes. C
garyX
Super Reviewer
½ September 5, 2008
A mercenary in a distopian near future is employed to deliver a mysterious young woman to New York. Babylon AD plays out as a kind of Children Of Men meets Mad Max clone as Diesel does his usual laconic tough guy routine in the company of the impossibly cute Melanie Thierry and the ever watchably graceful Michelle Yeoh. In fact the slick visuals and entertaining action underpinned by an intriguingly enigmatic premise meant I was struggling to see why this film recieved such a savage pasting by the critics. And then it just...ends. No, ends is not the right word. It stops. No explanantions, no revelations. It just stops. Dead. In such a way that flew through the "Is that it?!" barrier, sailed over "WTF???" territory and lands firmly in "You've got to be f***ing kidding me." land. The fact that anyone involved in this project thought they could get away with releasing what amounts to nothing more than a sci-fi action clip show shows such an astonishing lack of respect for the intelligence of the viewing public it borders on contempt. Pure smoke and mirrors with absolutely NOTHING to back it up.
Super Reviewer
December 1, 2007
A spectacular and mind-blowing blast of great science fiction and hard-hitting action in this wickedly cool and awsome action-thriller. It's Blade Runner meets Children of men. It's solid, thrilling and cool. A stylish and well-crafted film thats terifficly entertaining from start to finish. An explosive, hard-core and adreniline-pumping edge of your seat thriller with great speacial effects and great action. An exhilerating and pulse-pounding adventure that kicks the pulse and excitement meter to a whole new level. Vin Diesel is teriffic, showing why he is a great action hero and compelling star. Director, Mathieu Kassovitz has crafted a great vision that deserves more credit than it has been given. This review is for the extended version, where as the original cut was too fast-paced and flat-out awful. This is a more exceptable version.
mwilliams078
Super Reviewer
August 30, 2009
Babylon AD is another action film from Vin Diesel. Vin is a hired transporter for a special person going to America from Russia. This is an alright film.
Super Reviewer
May 24, 2008
I thought this film was an acceptable and enjoyable piece of entertainment; and it was for the first two-thirds. After that, the film just fell apart and became completely incoherent and the reality of how drastic the FOX re-edits were just poured through the seams of what could have been. I hope the widely rumored three hour cut sees the light of day at one point. Until then, we'll have to settle for an almost-solid piece of mindless entertainment that doesn't quite deliver for it's entire duration. On a final positive note, the film looks great (especially on Blu-Ray)!
deano
Super Reviewer
½ November 4, 2007
The action sequences in this mish-mash of xXx and Blade Runner are brisk and beautiful, with highlights including a submarine on ice and a jet bike race across the snowy Alps. The production design is astonishing, and Vin Diesl is well-suited to the role of tough-as-nails savior. Michelle Yeoh is coolest as 'Sister' and assistant of a mystery young woman played by Melanie Thierry.
Super Reviewer
February 18, 2009
I'm thinking because of some of the CGI this film looks a lot better than it might have been, true the acting isn't great and some of the action is a bit vehicle orientated i think its pretty enjoyable.
skactopus
Super Reviewer
January 18, 2009
Despite all the negativity surrounding this picture, including disappointing remarks from its own director, Mathieu Kassovitz, Babylon A.D. is a decent science fiction thriller.The story has great potential. The futuristic apocalyptic setting does wonders for the science fiction theme, but it's the writing and editing that is a disappointment. The pacing is slow, which makes only a 95 minute movie feel a bit longer. That is not necessarily a bad thing. Babylon A.D. has a Blade Runner thing going for it, with major emphasis on story and character, rather than action. Don't get all excited, because Blade Runner this is not.The plot is straightforward for most of the film. At times there are conversations, which reveal small parts of the bigger picture, but it isn't until the ending where everything comes out. Speaking of the last 20 minutes, it is a pretty sharp turn from the rest of the film. The science fiction becomes very strong and it can be quite compelling, but it is still a little disappointing.As I mentioned earlier, this is a science fiction thriller and not an action thriller as many may believe. It does have a moderate amount of action, but it is by no means anything extraordinary. The editing isn't that great either. The CG, on the other hand, is nicely done, even though it isn't a big part of this film.Vin Diesel isn't the best choice to lead this story, but he doesn't destroy it. Mélanie Thierry is the attractive Aurora and Michelle Yeoh once again shows that she is able to fit into another Hollywood production. Both women do good jobs by the way. That is a plus since most the film revolves around the 3 that I just mentioned. The rest of the cast is forgettable, especially Gerard Depardieu.Babylon A.D. does have its flaws and may not be what people expect. If one can appreciate the science fiction story that is going on, this won't be a waste of a watch.
Super Reviewer
September 6, 2008
Babylon A.D. has its moments and is never less than watchable, but it's ultimately scuppered by a disappointing finale. Approach with caution
thefog1331
Super Reviewer
January 11, 2009
Think The Transporter set in the future. It had a few interesting ideas but they wind up buried under an avalanche of hackneyed dialogue, execrable acting and confusing rapid-fire editing.

