Gone With the Wind - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gone With the Wind Reviews

Page 1 of 984
November 21, 2016
My favourite movie of all time
November 13, 2016
Wow! One of the few movies that I agree with the critics on! I don't really know what to make of that. Our tastes differ more often than not, but this is a fantastic film! Just watch it. It's phenomenal. :)
½ November 7, 2016
92%
Saw this on 06/11/16
Dim, morbid and disheartening, yet the film is grandiose and epic in all scales. Its hard to like the characters in this overlong running drama, yet all the four leads are splendid. It lavishly flourishes the idea of slavery, at times basing the entire theme of the movie for that cause. This is not a film that none would forget so easily, its much beyond that.
September 15, 2016
Incredibly well acted, so much attention to detail, great music, and very emotional to watch. This film is still the masterpiece it was when it was first released.
September 10, 2016
The only thing better than GWTW is the novel on which it is based. Don't watch the movie looking for a moral. The main character, Scarlett, has none. She's an awful person that you sort of want to see kick everyone's ass. You see the rest of the characters are "nobility" types with their heads in the ground, unwilling to see there's no point in fighting the inevitable. The film glosses over the more violent and sordid details of the book, appearing to make the South look gentile, but overall it's a gross understatement to say it's just a nostalgic look at American history. It encompasses a look at our faults and how humans will cut off their noses to spite thier faces. The point is, this happened to the kings of Ireland, the empire of Rome, it happened in Russia in War & Peace, and it's happening again today. The world is changing and we aren't promised anything from it, all you can do is try to survive.
September 7, 2016
Best movie ever made
½ August 14, 2016
Best part about this 4 hour romance made in the 30s is that its never boring and highly entertaining. You got an epic story filled with brilliant performances, tight script and cinematography. It's an essential watch.
July 31, 2016
Gone with the Wind is a masterpiece filled with drama and romance!
July 8, 2016
Yes, the film is riveting with racist and sexist execution of scenes, but it is based on a book in 1860's America. Most people who lived in the south believed their fight was the right fight. It wasn't a time of sunshine and rainbows for America. It still isn't. Minorities still suffer through injustice and we still have people defend racism and sexism. This film is a cinematic masterpiece however due to its amazing story of a struggling woman getting on her own two feet and doing it any way she possibly can to save the only thing that matters to her, Tara. It's a story that captures the willingness of its time and the amazing work to create a masterpiece of a film with its splendid cinematography and amazing acting. Its entirety is a tactful work of both Clark Gable and Vivien Leigh's acting skills. If I have anything truly negative is that Ashley's character is such an a**hole. His character is so repulsive to have lead a girl on like that while being in love with Meli is so repulsive. I believe it may be the purpose for him as Clark's antagonist. The costumes and sets were beautiful. One of the best scenes is that crane shot of the many bodies outside the hospital as Scarlet walks around looking for a doctor in mid square. Beauty of a scene and the creation of a Pan-Out shot. Hence, the film is not perfect but it is really a classic. You may not appreciate it the first few times, but after a few watches you understand its splendor and authenticity and it enter your heart.
July 2, 2016
Extremely lengthy and controversial due to its racist point of view, Gone with the Wind is an overrated American classic that boasts technical prowess and superb acting - particularly Vivien Leigh's landmark performance as Scarlett O'Hara - while lacks historical accuracy or sympathetic heroes.
July 1, 2016
Best movie of all time. Great depiction of the time it was set. Perfect casting! There will never be a remake of this one!
June 21, 2016
[[[Antes de começar quero deixar bem claro aqui que essa resenha foi escrita às 4h da manhã por alguém que precisou de 3 copos de café com muito açúcar pra conseguir ver o filme até o final. Qualquer falta de nexo entre uma frase e outra é totalmente obra da madrugada regada por muito pilão]]]
Uma das coisas mais incríveis do cinema, em minha little humilde opinião, é a vasta diversidade que cada diretor tem a seu favor na hora de escolher a melhor narrativa para desenvolver sua estória. Nos dias de hoje, percebemos isso quando paramos pra comparar diretores que, mesmo trabalhando em um mesmo gênero, se distanciam na hora de escolher qual o melhor caminho a se seguir. Seja de Christopher Nolan à Michael booooom Bay, a essência de todo diretor está na forma como mistura seus ingredientes. MAS POR QUE EU TÔ FALANDO DISSO??? Nada demais, mas o que vemos em Gone with the Wind, clássico do cinema americano dirigido por Victor Fleming datado de 1939 (isso é tempo pra cacete!!!!!), é uma narrativa extremamente complexa que transita desde as consequências de uma guerra ao amor proibido entre uma porrada de gente (sim, é gente pra cacete também). O resultado disso nada mais é que 4 HORAS DE FILME!!!!!!!! Sim, meu amiguinho, 4 horas na frente do PC tendo que trocar de posição diversas vezes porque sua costa tá doendo e a bunda afundou no sofá. E você ainda jurava que O Senhor dos Anéis era o filme mais - chato - longo que existia, né mesmo?
