Barbarella - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Barbarella Reviews

Page 1 of 74
October 17, 2016
Critics take themselves too seriously. This is a Cult classic, a silly film. It is not Gone with the Wind but a glimpse at the 60s satire. Its jusdplain fun and harmless. I like the film,
½ September 18, 2016
Do not watch! Under no circumstance subject yourself to this horrible horrible film. Those that watch it anyway cause you think rotten tomato critics are right always are idiots. May God have mercy on your soul. I pray for peace in your life after this terrible/soft porn-esque film. I hate myself right now.
September 4, 2016
Barbarella is so campy and silly that it's hard to get a serious review and rating, but this classic won me over even with the evident flaws. The style and look were wonderfully unique and as an artist I found myself curious of the choices made with the fashion, sets, and overall design. It borders on being kitsch but I would say it's worth the watch if you're looking for a visually-propelled film that is fun to laugh with and at.
September 3, 2016
Barbarella is best-described as dementia in space. On LSD.
Director Roger Vadim brings Claude Forest's classic comic books to the screen with alarming attention to detail, bringing us cinema's finest furry-walled spaceship, porcelain doll fight scene and supervillain who goes by the name of Duran Duran.
Trouble is, Vadim's vision is battered by a pin-on plot with the power and precision of a plastic hammer. 30 minutes in, Barbarella has long become repetitive and tedious, not to mention downright boring. And that's a bold statement for a film more colourful than a kaleidoscope made out of rainbow dust.
Super Reviewer
½ August 10, 2016
Few films are as much 60s as this. From the soundtrack and songs or the entire production design to the message and characters. Of course it's incredibly dated from today's point of view and the plot is nothing special. But some parts are so obscure, funny and weird you can't help but be entertained. And at least they made an effort with their set pieces. It also helps that Fonda is incredibly beautiful and charming. Odd nonsense, but unique.
½ June 2, 2016
if I can remember who recommended this thing for me , God have mercy on his soul.
May 13, 2016
El arte de esta película es genial y la historia resulta interesante
½ March 22, 2016
Barbarella, Queen of the Galaxy, leaves you wishing for more in many ways. The narrative was certainly lacking and the sexually driven, tense, action moments leave a bad taste in your mouth. If it wasn't for the fantastic writing and amazing acting by Jane Fonda I feel this movie would fall very flat. These redeeming factors manage to actually pull this movie through the sloppily created world of scientific fantasy and actually create a fantastically memorable movie to remember and pull out at parties for the film lovers. The costume work was also fantastic and it helped that Jane was absolutely gorgeous throughout the film. It is certainly a spectacle and it most certainly has plenty plot holes. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the first half and the second half was only saved by the far and few jokes which were actually quite funny. Liked it and will be recommending it to the people that love campy films and are not too reserved sexually.
March 9, 2016
Not great, but not that bad either.

Set sometime in the distant future, a young Earth woman, Barbarella (played by Jane Fonda), is sent on a mission to find and stop the evil Durand Durand, who has developed a weapon capable of destroying the world. In her quest to find him, she encounters some weird and wonderful people and creatures and has some interesting adventures...

Has all the ingredients of a b-grade movie: random, weird plot; haphazard direction; hammy acting. Yet somehow it is reasonably entertaining. The sheer energy and pace of the movie keep it from falling apart. Jane Fonda's looks and nonchalant-yet-effervescent performance help too.

I imagine it worked even better when it was released. The movie was made at the height of psychedelia and it has the right ingredients to capture that zeitgeist: bright-colour-filled, fantastical, trippy sets and plot and free love. I would think that being high would be useful when watching this movie..

