Just Getting Started - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Just Getting Started Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 10, 2018
Love the cast, but nothing new.
July 18, 2018
I think they made this one just for a paycheck,truly horrible and a complete waste of time
July 10, 2018
An unintentional homage to 1980s comedies.
½ May 12, 2018
Just Getting Started is unfunny and predictable. This movie wastes and hour and a half of your life in an endless whirl of bad acting and an even worse story. Just getting Started is not a movie, it's a blooper. I have undeniably lost my respect for Morgan Freeman, and Tommy Lee Jones.
½ April 17, 2018
An absolute waste of time. The folks that put up money to make the movie are to be blamed.
½ March 27, 2018
This could be the new "worst movie ever".
March 27, 2018
É verdade, o cartaz de Just Getting Started é apenas composto pelos três atores principais, o que não é nada descabido, tendo em conta que não há mais nada de interesse para ver. O experiente realizador e argumentista Ron Shelton volta ao grande ecrã depois da estreia do filme Hollywood Homicide (2003). Com uma pausa de 14 anos, o seu trabalho ficou altamente preguiçoso, e nem o talento à frente da câmara consegue salvar o desastre que é o enredo desta longa-metragem.

A história desta comédia com ação centra-se em Duke Diver (Morgan Freeman), o gerente da Villa Capri, uma comunidade de aposentados em Palm Springs, onde é idolatrado, principalmente pelas mulheres. Mas o seu estatuto é ameaçado quando Leo (Tommy Lee Jones) entra em jogo com segundas intenções, chamando a atenção do género feminino (Glenne Headly, num dos seus últimos papéis; Sheryl Lee Ralph; e Elizabeth Ashley), incluindo a recém-chegada Suzie (Rene Russo). Incomodado com a situação, Duke não tem apenas de se preocupar com a sua vida amorosa, pois não só tem problemas do seu passado por resolver, como a corporação que detém Villa Capri não concorda com os seus métodos de gestão.

A premissa, além de genérica, é desenvolvida sem ritmo e clareza. Com um fundo que pretende demonstrar as dinâmicas de uma comunidade de aposentados, o enredo estende-se até uma rivalidade de dois homens à procura de supremacia emocional e ainda uma vingança que só dispersa ainda mais o filme. O problema não é propriamente a segmentação da narrativa, mas sim o facto de Shelton querer mostrar um pouco de tudo e acabar por não executar nenhuma das ideias de forma consistente.

A localização do filme oferece cor e um ambiente de descontração que condiz com a qualidade relaxada que procura alcançar. Este aspeto, a par com as atuações competentes por parte de atores com múltiplas premiações, é tudo o que o filme oferece em termos de aproveitamento. O diálogo é desprovido de nuances, o que limita as personagens às suas características principais, nunca conseguindo gerar um conflito palpável.

Tudo seria mais perdoável se pelo menos o filme fosse engraçado, já que em termos de ação temos de esperar pelos últimos 20 minutos apenas para sermos desiludidos com uma montagem desastrosa. Para meu receio, nem o público-alvo vai conseguir encontrar humor nesta história corriqueira. No máximo, evocará uns breves sorrisos por simpatia e respeito ao passado destas figuras do cinema.

Duke diz que está apenas a começar, mas sinceramente mais vale ficar por aí. Com o clima natalício como plano de fundo, o projeto de Ron Shelton está longe de captar a alegria e harmonia da quadra, desperdiçando o talento de atores conceituados com material desprovido de perspicácia e substância cómica.

2/10
March 21, 2018
It took too long to take off the plat was watered down. They could have cut 30-45 minutes off the film & go to the point sooner. It did have good actors/actresses though. A bit of crude humor.
½ March 9, 2018
Read the review prior to renting. Was not funny, slightly entertaning. But expected so much more fRom the actors, considering who they were.
½ March 3, 2018
If you could give 0 stars this would earn it. Dire!
½ February 18, 2018
Tough to sit through
February 17, 2018
Uneventful and loosely scripted comedy by two old guys, tired and pointless.
December 28, 2017
Why does the movie Just Getting Started exist? Having seen this ghastly comedy, I can't for a moment divine why anyone involved thought making this movie was a good idea. The jokes are creaky and unfunny; the story is past its sell by date and the direction is clumsy, bordering on amateurish? What type of blackmail was required to draw Morgan Freeman and Tommy Lee Jones to appear in this film? What kind of blackmail was required to get movie theaters to make space for this movie in the same month in which Star Wars The Last Jedi is being released? https://geeks.media/movie-review-justing-getting-started?_ga=2.92719453.1126457623.1513947710-953607229.1513947710
December 24, 2017
had its cute moments but wait for it to be in local library to check out and watch for free. Not worth price of ticket and popcorn
½ December 20, 2017
Just Getting Started - Review (2017)

Gonna be real quick there's nothing good about this movie its a awful waste of time

Overall: Morgan Freeman go back to good movies

Overall Grade: F-
½ December 16, 2017
I actually wanted to see the show, the actors are amazing and I felt like this was going to be a movie definitely worth watching. About 10 minutes into the movie I came to the sad realization that this was going to be a very painful hour and a half of my life. The screenwriting was so bad there's not enough adjectives to begin to describe that, and I didn't know who to blame, the screenwriter or the director, after the movie I realized the same person did both jobs. I would never recommend this movie to anyone that I liked, And I'm not sure I hate anybody bad enough to encourage them to see this movie.
½ December 16, 2017
Even these great talents could not save a story as nonsensical, shallow, illogical and just downright idiotic as this one. Other than that it was terrifically unfunny.
December 15, 2017
when will these two has beens stop acting.morgan and tommy ,your great movies are behind you
December 13, 2017
Awful! Immature and not worthy of the talent the cast brought. Nothing redeeming at all. Don't waste your time or money!
December 12, 2017
Not an intellectual shooting star but a very enjoyable movie.
Page 1 of 2