Disturbing Behavior - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Disturbing Behavior Reviews

Page 1 of 37
½ October 31, 2015
The very attractive Tom Cruise's teen-esque girlfriend, Katey Holmes - sounds like a porno actors name - reprises her Dawson Creek or Tree on the Hill or whatever role it was, long before my time, in a film that is part Dawson Creek, part Invasion of the Body Snatchers and part Woody Allen. Basically she's a stoner who hangs out with stoners and gets the new kid in town as a boyfriend. Meanwhile, Woody Allen's protege, a psychiatrist, is trying to give the kids a "quote unquote" helping hand. In the end she survives but not all of the other stoners do, but of course her new kid on the block boyfriend does too. The end.
September 7, 2015
It was so cheesy, it was good. Total guilty pleasure.
July 16, 2015
extra star for Katie Holmes by default :)
May 31, 2015
I thought this was pretty well done horror movie. My only dislike was how it competently ignores what the consequences would have been for the ending.
May 24, 2015
This movie had great potential and just threw it all in the garbage.
April 13, 2015
It's very silly and dumb, but ultimately is still entertaining and fun. Nick Stahl is easily the best part of the film as Gavin Strick, the smart and paranoid stoner (This may actually be the best role I've seen Nick Stahl in). Katie Holmes does a fine job and is very attractive (and is such as shot), Katherine Isabelle appears in the film (and does fine) well before her horror debut in Ginger Snaps, and Crystal Cass has a small role but gets a brief but hot scene of nudity. William Sadler (aka The Grim Reaper in Bill and Ted's Bogus actor) has a supporting role as the town idiot, but does a good job. As for James Marsden, I've never been a big fan of his but I guess he does ok here. Disturbing Behavior is certainly not a great film, but for what it was (a film about brainwashed/re-prograammed kids who go into fits of murderous rage whenever they get sexually aroused, as I said it's silly) I had a fun time with it and have no problems recommending it.
April 4, 2015
Besides a familiar story, cliche thrills and high school drama. It's actually a good watch with a by-the-books plot, decent acting and theatrical directing.
April 3, 2015
A period movie that will stand the test of time. Katie Holmes is beyond hot in this movie. Nick Stahl gives a great acting performance. I saw this movie for the first time when I moved to a new school just likes James Marsden's character. I really related to being the "new Kid" and felt like his character in many ways. It definitely helped me get through that period in time so this movies will forever have a spot in my heart. Also, great music in this movie-Harvey Danger gets their one-hit wonder played!
February 6, 2015
Written by Scott Rosenberg (Things to Do in Denver When You're Dead (1995), Con Air (1997) and High Fidelity (2000)) and directed by David Nutter (TV's 21 Jump Street, Entourage and The X Files), this science fiction thriller is a sly cross between The Stepford Wives (1974) and Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978). Not all of it works, but it does have it's moments throughout. Set in the idyllic coastal town of Cradle Bay in Washington. High School Major Steve Clark (James Marsden) and his family have just move to the town, and he instantly makes friends with Gavin Strick (Nick Stahl), U.V. (Chad E. Donella), and Rachel Wagner (Katie Holmes), all outcasts at the local high school. The popular kids are in a group known as the Blue Ribbons, who are all taking part in a special programme ran by Dr. Caldicott (Bruce Greenwood). Steve is skeptical of this, even more so when Gavin ends up joining the Blue Ribbons, and his attitude changes for the worse too. However, Steve meets janitor Dorian (William Sadler) who spills the beans. It's better than it's reputation makes out, but stuff like this has all been seen before elsewhere, and in some cases, done better. However, it does play the normal people against deadly invaders quite well in places, but the tone of the film is all over the place, and it can't settle down for one single tone throughout.
November 26, 2014
A super awkward coming-of-age teenager film from the '90s. As campy as can be. Excellent plot. A bit slow and could focus more on the actual disturbing behavior going on instead if trying to show everything in the last 20 minutes of the film. An interesting plot. Pretty bad acting.
October 26, 2014
A failed attempt to capitalize on the success of Scream. Disturbing Behavior has X-Files' alumni and decent premise, but squanders it on an abundance of teen and horror movie cliches.
½ September 28, 2014
Watchable but not memorable - I've seen worse films!
½ August 17, 2014
(First and only viewing - In my mid-twenties)
August 10, 2014
it didn't even make a teensy bit of sense. however, I learned that the word "razor" means cool to Katie Holmes' character. this movie is not razor.
½ August 10, 2014
I loved this as a teen. It captured my generation pretty well. Though, there are obvious moral annoyances, as well.
½ June 18, 2014
A high-concept horror picture that squanders its premise from the first frame.
½ June 5, 2014
Loved the book and the movie as a 9 year old. Not so much anymore. The dialogue is horrendous, the plot is snipped and pasted together, and the acting is pretty meh. Studio interference compromised this quickly made cash-in on the 90s irony-horror boom and it shows. A few good scares, a gnarly opening,
Katie Holmes, and the awesome soundtrack make for a passable nostalgic watch.
June 1, 2014
The Stepford Wives go to high school; for indiscriminate viewers.
April 7, 2014
if you like generic plot lines with stars you like now (sorta) in the nineties then here is a perfectly adequate film
Page 1 of 37