Battle: Los Angeles - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Battle: Los Angeles Reviews

Page 1 of 584
September 4, 2016
I actually rather enjoyed this one. The action scenes are solid and there's some decent suspense at the beginning. Nothing comes over as being overtly terrible, and although in the majority of ways it has generic, stereotyped, characters, it is in spite of all its drawbacks an entertaining and reasonably acted alien invasion sci-fi flick. 3/5
½ September 1, 2016
Despite the low rating I was hoping for a better movie. I was disappointed.

The characters were poorly written, tactics were crap, military specific language was usually inaccurate, and the plot had more than a few parallels with Independence Day but with ground forces.
August 15, 2016
Amazing movie, it simply grips you.
½ July 30, 2016
Very disposable action disaster film that is best for rainy days when you are extremely bored. Aaron Eckhart's performances is very good and most of the casts' is decent but it follows the typical army/marine attitude far too closely and it is so forgettable. I am having trouble remembering a single characters name, and I watch this about 5 minutes ago! Even though it has about 10 minutes at the beginning of the movie to show you the life of each character to make you like them their are far too many for you too care about.
July 21, 2016
Battle of Los Angeles was very good movies with more battle scenes great hit
I give this movie at 10.1
Super Reviewer
½ June 20, 2016
Movie is chock full of "Michael Bay explosion porn." Aliens invade earth and start wiping out humans starting at the coast lines, Los Angeles is the "final stand" of the west coast. Aaron Eckhart is about the only bright spot in the film as a Marine Corps Staff Sergeant in his last days of active duty. The rest of the film is just running around and shooting at aliens until the final sequence where they think they know how to stop the threat to LA.
June 18, 2016
I thought the movie was great for its genre. When you want to watch a invasion disaster movie it gives you everything you want. No it's no am Oscar candidate but it is still very entertaining. It is what it is. ??
½ June 12, 2016
It tried to be band of brothers in 2 hours and it failed so hard.
½ June 5, 2016
A typical alien apocalypse war movie. Nothing that special here. CGI was good, acting is alright, but the characters were bland and you don't care if they take them out. Overall just a bland movie. Something to watch when you're drunk with all the explosions and everything.
½ June 3, 2016
Crap, but if I were a 12 year old boy I would love it (secretly I still do!).
May 17, 2016
I enjoyed for a majority of the movie
April 22, 2016
This movie was highly thrilling, and enthralling right to the very end. I enjoyed the condensed character introductions in the beginning, and Sgt. Nantz's "speech" towards the end. Overall, this movie was highly entertaining.
April 3, 2016
Horrendous movie. It should never have been made
March 27, 2016
When I was this movie, I have to say I was pretty impressed but then again i was seeing just for all of the gunfights, explosions, and alien action. Other than that , this movie doesnt really have anything to offer other than your typical action lines, and aliensa just wrecking havoc in the city. The one big thing that disappointed me about this movie was the lack of backstory. It put you in the movie literally 24 hours before the attack. And I would've liked to know more about why the aliens came, where they were from, and what they wanted. All the movie said was they came in meteors and they wanted our water and thats it. I also found it kind of funny how in the beginning of the movie, the aliens were practically invinsible and then by the end, they were killing them no problem. My sum up is, if you're going to see an action movie with a lot of gunfights, explosions, special effects, and adrenaline-pumping action, then you wont be disappointed. If you want to go see this movie hoping that you'll get some great acting and a wonderful storyline, you might want to reconsider.
March 15, 2016
One of the best stories about an attack on LA every done. Action scenes top notch for a war production. Cast was great and portrayed an apocalyptic attack in a fun fashion. Directing very good, and acting excellent. Writing excellent and story very good. Surprised it did not get better reviews.
March 1, 2016
When Sci-fi blockbusters assault the senses enough to cause motion sickness and a splitting headache whilst safe in a stationary cinema; its time to buy the industry a tripod and a clue...

In August 2011 meteors begin to fall to earth at an alarming speed in concentrated clusters within five miles of major coastal cities around the world.

Recognizing this as a threat and not a coincidence, military forces are mobilized with precision to evacuate civilians from the likely affected areas. Reluctantly among their corps is the recently discharged and disgraced staff sergeant Nantz (Aaron Eckhart).

Splashing down offshore and unleashing a ferocious bombardment of dominance, the intergalactic intruders storm the beaches. Attacking mankind and showing no mercy from their protective metallic drone shells, LA's Santa Monica becomes a vital last battlefield for an invasion all in the name of water acquisition.

Successfully wrecking mayhem there seems to be only one evident flaw in the hostiles strike; no aircraft. Taking advantage the Air Force military powers-that-be impose a deadline in which to flatten the infected areas and destroy the land-bound threat.

Second in command under a highly inexperienced superior 2nd Lt William Martinez (Ramon Rodriguez), SS Nantz must lead his rumor-laden tension-filled new platoon through the safe zone barrier into enemy territory on a rescue mission to retrieve trapped civilians before the bombing.

However, the animal/machine hybrid hordes of vengeful aliens have a surprising amount of tricks and when the bombs don't fall, Nantz and his ever diminishing crack-team must figure out a way to get back the upper hand.

Emulating a sci-fi video game in supersized mode with every corny device and tooth-clenching one liner available, this predictable patriotic fare is a clichéd and recycled burning wreckage of hoo-ha (an overused marine term in the film).

The fashionably chaotic hand-shaken camera style is sadly still in-vogue for this genre. Just like last years scarcely known Skyline (who choose the same city to trash) the lazy pyrotechnics, hazy special effects, booming military-inspired score, predictably incoherent shouting dialogue and overly manufactured storyline is less than a cardboard cut-out.

In the thick of the battle's shake, rattle and role is the stereotypical array of ethnic placeholders and characters with the usual demons; a chisel-jawed but disgraced sarge, an overly pompous wet-behind-the-ears lieutenant, a sexy take charge chick (who else but Michelle Rodriguez) and the customary expendables (a soon to be married, moustache guy, intelligence guy etc).

But we mustn't forget the civilians; a father who tries to help and gets hurt, the son who becomes a mini-marine and a useful attractive female veterinarian who seems to know more about these mushroom-headed aliens anatomy than humans and miraculously within 10 minutes whilst under fire finds its heart amongst the goo and determines how to kill them. Wow didn't realize you could fit so many clichés in one film.

The Verdict: A complete loss, the icky gelatinous and vaguely familiar aliens are about the best part of this film as they are only directly on screen for a terse 30 seconds; the length in which I wish I had spent watching this cheesy film.

Published: The Queanbeyan Age
Date of Publication: 25/03/2011
February 21, 2016
Aliens are invading and Ssgt. Nanz and his new platoon are to save the day. It's a classic 'Save the World from Alien Invasion' kind of movie. The only thing that Independence Day did better was in the varied characters and well, it's kind of a fresh idea back in 1996. Battle: LA is seen through the shoes of the U.S. marines and that should tell you if you are keen on watching it.
February 20, 2016
A solid action film. Not bad! Enjoyable.
February 12, 2016
this could have been a better movie had they done maybe 2 or 3 character build ups instead of trying to give ever single person we run with a back story. don't get me wrong, was a good idea to try to work everyone's story but it came across rushed in the beginning and didn't really give us much. the rest of the movie was done well though, the action and the slow reveal of the actual invaders I liked. the cheese was present of course, but that's to be expected. not too bad a watch.
Page 1 of 584