Agora, me aprofundando superficialmente na complexidade do longa, Fleming e Sidney Howard (roteirista do filme) basicamente se embriagaram da fonte da obra original, o romance homônimo escrito por Margaret Mitchell, pra construir o que vindouro ganhador de 10 Oscar dos 13 que disputou. A trama é situada no sul estadunidense do século XIX - 19, pra quem não saca de número romano que nem eu - em meio à toda merda que foi a Guerra Civil Americana qual você deve ter ouvido falar nas aulinhas de história mas esqueceu completamente. Scarlett O'Hara (Vivian Leigh) é mimada, egocêntrica e sempre foi acostumada a ter tudo o que quer. Filha de um nobre proprietário de uma plantação de algodão, a garota é o sonho de consumo de todo boboca da região, tipo a Regina George da roça. Acostumada a brincar com o coração dos rapazes, tudo muda quando ela descobre que o verdadeiro homem por qual seu coração bate mais forte, Ashley Wilkes (Leslie Howard) vai se casar, e pior, vai se casar com sua prima - dele, no caso - Melanie Hamilton (Olivia de Haviland). Até aí parece bem filme de romance genérico, mas a genialidade do roteiro é trabalhar com a ambiguidade que o amor nos oferece. Movida por atitudes de total desespero/sagacidade/filha-da-putagem, a vida de Scarlett decresce totalmente na medida em que a Guerra vai crescendo e tudo o que ela foi acostumada vai se modificando conforme o tempo. Se já não bastasse tanta discórdia pra uma pessoa só, Scarlett acaba conquistando o desejo de Rhett Butler (Clark Gable), um bom malandro conquistador com naipe de artista e bigodinho de gigolô. Rhett, uma pessoa tão suja quanto a própria Scarlett, está disposto a tudo para fazê-la esquecer da sua friendzone e tê-la em seus braços.
Utilizando muito de frases de efeito, uma fotografia incrivelmente mágica e personagens cômicos, Gone with the Wind se constrói de uma maneira fluída e consegue suavizar um pouco da nossa aflição de ter que ficar 4 horas vendo o mesmo filme. Sério, os diálogos, as reflexões, o jogo de sedução entre os personagens é memorável. Outro acerto do filme é não procurar por um final feliz e não se prender à clichês do gênero, onde a principal tem que ser necessariamente a mocinha da história. Porra, conviver com a Scarlett seria insuportável, sem contar o fato de que ela é zicada totalmente. Rhett é inesquecível. Mesmo exagerando da violência em diversos momentos e sendo o cafajeste padrão, não tem como não sentir o mínimo de afinidade pelo personagem de Clark Gable. Outro destaque fica para as empregadas Mammy (Hattie McDaniel) e Prissy (Butterfly McQueen), sendo esta a primeira mulher negra a concorrer a uma categoria no Oscar e vencer.
Enfim, acho que acabei não analisando tanto as nuances do filme como eu gostaria, até porque o que era pra ser uma parada sem compromisso algum se tornou em um textão de 4 parágrafos que nem a mulher do google tradutor leria, mas o filme é muito grandioso - não só na duração hehe - para ser descrito por um mero mortal como eu, então acho que não vai ser essas palavras que vão te fazer parar sua vida pra ver um filme com 4 horas de duração. Frankly, my dear, I don't give a damn.
June 9, 2016
Just a flat out classic... with one of the most memorable lines in cinema history.
½ June 5, 2016
Overrated and boring as expected. It's 4 hours for goodness sake. Rhett and Scarlett are awful characters both as a couple and as individuals. No offense but she was too pretty for him and he was abusive too. Everyone in the reviews is bitching about the controversial issues but they were there during that time (some still are). They are not being praised. The scenery was pretty though especially during the sunset scenes.
½ June 3, 2016
This epic historical romance is deservedly an all time classic. It contains a perfect mix of humour, drama, tension, and of course romance, and is in many ways years ahead of its time in terms of its production. Featuring an outstanding performance by Leigh, the film does wane just a little towards the end, but it is never slow or uninteresting. The musical score, the cinematography, the settings and the costumes all work perfectly together. Considered to be one of the top 10 films of all times, one of the best epic films, featuring one of the best film scores and the all time best movie quote ""Frankly, my dear, I don't give a damn". What more can be said. AAW 1001
May 30, 2016
10 out of 10:

A beautiful love story with great acting.
½ May 14, 2016
None of the top "critics" proclaiming this movie a "classic" seem to address the blatant racism or at the very least the necessity of Sherman's actions and the burning of Atlanta.... They praise the acting and direction w/o questioning the blatant idiocy of it's message... Atlanta/The south needed to be burned the same as using the nuke in Japan.... The South's radicalism needed to be stopped or we would face years of more fighting and deaths on both sides. Performances aside this is a terrible example of exonerating the Souths racist past....
May 13, 2016
A drama in the most overblown sense of the word, Gone with the Wind proves to be an engaging and moving picture, even if it takes a little more of its 4-hour runtime to get there than we would've liked.
May 13, 2016
One of the finest movies ever made!
Page 1 of 984