Disturbing Behavior - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Disturbing Behavior Reviews

Page 1 of 37
October 21, 2016
I was surprised by how much I liked this teen horror flick. In terms of the history of cinema, no, it isn't any kind of groundbreaking achievement, but I just really enjoyed it.
August 31, 2016
In terms of 90's nostalgia, its a really rich basket, but there's something fake about it, with a social critique that tries so hard, carried by very dramatic\ ironic teens and a lead ''outsider'' who's the very blueprint of an A-type. One of the movies best asset is the persistent weirdness of the tone; stack up enough of it and it pays off, sadly. Then there is the misty beauty of the pacific northwest, wich gives the whole movie its dreamy, wet and claustrophobic feel as it tries its very best to emulate the Twin peaks creepiness and norm-core false comfort. So this is in no way a classic but in its type it succeeds well enough, and its good memorabilia from a not-so-long-ago that looks older by the day.
Super Reviewer
½ August 12, 2016
Maybe I was in a good mood, but I didn't dislike this film that much. Not that I was expecting it to, but you know how it is with 'horror' films in the 90s, particularly post-Scream. Not saying that a lot of films tried to replicate that, but the setting is fairly similar to Scream in a small and peaceful town where strange events start taking place. The one difference to Scream, is that this film has more sci-fi themes than horror ones and it's not really constructed as a film that's meant to tear apart the genre's tropes. Essentially, some of the more troubled teens in town are turned into the ideal students. Perfect, well-adjusted, straight-A students that contribute to society in helpful ways. Imagine the Stepford Wives except substitute the women for troubled teens. So the movie is more about trying to find out what exactly is happening to these teens that is, somehow, managing to reform them in record time. Apparently, from what I found out, the film was edited beyond all hell and the director, David Nutter, even considered taking his name out of the credits. I think the original cut was like 20 minutes longer than this and it focused more on character development, which I really would've been interested in seeing. This movie isn't bad or anything, but the characters don't really have much of a personality. You also find out more about Steve's brother, who shot himself, and who is the impetus for the family moving to Cradle Bay and why he did what he did. I thought that that, at least, was important, because Steve's depression or lack excitement at his family's move to Cradle Bay is due in part to what happened to his brother. There's also the fact that there was, supposedly, an organization that was behind Caldicott's experiments, which would have also been interesting to see. So I do feel sorry for David Nutter and the writer of the film, because I truly do believe that there's a more interesting story that they wanted to tell than what you got to see on screen. Their story, I feel, was truly bastardized and I could've seen the director's cut of it. And it is available, like some fans edited it together along with the deleted scenes, but it's not like I'm gonna go out of my way to seek it out. Part of the reason why I enjoyed this, in spite of giving it an average rating, is the fact that it feels like a time capsule of what horror movies were like in the 90s. And you can say that for every decade, of course, but I don't know, there's just something about that I enjoyed. The movie is a little goofy at times, so I liked that. Unsure if the film was purposely goofy at times or if it was meant to be taken seriously. Either way, some scenes made me laugh. The acting is ok, I like James Marsden and everything, but there's no real reason to care for his character. There's no real reason to care for ANY character, the character development, at least in this edit of the film, is literally nonexistent. There's the basic stuff, like you establish what type of person a character is, but they don't go much farther beyond that. It is what it is and this is where Nutter's original cut of the film would've, hopefully, helped the most. Just giving you a real reason to care for the characters. Even with that, and some of the issues I have with the scripting and its similarities to Stepford Wives, part of me had fun watching this movie. Not what I would call good, but enjoyable if watched in the right state of mind or with a group of friends that you can have fun with. It's also free if you have Amazon Prime, so there's that. You can't really go wrong with a 'free' movie. And it's less than 85 minutes long, so it doesn't stick around for too long. This is average at best, but a somewhat enjoyable average, if that makes sense.
August 5, 2016
Another example of obvious studio interference specifically in an attempt to conform this to the slew of post-Scream horror movies. The film's plot and characters are so stripped down to where it felt as though I were sitting on the remote and kept skipping scenes.
