The Dukes of Hazzard - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Dukes of Hazzard Reviews

Page 1 of 608
½ July 29, 2016
7/28/2016: Very disappointing. I liked the cast, but they weren't right for the roles, which was the biggest problem with the film. The only good thing was the car chases.
½ July 14, 2016
Knoxville and Scott make a great comedy team that if given the right script could become one Hollywood's biggest duos. But instead they get this junk!
May 13, 2016
½ March 15, 2016
One of the only movies I've ever walked out of the theatre from.
February 3, 2016
i love this movie, i have watched it many times and still love it. this movie gets the adrenaline pumping and i love cars and car chases which makes me like this movie even more. i would recommend this movie if you are a redneck and like cars.
January 25, 2016
really funny. don't know what's bad about it.
January 6, 2016
Saw this only once! That was enough!
September 15, 2015
It does have a few good aspects:

- Willie Nelson
- the bar fight scene
- the soundtrack

other than that, it's a lousy adaptation of a beloved TV series. Burt Reynolds' performance as Boss Hogg was completely dull and Jessica Simpson as Daisy Duke - she did nothing except give the audience blue balls and she had no chemistry with any of the other actors
August 28, 2015
10 years later (as of this writing) and I still have no desire or masochistic interest in seeing this.
½ August 27, 2015
Mildly Entertaining. It Has It's Moments. Mostly Involving Daisy Doin Her Thang. The Boys Come Across As MTV (Jackass) Goof-Balls, Not Quite Taking On The Flare Of The Original Series.
½ August 15, 2015
Simpson is the only thing worth watching here and that's pure for the bod.
½ August 3, 2015
This movie is hilarious but fails to have good acting or even a plot worth watching. Personally I enjoyed it because Seann William Scott and Johnny Knoxville are funny actors and at this point in time everyone had a crush on Jessica Simpson. It was a feel good southern comedy that had its moments but fell short of its potential!
½ July 29, 2015
This movie is soooo funny. Its great. If you need a great movie that can really really make you laugh this is it! The boys are at their best. And Jessica Simpson is sooooo HOT!!! Its funny and actually has a great story line. If you've seen the original Dukes Of Hazzard then you'll find some of the stuff in this movie that will remind you of the original show. Its great. I recommend this movie to everyone!
July 26, 2015
It's not terrible, but it's not great
½ May 30, 2015
Over the top. Has little to no relation with the original great show. And horrible acting
May 18, 2015
Stick with the TV show...
April 28, 2015
Check it off the List.
March 23, 2015
want to see so badly
½ March 22, 2015
The Dukes of Hazzard: An embarrassment to the filmmaking industry. F
Super Reviewer
February 18, 2015
Not too sure where I stand with this update of the classic kids show. This is one of those times where making a film for the younger audience is probably the best option yet they went the other way.

The main problem here is the fact that The Dukes of Hazzard was a TV show primarily for kids. It was light-hearted and had the same kind of theme as other classic TV shows like The A-Team, Knight Rider and Airwolf. This new film takes that kind-hearted approach and throws it out of the window to make room for a new crude, vulgar version with tits and ass.

I will admit that at times the film is good fun, the massive car chase sequence at the end is a tornado of great stunts that is tremendous fun to watch. Much like the classic car chases in 'The Blues Brothers' its amazing to see the famous Dodge Charger hurtle down the freeway and leap higher and farther than ever before. Unfortunately this is about as fun as it gets for both thrills and whimsical retro goodness.

The rest of the film really is a nasty cheap-ass pile of stereotypical cliches in a bad straight to DVD National Lampoon's kinda way. The main casting of Knoxville and Scott as Bo and Luke was terrible and gave the game away immediately as to what direction the film was going in. Even Simpson as Daisy was a bad choice, your everyday boring over-tanned blonde Barbie doll wannabe with luminously bleached teeth.
Yes she was sexy in her tight Levi cutoffs and lets be honest this character ain't here for intellectual conversation, but she was also vacuous with no character whatsoever. The bad casting continued with Reynolds as Boss Hogg who had no presence in the film at all. Just a big name for the advertising and a very weak performance.

Overall its a very mixed bag as there is some nice car porn in here but quite simply its a very bad adaptation of the TV show. Seeing the old General Lee zoom around is the most enjoyment you're gonna get outta this...if you grew up with the show that is (or you're a petrolhead).

Shame they also had to drag the modern day PC bandwagon into the fray. They just had to include present day politics didn't they, couldn't let that go, exactly why this should not have been set in the present day. Not to be taken too seriously of course but you know deep down the original TV show is slightly frowned upon these days *groan*.

Unfortunately this is a rather sour spin on the TV show and spoils its good name. Chock full of needless cameos, way too glossy, hints at soft porn, crass and with added toilet humour. Basically its 'American Pie' and 'Jackass' injected into a much loved old TV show which is totally unacceptable frankly.

This is exactly what Stiller and co didn't do for their classic TV show adaptation and look at the difference in quality. Don't show this to your kids and avoid yourself.
Page 1 of 608