"Life's simple: kill or be killed, don't get involved and always finish the job. A survivor's code, my code, and it all sounds great until the day you find yourself confronted by a choice."

Pu-leeze.
Super Reviewer
August 27, 2008
Kinda crazy but decent to watch. That's all I have to say about a Vin Diesel movie.
Super Reviewer
½ December 26, 2008
Babylon A.D. is one of those films that will be remembered for the surrounding controversy, rather than the film itself. Before it was even released director Kassovitz said how terrible it was. He called it "a bad episode of 24". He was 100% right with this statement. Apparently FOX once again stuck their oar in, cutting 70 minutes out of the film and reducing it to PG-13. It really does show. The film makes no sense. Things happen and then more stuff happens. It isn't intriguing enough to be a mystery, it just sucks balls. Apparently the film went over budget. I'd like to know where because it looks cheap and confined. We have a promising establishing shot of a futuristic New York, yet all the action is confined to a small opening. Even with the extra 70 minutes it is doubtful this would be a classic film, or perhaps it may not have been good either, but at least it could have tried to make some sense. No wonder Diesel is retreating to 2 abandoned franchises (xXx, and The Fast and the Furious). Pulling a Stallone this early in ones career is simply sad.
Super Reviewer
½ August 26, 2008
hmm.....
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
Super Reviewer
½ August 27, 2008
"Save the Planet."

It is the not-too-distant future. Thousands of satellites scan, observe and monitor our every move. Much of the planet is a war zone; the rest, a collection of wretched way stations, teeming megalopolises, and vast wastelands punctuated by areas left radioactive from nuclear meltdowns.

It is a world made for hardened warriors, one of whom, a mercenary known only as Toorop (Vin Diesel), lives by a simple survivor's code: kill... or be killed. His latest assignment has him smuggling a young woman named Aurora from a convent in Kazakhstan to New York City.

Toorop, his new young charge Aurora (Mélanie Thierry) and Aurora's guardian Sister Rebeka (Michelle Yeoh) embark on a 6,000 mile journey that takes them from Eastern Europe, through a refugee camp in "New Russia," across the Bering Straight in a pilfered submarine, then through the frozen tundra of Alaska and Canada, and finally to New York. Facing obstacles at every turn, Toorop, the killer for hire, is tested like never before, in ways he could never have imagined?as he comes to understand that he is the custodian of the only hope for the future of mankind.

For the first time in his life, Toorop has to make a choice: to make a difference or walk away and save himself.

Review
This film had potential and a highly regarded director but what went wrong?, you might ask. The studio, 20th Century Fox was involved way too much and the fruit of director Mathieu Kassovitz's labor ended up murdered, hanged on a meat-hook and electrocuted. Its too bad because I can see the potential if only the studio didn't meddle and let Kassovitz do his thing. After all this grueling ordeal, we ended up with a short, convoluted 93 minutes of senseless all out action and no story. It felt like a dumbed down version of Children of Men and the story comes apart right from the start.

In Kassovitz's vision of the film, its supposed to be two hours long and the action scenes are only there when necessary. He would've focused much more on character and plot development and less on action. In the theatrical release, it was cut down to 93 minutes filled with unnecessary action scenes and ended up with unsympathetic characters. Vin Diesel is a bankable muscle man and he's the reason why I'm giving this movie such a rating. He pretty much carried the whole film and I can see his effort but sadly, the story he's working in is just too messy and in disarray. Too bad, we'll just have to wait when the Director's Cut comes out.
Super Reviewer
½ September 13, 2008
yet another mercenary is forced into a job he doesn't want, transporting a woman through dangerous country, a tedious given in the mercenary game. he winds up having to kill some guys who are trying to kill her. she asks him afterwards "...but why...?" he says "because that's what i'm paid to do. whacha expect?" she sighs and they...fall in love. then they go do some more killing, only now they do it together. talk about the girl of my dreams! roll the credits.
so what's in the theater next door?
Page 1 of 330