Lake Placid - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lake Placid Reviews

Page 1 of 154
June 14, 2018
Betty White is hysterical. I love this movie. It's probably so bad it's good!
May 16, 2018
Successfully pokes fun at the sort of movie where a small American town is menaced by a monstrous creature. The hing that really makes Lake Placid is the banter between the leads and a typically bonkers performance by the delightful Betty White as the little old lady who has been feeding a giant crocodile that resides in a lake beside her house. It makes no sense but has a camp and silly sense of fun.
May 15, 2018
Sadly much maligned, Lake Placid is a thoroughly enjoyable film. Like a freshwater comedic Jaws. The characters are likeable, the actors are perfect, horror is just right and the one liners are genius. It ticks every box
½ April 23, 2018
Lake Placid is occasionally thrilling, occasionally amusing and occasionally displays a vestige of wit. As a whole, it's weak opening act and lack of consistent tone make it little more than a watchable, but disposable creature feature.
½ April 3, 2018
I guess ' Deep Blue Sea' and ' Lake Placid' went for the same movie poster...... Lol this was a really good movie! it wasnt great but it was good
March 4, 2018
Dialog makes this movie!
February 15, 2018
Hilarious and well done monster movie
February 7, 2018
The film is nothing special. However it does bring back a few childhood memories, as well as a few laughs.
February 4, 2018
As a movie alone this is probably your average B horror movie. But Betty White turn's it into a 4/5 for me. She's hilarious, and i wish she was more of a main character.
½ February 3, 2018
Couldn't wait for this film to end. So many lines made you shift your eyes thinking, "What?... ". The only good part about this movie, and why I'm not giving it the lowest rating, is Betty White.
Super Reviewer
½ January 24, 2018
Not bad for a giant-gator Creature Feature, but Goddamn listening the dialogue in the first act is aggravating as sin.
January 4, 2018
So bad, it's entertaining.
November 5, 2017
There is something about a deeply unfunny movie that is convinced that it's funny that makes me angry. One of the most unpleasant movies that I have had the misfortune of seeing.
July 11, 2017
Lake Placid Is not one of the best horror movies ever made, but it's not one of the worst either. Lake Placid is a fine written horror movie that might keep you entertained enough to watch. However this movie does lack with a lot of adult humor, but it is still somewhat enjoyable to watch.
March 25, 2017
The trailer was made to look like an horror movie but it really is an horror comedy. It takes off slowly mostly because of uneven performances from experienced actors playing disappointing stock characters. When the action and the special effects kick in, it eventually gets interesting, yet insufficiently
½ March 22, 2017
It was okay, you only see the alligator like three times during the whole movie. I'm gonna watch the second movie to see how it is!
September 15, 2016
Not bad enough to be good, but bad enough to be boring.
August 14, 2016
Take a turn for the better once Betty White shows up and steals the show. Apart from that this is your standard creature feature fair...far from the worst thing you could watch drunk on a Saturday night.
July 31, 2016
This is a wonderful, clever, funny spoof a teen monster-in-the-water movie. It has great dialog, stellar actors, good photography and a 30-foot crocodile. What's missing that disappointed so many viewers? No skinny-dipping. In fact, no sexual content at all. Well, this isn't a movie for shallow teens trying to get laid on a Friday night.

The jewel in the crown is Betty White in one of the funniest performances of her career. Highly recommended--but only if you are deeper than a rain puddle.
½ July 5, 2016
Jaws + Reptile = 10/10
Page 1 of 154