Battle: Los Angeles - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Battle: Los Angeles Reviews

Page 1 of 584
½ April 8, 2017
grandpa fell asleep watching.
April 7, 2017
War movie cliche? Seriously? There is nothing cliche about war. I enjoyed this movie and actually watched it twice. There are little theatrics to this one that most movies like this have. Action packed from start to finish.
March 24, 2017
another humans vs aliens tale like 'battleship' or the superior 'skyline'
March 14, 2017
It is amazingly bad. It's not Room-bad, so it can be "haha so bad". It is just a very big waste of time. A painful waste of time.
February 20, 2017
probably one of the badest movies i have seen. buts its really funny to watch
February 13, 2017
Flawed as it is, Battle: Los Angeles makes up for its flaws in more ways than one. Rather than being a by the numbers sci-fi movie, it subverts genre expectations by being a war movie first, an action movie second, and a sci-fi movie third. Take away the aliens and replace them with any modern human army and not much would change, except the movie wouldn't be quite as good. Not all the performances are great, but Aaron Eckhart's performance as the flawed war vet with PTSD and survivor's guilt is spectacular. There is one action scene early on that has some editing issues, but the rest of the action is intense, easy to follow, and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The aliens are something completely different from what we're used to seeing. They're not superior in every way. They're just desperate for a new home and they don't want to share it with us. Honestly, the only way to significantly improve this movie would be to make it R rated. Despite its PG-13 rating and a few minor flaws, Battle: Los Angeles succeeds in almost every other way, giving us a war movie with aliens instead of a generic sci-fi movie.
January 30, 2017
It was pretty much exactly the type of movie it looked like. The action was solid and was a fun alien attack type of flick. The special effects were ok. I was surprised at the impressive list of actors in this movie as well.
½ January 3, 2017
It's good movie to watch
½ October 3, 2016
A thrilling combination of war and sci-fi, "Battle: Los Angeles" is one of the most fun action films I've ever seen.

As a shower of meteors begin raining down on the coasts of the world, it is thought to be an inconvenient evacuation. However, it is soon realized that this is not an accident, but a planned attack from another world. As we follow Staff Sergeant (Aaron Eckhart) and his new squad, we will be thrown into the fray and experience the upcoming war up close.

Gosh, to this day, I still can't comprehend the ratings for this movie. This movie has received a lot of hate and a lot of lackluster comments. For me, I'm on the opposite spectrum of everything said about this movie. "Battle: Los Angeles" is not only one of my favorite guilty pleasures of all time, but has snuck its way into my top 10 favorite movies of all time. Call me crazy, call me stupid, but I love this film. I enjoy the hell out of this film despite its glaring problems. This will be more of a subjective review because I had so much fun with this movie and I've watched it way too much.

First off, this movie is no where near perfect. It's far from perfect. It lacks in a lot areas and it will never be considered a quality movie. However, people seem to disregard the things it does do well and my appreciation for this movie is high. I'm approaching this from a personal standpoint, because in reality, I still think its a fresh movie, but I loved it even more than that.

This movie is a blend of war and sci-fi. It's one of the most thrilling action films I've ever seen. In fact, it feels like a video game. People find that to be a criticism but it's serving its purpose and it's doing a hell of a good job of that. With the documentary style film making and the execution of the battle scenes, it really feels like you're placed right in the middle of the war zone and it's intense. Bullets are flying everywhere, the marines are in complete distress, and death is happening all around you. People are getting fried by bullets and it never feels like anyone is safe. The action actually feels kind of gritty and it is no doubt intense. It can get your heart racing and each action scene stands out for one reason or another. It feels like war but it also feels like extra terrestrials invading your home planet all at the same time.

