Cop Out - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cop Out Reviews

Page 1 of 385
Super Reviewer
½ March 27, 2010
Hmmmm this film tries way too hard to be a cool violent buddy cop flick, well basically the next Lethal Weapon franchise methinks. It falls way short of the mark in all areas to be honest.

I didn't really find it funny, it just seemed so forced and to eager to result to bad language to try and make things funnier. There isn't much action, well anything to shout about anyway and well its all been done before but much much better, not even close to 'Beverly Hills Cop', '48 Hours', 'Lethal Weapon' or even 'Red Heat', I could go on. Cast wise Tracy Morgan is basically a fat Chris Tucker and nowhere near as good where as Willis is just Willis as in most of his other action flicks, in my opinion he doesn't do comedy too well mainly because he's a bald plank of wood with a set number of facial expressions.

Cop out? yes it is, don't bother, nowhere near Die Hard standards on action and nowhere near the above mentioned buddy cop flick standards on comedy, plus zero originality.
Super Reviewer
November 20, 2011
I guess Kevin Smith is done making good films.
Super Reviewer
July 19, 2011
I feel like I wanted to laugh, but yet it almost felt like Tracy Morgan did most his jokes on a blue screen and Bruce Willis shot his parts in a different part of America. Its was OK.
Super Reviewer
January 16, 2011
A few good jokes. Good performances by Guillermo Diaz as the bad guy and Sean William Scott as a hyper, druggie kind of Hermes trickster. The cops' rapport with the Mexican damsel in distress who can't speak English is the most original thing in the movie, despite the two best friends in Ghost Dog who can't speak each other's language. [UPDATE: I just saw Love Actually.] Willis and Morgan are good enough together, although I wished Willis was less supercop and Morgan was more suave to believably be married to Rashid Jones. Blame the screenplay? A screenplay that pokes fun at a "high concept" formula was bought into by stars, director and studio execs alike as high concept ... Could execs and artists ever be more on the same page?
Super Reviewer
June 28, 2011
Two cops who engage in the schtick that only cops in movies engage in (I hope) pursue a drug dealer.
I didn't know that Kevin Smith could make a film this bad, and now that I've seen it, I can only hope that his next college Q&A session is filled with details and excuses. The plot is just as cliche as you would expect; if you've seen any of the Lethal Weapon films or Bad Boys, then you know what happens. But what surprised me most was the quality of the filmmaking. Smith's editing fails to highlight important elements of the plot. Apparently Paul's gun is stolen during a scene, but this event wasn't highlighting by the camerawork or editing. It was as though midway through the film they decided to add this plot twist with no preceding set-up. Even the character construction and dialogue, two of Smith's strengths, are pedestrian. Bruce Willis's character is Bruce Willis, and the same goes for Tracy Morgan. And with the exception of Morgan quoting random lines from famous films, there is none of the typically Smith pop culture references that give his films life. The only hook on which to hang one's hat is the fact that Smith didn't write this piece of shit, only directed.
Overall, avoid this this film at all costs.
Super Reviewer
½ March 20, 2011
I laughed at 2 scenes, it went all downhill then. This was a horrible buddy cop film. Tracy Morgan plays himself, like his other movies. I really was dissapointed with this, it sucked.
Super Reviewer
½ September 7, 2010
Lame and pointless...
Super Reviewer
½ March 20, 2010
A mixed bag, funny in parts and pretty awful in others. No way near one of the better cop buddy films. I don't find Bruce Willis is suited to comedy at the best of times and I didn't find the other guy funny at all, assume he's a comedian? Catch it on TV.
Super Reviewer
January 8, 2011
Generic in every way possible. At the very least Smith gave us Clerks. AT THE VERY LEAST.
Super Reviewer
½ November 5, 2010
flixster users didn't like, also the Critics.. but I think it was't that bad like thay said
Super Reviewer
November 5, 2010
This film just wasn't as good as I thought it would be. Another salt & pepper comedy law enforcement film that sust didn't make the grade, lacked the comedy and action that was provide in such movies as Beverly Hills Cops 1and 2. i'm pushing the limit by giving this one two stars.
Super Reviewer
½ February 25, 2010
While still a rude, crude and chatty man film, as Smith's movies often are, Cop Out works.
Super Reviewer
May 4, 2010
I tried watching it, I really did. I love Kevin Smiths work, well most of it. Its when he goes mainstream he f*cks up. This sucked more dick than a $5 hooker.
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2010
Cop Out is barely a laugh out loud comedy. The story is one of the worst I've heard of in a long time! The entire movie is driven by a baseball card! That has got to be the lamest thing I have ever heard. But the cast works decently enough together, and the gags are, for the most part, overdone, but comical. All in all, it's not even really worth waiting for the DVD and watching with a bunch of guys to laugh and have a good time, because really, you will just laugh at it and not with it. However, if you are a Bruce Willis fan, you may want to check out and see how lame his funny side can be!
Super Reviewer
½ February 2, 2010
Although it wasnt liked or raved about i really enjoyed this movie!
It was hilarious , absolutely enjoyed it!
Its a light hearted, very amusing and just fun to watch !
Bruce Willis and Tracy Morgan are brilliant as he two outragous ad unethical cops who are suspended when bringng down a gang just so jimmy can get a stolen baseball card back that will pay for his daughtrs weddin!
i think this is a lovely, funny and enjoyable movie!
Super Reviewer
½ September 19, 2010
Rubbish! This should be entitled CRAP OUT! >XP!!!!!!!
Super Reviewer
February 26, 2010
God, I wanted to like this movie, I really did- especially because I love Kevin Smith, and because I wanted to not be like the critics and rip this to pieces. I can't fault people wanting to branch out a bit, and do something different than they normally do. I can fault them for when they do this and it fails though. This was Smith's first film where he didn't write it, just directed it. It was also his first time working on a major studio picture.