½ October 31, 2015
The very attractive Tom Cruise's teen-esque girlfriend, Katey Holmes - sounds like a porno actors name - reprises her Dawson Creek or Tree on the Hill or whatever role it was, long before my time, in a film that is part Dawson Creek, part Invasion of the Body Snatchers and part Woody Allen. Basically she's a stoner who hangs out with stoners and gets the new kid in town as a boyfriend. Meanwhile, Woody Allen's protege, a psychiatrist, is trying to give the kids a "quote unquote" helping hand. In the end she survives but not all of the other stoners do, but of course her new kid on the block boyfriend does too. The end.
September 7, 2015
It was so cheesy, it was good. Total guilty pleasure.
July 16, 2015
extra star for Katie Holmes by default :)
May 31, 2015
I thought this was pretty well done horror movie. My only dislike was how it competently ignores what the consequences would have been for the ending.
May 24, 2015
This movie had great potential and just threw it all in the garbage.
April 13, 2015
It's very silly and dumb, but ultimately is still entertaining and fun. Nick Stahl is easily the best part of the film as Gavin Strick, the smart and paranoid stoner (This may actually be the best role I've seen Nick Stahl in). Katie Holmes does a fine job and is very attractive (and is such as shot), Katherine Isabelle appears in the film (and does fine) well before her horror debut in Ginger Snaps, and Crystal Cass has a small role but gets a brief but hot scene of nudity. William Sadler (aka The Grim Reaper in Bill and Ted's Bogus actor) has a supporting role as the town idiot, but does a good job. As for James Marsden, I've never been a big fan of his but I guess he does ok here. Disturbing Behavior is certainly not a great film, but for what it was (a film about brainwashed/re-prograammed kids who go into fits of murderous rage whenever they get sexually aroused, as I said it's silly) I had a fun time with it and have no problems recommending it.
April 4, 2015
Besides a familiar story, cliche thrills and high school drama. It's actually a good watch with a by-the-books plot, decent acting and theatrical directing.
April 3, 2015
A period movie that will stand the test of time. Katie Holmes is beyond hot in this movie. Nick Stahl gives a great acting performance. I saw this movie for the first time when I moved to a new school just likes James Marsden's character. I really related to being the "new Kid" and felt like his character in many ways. It definitely helped me get through that period in time so this movies will forever have a spot in my heart. Also, great music in this movie-Harvey Danger gets their one-hit wonder played!
February 6, 2015
Written by Scott Rosenberg (Things to Do in Denver When You're Dead (1995), Con Air (1997) and High Fidelity (2000)) and directed by David Nutter (TV's 21 Jump Street, Entourage and The X Files), this science fiction thriller is a sly cross between The Stepford Wives (1974) and Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978). Not all of it works, but it does have it's moments throughout. Set in the idyllic coastal town of Cradle Bay in Washington. High School Major Steve Clark (James Marsden) and his family have just move to the town, and he instantly makes friends with Gavin Strick (Nick Stahl), U.V. (Chad E. Donella), and Rachel Wagner (Katie Holmes), all outcasts at the local high school. The popular kids are in a group known as the Blue Ribbons, who are all taking part in a special programme ran by Dr. Caldicott (Bruce Greenwood). Steve is skeptical of this, even more so when Gavin ends up joining the Blue Ribbons, and his attitude changes for the worse too. However, Steve meets janitor Dorian (William Sadler) who spills the beans. It's better than it's reputation makes out, but stuff like this has all been seen before elsewhere, and in some cases, done better. However, it does play the normal people against deadly invaders quite well in places, but the tone of the film is all over the place, and it can't settle down for one single tone throughout.
November 26, 2014
A super awkward coming-of-age teenager film from the '90s. As campy as can be. Excellent plot. A bit slow and could focus more on the actual disturbing behavior going on instead if trying to show everything in the last 20 minutes of the film. An interesting plot. Pretty bad acting.
October 26, 2014
A failed attempt to capitalize on the success of Scream. Disturbing Behavior has X-Files' alumni and decent premise, but squanders it on an abundance of teen and horror movie cliches.
½ September 28, 2014
Watchable but not memorable - I've seen worse films!
½ August 17, 2014
(First and only viewing - In my mid-twenties)
August 10, 2014
it didn't even make a teensy bit of sense. however, I learned that the word "razor" means cool to Katie Holmes' character. this movie is not razor.
½ August 10, 2014
I loved this as a teen. It captured my generation pretty well. Though, there are obvious moral annoyances, as well.
Page 1 of 37