The Dark Half - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Dark Half Reviews

Page 1 of 15
October 7, 2017
Most Underated King adaption!!
½ September 2, 2017
If you read the book, which I suggest, definitely skip this movie.
June 22, 2017
Que película tan aburridora. Ni la terminé de ver.
May 4, 2017
It's nothing special, but gets the job done fine enough. Great direction from Romero with some well-timed horror that actually works. A bit overlong which spreads the spreads the premise a bit too thin by the end.
January 15, 2017
Very good. Aside from a few very cheap visual effects and clichéd storytelling, it still features an intriguing story, stylish direction and a great double leading performance from Hutton.
½ October 30, 2016
This movie was extremely disappointing, after reading the book I somewhat had high hopes about the movie. It was nothing like the book at all, NONE of the same conversations even! not a one! Again, nothing like the book at all. I am highly disappointed.
July 18, 2016
Sticking as closely to the source material as possible does not a good movie make if the source material is mediocre (which pains me to say since I'm such a King fan).
½ March 6, 2016
A little long for this kind of genre picture, but it's pretty effectively done, aside from a couple spotty effects. I dig it.
February 6, 2016
Bit boring, alright a lot boring.
November 16, 2015
Wish the theme had the same intensity of the Hutton's Portrait.
April 8, 2015
I love Stephen King and Romero but isn't the evil twin thing played out yet???
November 29, 2014
During the 1980's and early 1990's, there were several George A. Romero and Stephen King collaborations, Creepshow being the most successful of the bunch. These projects weren't always the best the two men had to offer, but they were fun and inventive. The Dark Half was not only the final film of Romero's to be shot in Pittsburgh, but also the final project that King and Romero ever collaborated on. While Stephen King had little to no impact on the movie itself, George A. Romero wrote his screenplay using as much of King's original novel as possible. A couple of character changes were made, as was the ending, but it more or less translated well from book to screen, being one of the better King adaptations, in my opinion. Probably the best thing about the movie is Timothy Hutton's performance as George Stark. He's quite effective in both roles, but it's Stark where he really gets to stretch and be a pretty nasty character. Michael Rooker is also surprisingly down-to-earth in his role as a small town sheriff with a strong moral fiber. Amy Madigan also does some good work as Thad's wife, trying her best to remain strong for her husband, even when he's accused of murder. In the long run, these performances are what really drive the movie and make it worth watching, more so than the special effects or the story.
½ September 15, 2014
This is my absolute favorite Stephen King movie adaptation. I have watched this repeatedly and it never gets old. I just realized on this last viewing that Romero is the director on the movie and that just adds one more reason to love it.
August 17, 2014
Awesome. The slow bits are few and far between, considering the length of this movie. Every single moment is worth the final death scene.
April 1, 2014
Thad Beaumont is a writer/college professor who since he was little gets headaches and hears birds in his head. He was operated on and on his brain was an eye and some teeth. It was discovered it was a twin brother of thads that had never developed. He is now a successful teacher and author and the books he writes are about a fictional character named george stark who isn't a really nice person. He is a psychopath killer. All the people thad knows are now being murdered they way george stark kills in his books. Thad gets blamed because all evidence points to him. Thad has an alter ego that wants to take over his life. The movie is kinda nonsensical but still has the effect of giving you the chills while watching it. Based on the book written by Stephen King who is an awesome writer and directed by george A Romero who to me is an awesone director when it comes to horror movies, you really can't go wrong with that duo. The last time these two joined forces was Creepshow. Kudos to the whole cast for a job well done too. Like I said before its kinda nonsensical but when it comes to creepiness it gives a job well done.
February 23, 2014
George A. Romero mostly gets recognized for his significant contributions to the zombie sub-genre of horror, but he has had some pretty decent film efforts beyond that of the staggering flesh eater variety. He has done a take on Witches, Vampires, and even an Anthology film. "The Dark Half" is a sort of a modern Jekyll and Hyde story with a bit of a slasher flick angle, though it is a tad smarter than your usual slasher flair. More like a psychological thriller with some slasher killings. I enjoyed this horror flick from the minds of Stephen King and Romero. People should give Romero more credit for his horror contributions beyond the zombie realm, he has earned it.
January 6, 2014
i tho it was going to be a different ending .but it was a surprise.basic horror film with a good story.well stephen king alwayz write stories to die for
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ December 9, 2013
Overlong, nonsensical horror flick wastes a good cast on twaddle. On top of everything else the ending is very weak. Julie Harris' screen time amounts to about five minutes.
Super Reviewer
October 30, 2013
Every narrative writer is faced with a predicament in how to navigate the conclusion of his story. Shall he embrace the optimistic side of his personality with a love-conquers-all finale or shall he trek down the nihilistic path? In the brooding 'The Dark Half', the devalued Timothy Hutton stunningly plays both Thad and George in quaking dual performances. George is a frightening Southern gent who is endowed with a gallows sense of humor ("What's going on here?" "A murder. You want some?"). Any collaboration between George Romero and Stephen King is a plausible reason for rejoice among horror fans and like their anthology picture 'Creepshow', 'The Dark Half' is a rakish, darkly funny thriller that rummages through philosophical quandaries around the physical manifestation of one's inner demons and a writer's dependent relationship with his material. Even though Romero utilizes Thad's twin babies as child-in-danger plights, it doesn't nosedive into exploitation. The sparrow attack is a tad heavy-handed and needlessly gore-drenched, but the rest of 'The Dark Half' is a spooky showcase for the versatile talents of Hutton.
½ October 15, 2013
Tuesday, October 15, 2013

(1991) The Dark Half
HORROR

Based on the Stephen King novel centering on the Timothy Hutton character as Thad Beaumont making a big hit by going under the pseudo name George Stark the other name he goes by upon writing the popular horror-like books character. And then things takes a turn for the worst when he gets blackmailed by a sleazy person who found out that Beaumont is really Stark.

The film was interesting on the first half but we're left with many un answered questions as the film progresses such as what does Stark has to gain upon killing off some of it's victims, and why is there a lack of proper police incompetence police procedures. Also, viewers are unable to grasp or make sense how George Stark came to be a real person since he's originally supposed to be a part of Beaumont's brain, at least that's what it looked like from the beginning.

2 out of 4 stars
Page 1 of 15