I get the vibe he was going for with the movie as an homage to 80s buddy cop films, but this movies came out as more annoying and irritating than anything else. It's also really bland. It's confused and muddled, and isn;t sure ifit is a satire, or a seriousattempt to make a modern version of the stuff it is satirizing. It's cliched, not very funny (I did find maybe two or three scenes that were both good and funny), and almost all of what is on screen is uninspired.

The casting isn't bad, and I liked that there were lots of familiar faces, but the perforamnces were just awful. Willis sleepwalks through everything, Morgan shouts all of his lines, and Scott (who I usually find okay) just pissed me off with how painfully annoying and unfunny he was. I mostly blame the writing. Had Kevin done the writing it probably would have been better. Had this been a more modest budgeted affair, it probably would have been better. Well, I'd hope that it would be better in those situatons.

I guess I could be kind and call this a noble failure, but it's hard to do even that. This doesn't at all feel like a Smith film, and, even though I don't always like getting on the bandwagon, this is just a sad and miserable failure that I hope can be quietly forgotten about. Let's hope this is the last time Smith fails.
Super Reviewer
½ September 8, 2010
"Hey. Do you wanna be my jail cell BFF, without the forced rape?"

Like Janice from 'Friends' would say: "Oh. My. God!". What have you done, Kevin Smith? Remember the good old times with 'Clerks' and 'Chasing Amy'. Well, you can kiss those days goodbye after watching this piece of shit. I really can not understand why Smith chose to direct this film. I really don't.

The plot is bla bla bla baseballcard bla bla bla hit a kid bla bla bla shootout bla bla daughter's wedding bla end. I won't bother writing a decent synopsis cause the film is not worth it. I just hope that by reading this you will choose to skip this film.

The actors. The actors.... THE ACTORS!! Like a R rated Janice would like to say: "Oh. My. Fuckin'. God!" Let's start with Bruce Willis. Mr Willis. I understand that he is a legendary action movie star but his career has been in a downward spiral for the last decade or so, 'Sin City' being the only worth mentioning, but why sign your name on every job offered? His performance, starting from scene one, is the worst one I've ever seen him perform. His essence screams these words: "Get me out of this picture!" I really feel sorry for him.

Tracy Morgan. I fuckin' hate this man. I FUCKIN' HATE TRACY MORGAN!!! He is like the worst actor I've ever seen. I don't recall seing him on the screen or telly but according to IMDb, he has done a successful career in '30 Rock' and 'SNL'. He has even had a TV show of his own. What the fuck is wrong with you people? Don't watch this man's shows. Get him unemployed. Save yourself. Think of a man who tries to copy Martin Lawrence and Chris Tucker. Two somewhat funny men. Think of this man trying to get the best parts of these two and fuck it up. Entirely. Tracy Morgan should return to the Bronx and become a crackwhore. He wouldn't even have to get into character...

Kevin Smith. Fuck you. I've liked you and your ability to write good scripts. You didn't write this but you chose to direct it. Hence... Fuck. You. Bruce Willis. I forgive you because of the amazing things you've done in the past. But still... Fuck you too. Tracy Morgan. End your career. Now. Before some other movie buff loses his belief in movies as the best way of entertainment. A tenfolded FUCK YOU to you. I will never see a movie or TV show with you in it. I just can't handle it.
Super Reviewer
½ March 2, 2010
Kevin Smith to me is a very inconsistent director. I mean, he can make everything from such hilarious films as Zack and Miri make a porno, to half-assed efforts like Clerks 2. Unfortunately, this falls in the latter category. Not that it's awful, because it does have its moments, but it just feels like Smith went a little lazy on this one. The writing is incredibly unbalanced and most of the jokes embarassingly bad. The only thing that makes it watchworthy is the actors. Because without the respectable presence of Bruce Willis, I don't think I would have given it anything above two stars.
Page 1 of 385