Interview with the Vampire - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Interview with the Vampire Reviews

Page 1 of 1046
April 6, 2017
"Interview with the Vampire" is one of the best movies of the genre, in addition to approaching the vampires' naturalness in a different way, it still has luxurious costumes and production design. It may have some problems, but it's definitely worth it because of Brad Pitt, Tom Cruise and Kirsten Dunst.
March 12, 2017
Vampires are definitely out of my taste but this movie is amazing!
February 7, 2017
Based on the novel of the same name by Anne Rice. A vampire (Pitt) tells his epic life story: love, betrayal, loneliness, and hunger.
February 4, 2017
My favourite film of all time. A flawless, genius film. I've seen it loads of times and it's still awesome. 61% RT? That's hilarious.
January 20, 2017
Tom Cruise is Brilliant! Brad Pitt plays the tortured undead soul so well! Entertaining and Thrilling even after 20 years.
January 15, 2017
Visually appealing and very interesting.
January 10, 2017
it's still one of my favorite movies of all time a true classic
½ January 7, 2017
Fascinating performance by Tom Cruise, rich atmosphere and set-pieces make this movie quite enjoyable.
½ January 4, 2017
a must seee for all Vampire fans
½ December 16, 2016
76%
Saw this on 16/12/16
Fuck Twilight, this is a real vampire film with quite a lot of dark thrills, but the film fails to achieve what it ultimately aims for due to excessive tonal shifts in the third act. The cast does what they can with whatever is provided to them.
December 11, 2016
While the film is unrealistic and cheap, the cast tries to achieve perfection, but they fall short.
½ November 20, 2016
This is a metaphor for the American Civil War. Louis is the noble Northerner - resisting the urge to sustain himself on the blood of his fellow man. Lestat is the slave-holding Southerner - unashamed in his exploitation of men.
October 30, 2016
This film is a 7.5/10. Although Brad Pitt is well cast in his role, I am not certain that Tom Cruise is. A more sinister and better actor would have been more appropriately cast.

This is a case where the story itself carries the film. In other words, this film adaptation of a novel is weaker than its source material. The acting could have been improved, but the film is unique and intriguing enough in itself, to make this a good movie.

The sets and makeup are appropriate. There is just the right amount of gore to prevent this from being a modern "horror" film, and rather in the category of "suspense".
October 17, 2016
While some have misgivings with casting or tacky script and dialogue, the fascinating narrative and gothic tones definitely have their appeal. While some of the emotional appeal and character vulnerability is lost from book to screen, this film definitely finds its niche and works well as a period piece and a drama - not the horror flick that some expect.
Super Reviewer
½ October 16, 2016
I'm always down for a horror film that switches up the conventional tropes of the genre. Interview with the Vampire certainly does that, but it also fails to capture one's undivided attention for a full 2 hours.

Coming out in 1994, this was the very beginnings of Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt's rise to fame, and that plays into a lot of the fun with the film. Cruise plays a seasoned vampire, Lestat, who seeks out a partner in crime, Brad Pitt, to be the next vampire along his side. Pitt had dealt with plenty of loss in his life and so a step away from his normal life and into the immortal life isn't the worst thing. But Lestat's harsher ways of living prove to be too much for Pitt's 'Louis' character. And there you have much of the first half of the film.

It's pretty weird watching these established actors back when they were obviously taking on more risky roles such as these. I can't see either of the two taking on a vampire film now, so I guess that adds to the uniqueness of this film. There's plenty of bloody fun to be had with the film. There aren't a ton of scares, which is disappointing, but there's no shortage of obscure Cruise monologues and slasher twists.

With that said, the film takes an unexpected turn about half way through, and the rest of the story falls of the rails because of it. So much so that the first and second hour feel like completely different stories. Mixed in you get a touching arc about Louis taking in a young Kirsten Dunst, who is surprisingly great (at only 12 years of age), but it's not enough to overcome a really weak second half.

To me, the film is at its best when it explores the dynamic between Louis and Lestat, and lets Cruise and Pitt go crazy with dialogue and peculiar actions. Once we dive deep into why there are vampires and Antonio Banderas' character, the film falls flat.

+Cruise & Pitt playing strange/creepy vampires

+Bloody fun first half

-Flat second half

5.8/10
½ October 15, 2016
You have to be a little crusty to really love this movie, but its good.
½ October 3, 2016
when i 1st heard of this movie i thought it would be a total waist of time. but it was actually very good.
October 3, 2016
If you can shed the soap opera vibe it tries overly hard to shove down your throat, the first half of Interview With The Vampire is pretty interesting. I've never seen Dunst as all that, but she really shines here. The second half of the film, however, is quite a boring side-step that only slows its pace and adds exceptionally dull new characters.
½ September 12, 2016
The only "hitch" in the whole story as far as I am concerned was to set the Paris episode in September, 1870. By that time the Franco-Prussian war had begun in earnest, and the Germans were sending soldiers into France by the train load. From stories that have come down from family members who lived through those times, it would not be something unthought of for French people to be dancing the night away at a ritzy hotel anyway, with a German invasion force practically at their doorsteps. The Germans only fired one lone gun at Paris, on only one occasion, and seemed to have been careful not to hit anything.
Page 1 of 1046