Love Actually - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Love Actually Reviews

Page 1 of 17467
January 14, 2017
Don't tell anyone I liked this rom-com!
January 12, 2017
There was surprisingly large amount of rude and unfunny body shaming humor. Way too many characters. There wasn't enough of the characters and stories I cared about like Keira Knightly and her husband's best friend, Emma Thompson and her husband, and Hugh Grant and his new assistant. If you took out Colin Firth's character, his entire plot line as well, the guy who went to America, and perhaps the nudity stunt doubles, it would be a much better film.
January 9, 2017
Don't remember if i saw it. must not be memorable!
½ January 8, 2017
"Love Actually" is not a Fabulous movie, but for me, this film made me think about different things. Yes, a lot of people can say that it is stupid and vanilla movie where everything is too unrealistic. But you can try to look on the other side to this movie. There are many wonderful moments, such as the narration in off in the beginning of the movie, or this scene when Mark declares his secret love for Juliet (really weepie) and others. I really enjoyed the relationship between son and father. Daniel and Sam - Ohhhhhhh, It`s so sentimental part of the film for me. I always cry at such moments, maybe because I have no father :(
Also, this scene when Harry bought a gift another woman. It`s disgusting. And he knew that this decision will have dire consequences. He could lose his beautiful family.....
What I really did not like? Porn actors - if I remember their names were John and Judy. It was utter rubbish. Bill Nighy - at first I even took him for a real rock star.
But special attention, I want to draw to Mia. She had not a lead role. But I liked her. You ask me why? She is like «fallen woman». But I will say that there is no. Mia lonely, young and beautiful girl. And yes - she is cunning cutie (oh oh). Don`t judge a book by its cover. I saw it just the girl who was looking for her love, and in fact she was unhappy.
Put it in a nutshell, I want to say there are different situations in this movie, some of them dramatic, others funny, sometimes touching but never corny. Moreover, It made me laugh, it made me cry, hug everyone, tell everyone how much I loved them!!! The film is really kind and nice, and I would advise you to watch it. My vote is nine. Xo xo
January 8, 2017
After watching this film, I can definitely say that I've seen loads of movies I don't remember now, but this one I will for good. Many characters, stories, twists, the atmosphere of Christmas and one unexpected cameo made this film brilliant to watch for everyone. Having been drawn to the story of this movie before, I have many opportunities to say now what I think of it.
First of all, I was on the edge of my seat when I found out that the film was divided into small stories related to each other. Discussing about all scenes and amazing couples of characters will take much time so I'll speak about my favorites. It's not a secret that the best couple in the movie for me is Juliet (Keira Knightley) and Mark (Andrew Lincol). Actually, Juliet is quite happy-go-lucky, but at the same time, she is down-to-earth and shrewd, because she first understood that Mark had fallen in love with her. But being so shy, Mark couldn't open his heart and confess his feelings.
Also I have a strange feeling about that couple John and Judy (Martin Freeman and Joanna Page) who was shooting in a so-called "romcom in a bed" almost during the whole film. Their actions were so unconvincing, wooden, feeble and unbelievable that they looked ridiculous. Although, I'm glad they were together.
Secondly, Harry (Alan Rickman) and Caren's (Emma Thompson) story sent chills down my spine because this is so vital and urgent nowadays and it showed how relationships can change after a long period of living together. Karen was so realistic, suspenseful and convincing that I could hardly control my feelings. Anyway, she was a strong woman and made everything to save her family, and Harry finally understood what value he was losing when trying to cheat on his wife.
Thirdly, I can't express how much I like and appreciate such an actor as Rowan Atkinson. It was interesting to find out that he played a role in the film as a cameo. Thanks to him the film was decorated with the unforgettable atmosphere of that old British humor, which can be seen in the films starring Rowan Atkinson.
To sum up everything I've said, without a doubt this film is worth watching and deserves good reviews. Despite the fact that this movie is quite slow-paced, simplistic, filled with clichés and predictable, it's so realistic, original, well-developed and versatile that I did like it. Nevertheless, we need to thank all the acclaimed and unsurpassed cast and its perfect work, all the lead and supporting actors. Also that was fantastic to listen all the soundtracks and songs during the whole film that made me enjoy the atmosphere of Christmas.
I advise everyone to see this movie at least once, you will not regret about it! And I wish you a merry Xmas and a happy New Year!
January 4, 2017
Entertaining enough. Being a rom-com, women would generally love it. The porno movie making scenes were a bit titillating, but were arguably pushing the envelope for this genre, Overall pretty smart and entertaining. Rom-Com fans would likely rate it higher.
January 4, 2017
Exceptional feel good Christmas movie. All star cast makes you laugh and remember how great life really is. Filled with joy, sadness, disappointment and love as the universal denominator, it reminds us how friends and family center our everyday existence. ??????????????
January 1, 2017
Not really sure what all the fuss is around this film. Story is quite hard to follow and it's not really that gripping or exciting.
December 29, 2016
It sets out to do exactly what it's meant to do with the feel good charm, despite its occasional corniness.
December 28, 2016
The concept might have seemed like a good idea on paper but the final product is enraging in a number of ways. The key issue is the many characters: The few who are engaging and believable just aren't given enough time for their stories to have any impact which leaves the movie weightless.