One thing I find progressively getting worse is the dialogue. The dialogue is sufficient enough but it's nothing special, if not cringe worthy at times. It's filled with unnecessary exposition and for the most part, a lot of it doesn't really have meaning. What I did like is how whenever things started getting intense, the actors did a great job of relaying that distress and adrenaline in their blood, making it feel even that more real. The awkward uses of curse words made the movie feel even more awkward and forced. The actors made it feel real during battle, but when the guns were down, the dialogue was forgettable.

The visuals are pretty impressive. I actually think the creative use of camerawork and angles really enhanced the visuals and made this movie stand strong today. The mix between CGI and practical effects was a nice strength that this movie had. There was never a point where I was cringing at the visuals, which is normally a common thing in sci-fi movies. Props to the stunning and realistic visuals that this movie delivered.

I'm not going to lie, there were multiple moments where I had goosebumps. This movie is adrenaline pumping and the action never stops. It is constantly chaotic and you feel so exhausted by the end of it. Looking at the behind the scenes footage, the director had such an interesting and exciting vision behind this project, which I'm completely on board with.

The character development is poor, no doubt. I've watched this movie how many times, yet I still get the characters mixed up. There is a pretty useless setup in the beginning and there are very few characters that are remembered. Aaron Eckhart did a fantastic job as the lead character and really brought the toughness and physicality to his character. Will Rothhaar as Imlay was my personal favorite, as his likability and bad-ass persona got him points in my book. Every time Noel Fisher talked, all I heard was Michelangelo talk (fan-boy), so that made me happy. For the most part, everyone fulfilled their roles just fine. They all brought the intensity and chemistry during the action and they made a huge part of this film.

In the end, "Battle: Los Angeles", in my opinion, is a fresh movie. Realistically, I think it deserves 3 stars. However, I'm in love with this film. It's replay value is extremely high and I'm such a big fan. Subjectively, I'm giving it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
September 4, 2016
I actually rather enjoyed this one. The action scenes are solid and there's some decent suspense at the beginning. Nothing comes over as being overtly terrible, and although in the majority of ways it has generic, stereotyped, characters, it is in spite of all its drawbacks an entertaining and reasonably acted alien invasion sci-fi flick. 3/5
½ September 1, 2016
Despite the low rating I was hoping for a better movie. I was disappointed.

The characters were poorly written, tactics were crap, military specific language was usually inaccurate, and the plot had more than a few parallels with Independence Day but with ground forces.
August 15, 2016
Amazing movie, it simply grips you.
½ July 30, 2016
Very disposable action disaster film that is best for rainy days when you are extremely bored. Aaron Eckhart's performances is very good and most of the casts' is decent but it follows the typical army/marine attitude far too closely and it is so forgettable. I am having trouble remembering a single characters name, and I watch this about 5 minutes ago! Even though it has about 10 minutes at the beginning of the movie to show you the life of each character to make you like them their are far too many for you too care about.
July 21, 2016
Battle of Los Angeles was very good movies with more battle scenes great hit
I give this movie at 10.1
Super Reviewer
½ June 20, 2016
Movie is chock full of "Michael Bay explosion porn." Aliens invade earth and start wiping out humans starting at the coast lines, Los Angeles is the "final stand" of the west coast. Aaron Eckhart is about the only bright spot in the film as a Marine Corps Staff Sergeant in his last days of active duty. The rest of the film is just running around and shooting at aliens until the final sequence where they think they know how to stop the threat to LA.
June 18, 2016
I thought the movie was great for its genre. When you want to watch a invasion disaster movie it gives you everything you want. No it's no am Oscar candidate but it is still very entertaining. It is what it is. ??
½ June 12, 2016
It tried to be band of brothers in 2 hours and it failed so hard.
½ June 5, 2016
A typical alien apocalypse war movie. Nothing that special here. CGI was good, acting is alright, but the characters were bland and you don't care if they take them out. Overall just a bland movie. Something to watch when you're drunk with all the explosions and everything.
½ June 3, 2016
Crap, but if I were a 12 year old boy I would love it (secretly I still do!).
May 17, 2016
I enjoyed for a majority of the movie
Page 1 of 584