Probably its most enduring legacy is that it gave the English New Romantic-genre band Duran Duran its name.
½ March 2, 2016
A stupid and incredibly sexist film, Barbarella is one huge plothole. The film is so horrifically written that it should be used as an example of how to not write a script. In that regard, it is perfect. Jane Fonda runs around in nothing and acts like a scared girl throughout and has to be constantly saved by men and is punished for having sex. If you enjoy sexism, Barbarella is a goldmine. All of this being said, Barbarella is an enjoyably bad movie and one I cannot recommend enough. By any measure, it is horrifically bad, except for entertainment. So much unintentional hilarity it truly almost hurt to laugh by the end.
February 1, 2016
As far as B-movies and camp classics go, this is one of the finest of the fine. It's right up there with "The Apple," "Zardoz," "Mommie Dearest" and the like with its delightfully quotable and hilarious dialogue and general ridiculousness. It's a wonderfully silly movie, and I loved it. "Now hang this around your secret neck..."
½ January 2, 2016
Pretty much soft core porn with a sci-fi plot throw in there somewhere.
½ November 12, 2015
I wouldn't exactly call this a good film. It's not just lightweight, it's positively stupid at times. The main character is so guileless and ineffective that she's more often annoying than anything in else. Generally, the film tries to be a cutting edge, late 60s piece of sci-fi, but with it's Bob Crewe soundtrack and snickering attitude towards sex, it feels more connected to mid-60s lounge culture than anything cutting edge in 1968. Still ... I have a real soft spot for this film. I like Bob Crewe's soundtrack ... a lot (Music to Watch Space Age Girls By). I like Paco Rabanne's costume design. I like the fact that outer space looks like the inside of a lava lamp. I enjoy the cast ... I enjoy "Barbarella" despite itself.
½ November 8, 2015
A very bizarre & strange Sci-Fi stating Jane Fonda which is very risqué role even for her in that day.

Basically the story of woman on the search for evil scientist called Durann Durann & basically a vehicle for strange sexual innuendo.

Crazy sets & minimal costumes this definitely screams cult but I found it drags fierce in the middle but overall quite entertaining, very trippy.
October 25, 2015
What a weirdly fun sexual sci-fi movie.
½ October 14, 2015
With a great deal of anticipation and excitement I set out to watch this movie I had heard so much about. After all, one of it's character's name was adopted as the band name of one of my favorite bands, Duran Duran. By the end of the movie, and I did watch to the bitter end, I was completely disappointed. It isn't a product of the swinging sixties, during which time it was filmed, so much as a condemnation of the values being espoused by the young people of the time. Also, being in space, in the future, doesn't make a film a science fiction film. I've read only small passages from the novel on which it was based and I can tell you from my own limited understanding of the subject that the book's author knows nothing about science. It's just a paperback book written by a paper back author like the one the Beatles sang about.
Story synopsis: an ingenue space spy/cop/adventure is sent on a mission to recover a scientist who has gone rogue. What the film is really about is Barbarella not having sex with machinery, by using aphrodisiac drugs, or shacking up with every guy she meets and settling down as a housewife to a straight laced guy who she dutifully serves by cooking him dinner and doing his laundry. She partially accomplishes this goal at the end by befriending her angel and I'm sure the sequel will show them in future suburbia with a couple kids conceived and delivered by a spaceship shaped stork.
The real problem that stifles the conservative fun is Jane Fonda. Not that she goes against the grain of the film, to the contrary her superstar Hollywood father Henry has imparted upon her all of the mannerisms prevalent in the '30's and '40's. I think an actress with bigger boobs and less weird pronunciations of English would have been a better choice.
DeLaurentis has produced some good flicks and sadly Barbarella isn't one of them.
½ October 7, 2015
Couldn't not get it...
September 16, 2015
Fur-lined spaceship, what more can I say?
July 16, 2015
Delightfully campy and ahead of its time in its unabashed sexuality. The plot is about as thin as Fonda's outfits, but it's fun nonethel.
½ July 3, 2015
Cornball sci-fi fantasy. The overt sex appeal is fun but I didn't like this nearly as much as I thought or hoped I would.
Page 1 of 74