December 28, 2016
To begin with, I'm a person addicted to romantic films and different types of love stories. I watched numerous melodramas that`s why I can compare easily. So I really expected a lot from this movie. As they say , don't judge a book by its cover. To tell the truth, I don't even want to talk much about it as it isn't worth watching. You'll simply waste your precious time. I`m not a journalist to make up long essays and reviews from nowhere so I`ll be brief.
Well, the plot is unbelievably simple and common. Sometimes the stories are utter rubbish and on the verge of absurd. For example, relationships between David and Natalie , as no distinguished Prime Minister will marry a woman from the lower class.
There are several well-known and great actors like Liam Neeson and Keira Knightley but nevertheless, their play is unconvincing and mediocre.
After watching the movie, I was terribly frustrated because I could've watch smth else.
If I were you, I would think of it well whether watch the movie or not.
December 27, 2016
" Love actually" ?? Nice film that I will recommend to my friends who have not already seen it... In general, I'd like to say that I find this movie realistic enough. Somebody can think that the film is exciting just because the plot is well-developed, but I consider that such a " love net" can exist in life. As for me, I was sitting on the edge of my seat. You know that the stories were so different and I tried to follow each of them and I had different guesses concerning the ending. I can certainly tell you that the most fabulous stories for me were the stories of Jamie and Aurelia; Mark and Juliet. The most sensational story was Daniel and Sam' s one. The scene when Sam was in the airport trying to say " goodbye" to his love girl was really nail-biting. I worried if he could do it. The weepy moment for me was when Mark came to Julia with Christmas cards. I wished they had been together! ?? Colin' s story was feeble. I can' t say it was atrocious but it was completely extra. Harry is a wooden hero for me. He didn' t feel his wife at all. He was mediocre. An aged man wanted his secretary Mia, while having a perfect family... Finally, if I were I a judge in a film Academy, I would say that " the Oscar for " Best picture" goes to... Mark and Juliet! " ????????????????
I hope everybody would enjoy this film as I did!!!!??
½ December 27, 2016
Love actually was a good film with some touching stories but it suffers from being overcrowded. I think it would have been better if they removed a few of the lesser characters and put more effort into the main story lines. However some of it is touching and it is a fun festive film that can be watched time and time again. There is a great cast that all deliver great performances and the soundtrack is suiting so it's pretty easy going.
½ December 26, 2016
You want to hate it for it's use of clichés and multiple story lines that intersect one another, but the genuine charm of the characters makes it an enjoyable holiday tale.
December 26, 2016
Great British movie for Christmas
December 26, 2016
"Love actually" is an amazing biopic film, based on on love stories of the film characters. Also it has some features of a romcom film. I like it, cause it has a very realistic, light and simplistic plot, closed to a real life. These stories, placed in the film, are very funny and romantic. They creat Christmas mood and provoke sense of happiness.
What aboutcharacters of the film - they are all quite different. I suppose that there are no minor characters, perhaps only Billy, who connects somehow all the characters and creat a Christmas mood throughout the film. If to speak more precisely, let's take one couple. For example David and Natalie. The first problem in their relation is that David takes a high position-he is a prime minister, whereas Natalie is just a secretary from a common family. But David likes Natalie's impulsive and spontaneous character. It's very funny to watch for them, how they try to communicate to each other, contrary to the laws of society.
To sum up, I can just say that's a cute film. There are no special effects but the plot and the couples' stories are great. Also the soundtracks to the film, Christmas songs that you can't help not to sing along.
December 25, 2016
Love is all around and Christmas is the time to let it into your life. The movie celebrates love between people of all walks of life. The cinematography is poor, shot on 35mm film. The movie is also a bit long at 135 min or at least seems that way, but a great movie for Christmas night. You should watch it at least once. It was on many favorite Christmas movie lists this year.
December 25, 2016
This is a good movie filled with humor and Xmas miracles. It's always a pleasure to see favourite actors on one stage: A. Rickman, L. Neeson, H. Grant...
Big figures like them have made a great job, creating their characters. Neeson appeared to be a good father (unlike "Taken"), Grant was perfect being minister.
This is the only romantic comedy, that have ever made me laugh (for the record - I don't like movies like this). It also brought me some Xmas spirit, which worth 5 stars already+ good soundtrack, which is not my favourite (don't like pop), but I have to admit, that they know, in which moment to use it. These components made me feel better. And, of course, Christmasy. But, I have to take one star away because of a storyline about Colin (C. Marshall), and it's too naive.
All in all, it's gonna be in my NY Movie list. If you haven't see "Love actually" - please do. You won't regret it)
December 24, 2016
Undoubtedly, everything has its pros and cons but as for me, «Love Actually» is a fantastic romantic comedy. This is a film that you should see if you feel a bit gloomy and need something to cheer you up. It contains about a dozen couples who are in love; that's an approximate figure because some of them fall out of love and others change their partners. This is a beautiful film which will make you smile and wipe your tears away in no time, I mean it))) This film includes some brilliant moments, such as the little boy who's in love and the single English guy who makes up his mind to find love in America. And he is absolutely sure that his British accent will drive girls mad)))

