Everything is Illuminated - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Everything is Illuminated Reviews

Page 1 of 249
December 16, 2016
Smart & modern story-telling of a journey back into history. Watch this
Super Reviewer
September 29, 2016
Plot was draggy but the Gogol Bordello guy (and the dog) stole the show.
June 26, 2016
This story begins with a touch of humor as Alex and his grandfather agree to act as translator and guide to Elijah Wood's "demented" vegetarian obsessive collector, Jonathan, in Liev Schreiber's adaptation of the novel by the same name.  Most of said humor arrives in the form of lost in translation as Alex attempts to censor Grandfather's true words to the English speaking only Jonathan who proudly sports perfect hair and Coke bottle glasses.  More humor also appears as "what is wrong with him" vegetarian Jonathan exclaims he doesn't eat meat.  The server in the restaurant proclaims Jonathan can only have a potato with the meat.  When the potato comes it is peeled boiled and otherwise sans topping.  Jonathan knocks it on the floor.  Grandfather promptly picks it up and divides it between Alex, the dog, Jonathan and himself.  The dog, Sammy Davis Jr. Jr. also provides much comic relief as she is "demented." However, when they arrive in Trachimbrod comedy turns serious very quickly.  The shot as our travelers look over the small monument marked in remembrance of those who died in 1942 is heartbreaking.  There is no comedy left.  I can only say you must see this movie.  Don't worry I didn't spoil too much.
½ June 16, 2016
Actually helps to illuminate the somewhat confusing plot in the book. The dog is wonderful!
June 5, 2016
The result of Live Schreiber's maiden attempt at directing is an uneven comedy, about illumination of the present in the light of the past, that is lightly funny and unfunnily goofy and awkwardly sentimental.
½ May 9, 2016
Peculiar is the proper word to describe Liev Schreiber's movie. And that's not in the slightest a negative connotation. Everything Is Illuminated is spectacularly different. The story combines drama and comedy perfectly and the cast does well in delivering both. Also, the cinematography and score have that Wes Anderson feel that turns odd into amazing.
January 10, 2016
The thing I remember most about the book is how fluid and natural the dialogue was. This movie has dialogue which sounds fake and melodramatic. Perspective and narration is so important to this story, and it is completely lost here. And the bland, even lighting was pretty fake too. This movie does not hit what the book is really about.
Super Reviewer
½ September 7, 2015
An unusual film - part comedy, part drama. Elijah Wood plays a young man who travels to the Ukraine to remember what he could about his Jewish grandfather's escape from the Nazis in WW2. He gets more than he bargained for.
½ August 11, 2015
More than another movie about the Holocaust with insight and growth.
½ April 13, 2015
Interesting little movie that was sadly overlooked. Instead of showing World War 2 for the 100th time, it focuses on the later consequences and manages to be funny and sad at the same time.
½ January 16, 2015
Liev Schreiber does a wonderful job as first time director, moving from quirky comedy to an unforgettable dark corner of history.
½ December 26, 2014
This sure ain't a Christmas movie ... but we enjoyed it on Christmas day anyway. There's a vein of love running through this. Should it be funnier to make up for the melancholy?
½ July 30, 2014
Original, and entertaining!
July 17, 2014
My gosh, i read that book and it was awesome! i cant remeber ive ever read something like that before! i guess there is no book you can compare with everything is illuminated! i havent seen the film yet but i can only hope that i will get to see it soon and that it is as great as the book!
July 11, 2014
?????? "?????????? ????????" ? "?????????? ??????????", ?????? ??????? ?????????? ? ????? ???-????.
June 21, 2014
I really did not want to see it but it kept my interest the entire time. Very different and engaging
June 9, 2014
The whole cast does a great job and the photography is amazing, however the story is lack of essence.
½ June 8, 2014
Elijah "Frodo" Wood in slow paced but emotive drama of a search.Deserves a chance an afternoon weekend.
½ May 26, 2014
Very strange, unique, and often outright weird. Elijah Wood is consistently good in this film, and Eugene Hutz is phenomenal. This movie works as both a comedy and a drama, but it's not super entertaining in either way.
May 18, 2014
A story about the power of sentimental value of ordinary objects, and the closure they can bring..
Page 1 of 249