The Devil's Own - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Devil's Own Reviews

Page 1 of 41
May 16, 2017
They don't make them movies like they used to.
April 27, 2017
One Brad Pitt Film, 1999's Fight Club Is One Of My Favorite Films.
April 23, 2017
This was a tough one because essentially this is a movie that glorifies the IRA, a terrorist organization. They are responsible for tens of thousands of senseless, innocent deaths by bombing and mass shootings, all in the name of "saving northern ireland". i definately cannot watch a film that is trying ti make the viewer sympathize with the organization. i tried to watch, it just made me angry, usually youre supposed ti be on the side of the main character. not a chance
April 14, 2017
With both Ford and Pitt in this movie, I expected better.
January 13, 2017
It's good movie to watch
June 13, 2016
Policeman houses an Irish criminal in this boring political thriller that never thrills.
January 22, 2016
That was Brad Pitt in the good old times... The good guy, the bad guy and real bad guys! And where does the line is cross?
½ January 1, 2016
PITT'S ACCENT IS TERRIBLE AND HIS CHARACTER IS BORING AND ANNOYING, STUPID PLOT AND DID NOT
MAKE SENSE.
½ September 30, 2015
If you're a fan of these two talents than you'll enjoy the ride.
September 18, 2015
Great movie ! Very hard to find until iTunes put it for rent. Not sure why the crappy ratings?!
May 5, 2015
Cheesy. Good actors but not a good film to watch.
April 25, 2015
I expected better from Ford and Pit. This is probably the worst movie of their careers. There's no clear hint as to what this movie is about and the performances were terribly lacking.
April 24, 2015
A film that literally has nothing to say and is ultimately about absolutely nothing. Whatever possessed Pitt and Ford to sign on to this will and I hope should remain a mystery.
½ March 25, 2015
The tone of this film is what hinders this film, drama, action, family piece, what is it? but Ford and Pitt do their best
½ January 22, 2015
Slightly overlong drama stars Brad Pitt as an IRA agent coming to America to stay with Harrison Ford, who plays an honest NY cop.
½ August 4, 2014
(First and only viewing - 3/19/2013)
½ May 28, 2014
Brad Pitt is making good job against Harrison Ford.
April 14, 2014
An uneven pace and storytelling compromise a promising cast and premise. It starts by building two well-established characters in unrelated parallel stories. One is a terrorist fighting the Irish government; the other is a New York cop with a strong belief in following the rules. Both characters are interesting and when the Irishman comes to America to buy weapons, things seem to take a fascinating turn when he gets housing from the police officer. Regretfully the good execution ends. Somehow, these two men form a close family-like bond. The problem is there is little explanation or development to make those genuine connections. When the action attempts to pick up, the emotional and moral conflict of the two main characters should be intense, but they are not. It loses momentum and slows down, in spite of the action picking up. It is frustrating how brutally uneven it is. To make matters worse ending is sad and unsatisfying. Harrison Ford is a very good fit for his role. Brad Pitt is not as ideal; He comes across as an American trying to act Irish. Still he has presence and holds greater potential than where this movie has. Alan Pakula is a normally a better director than this. I would expect him to tell the story with more feeling, precision, and clarity.
½ March 24, 2014
Good drama, but a couple parts that lag.
Page 1 of 41