To tell the truth, «Love Actually» it made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me smile. It's adorable when it needs to be and also creates some drama when it's important. I really liked «Love Actually», there were hillarious characters and they weaved them all in together perfectly. I think the music is the true soul of this movie. Especially the song «Too lost in you» by Sugababes. Cheers for this music band!

I would like to distinguish three story lines of the film which have won my heart.
The first story line is the relationship between Jamie (Colin Firth) and Aurelia (Lucia Moniz). The play with the language barrier is quite clever. Firth is all sincerity and gentleness here. Moniz's exquisite charm is quite irresistible. Together, they make the most wonderful couple.
The second one is relationship between Daniel (Liam Neeson) and Sam (Thomas Sangster). I suppose that it is of great value to watch growing mutual love they share with each other. The boy is so cute at his age, however he has very mutual inner world and soul!!!
The third best story moment when was the press conference given (standing side by side) by the American President and the British Prime Minister. The moment when Hugh Grant (as the Prime Minister) finally tells the American president to his face that Britain will no longer grovel before American wishes but will have an independent view of its own - great!!!

Nevertheless, I am really shocked at all the bad reviews I have read regarding this film. I suppose that this movie is cool. I guess, maybe you need to be in the right mood for it?

To sum up, this is a movie about taking big chances, about making big gestures to show our love, and about the bigges feelings that might make us crazy and miserable but remind us that we are alive and why we are alive. In conclusion, any movie that manages to include a child dressed as a Nativity lobster, love-emergency lessons in both drums and Portuguese, and Hugh Grant dancing through the halls of 10 Downing Street to the Pointer Sisters is worth seeing at least twice.
December 24, 2016
This movie cheats. Rather than following the plot of one serious/comedic love affair, It does 10. But each story is not left in the dust by the others. In fact, each story is appropriately long (20ish minutes for each story). Even better, the stories collide together frequently in humorous but meaningful ways - the richest and the poorest all have chances and challenges with love. From your pre-teen years to your late 60s, "Love Actually" feels relateable for the whole audience. Overall, a very nifty feel-good film. (Watch out: lots of nudity)
Page 1 of 17467