Love Actually - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Love Actually Reviews

Page 1 of 17468
½ July 29, 2017
Forgettable. Dopey. Many unlikable characters. Waste of a lot of big name talent. Vapid view of love, actually.
July 18, 2017
Surprisingly good movie. I went into this with negative expectations wanting to hate it, but it turned out to be a funny, charming, sweet movie with plenty of fun characters to watch (albeit sometimes struggling storylines to follow) and outstanding performances from its talented ensemble cast.
½ July 10, 2017
I may be a bit of a sappy person, because even though it has some of the romance movie cliches, I can't say I didn't enjoy it.
½ July 3, 2017
Not a huge fan, saw myself disinterested at many points.
Antonius Block
Super Reviewer
½ June 20, 2017
What a charming movie this is. It's not perfect or anything, and probably gets a little too syrupy towards the end, but it's romantic, funny, and the star-studded cast is outstanding. Weaving through so many story lines could have left the viewer confused and unsatisfied with any of them, but director Richard Curtis pulls the right strings and keeps us entertained from beginning to end. There are just so many wonderful scenes and lines. Andrew Lincoln's card scene with Keira Knightley. Colin Firth watching Lúcia Moniz walk out of his life, and then later both of them learning each other's language. Thomas Sangster, the little boy, talking to Liam Neeson about the "total agony of being in love". Hugh Grant the Prime Minister going door to door to find the sweet and sometimes foul-mouthed Martine McCutcheon. And on and on.

The movie is filled with all those little moments we can identify with - secret longings, flirtation, and first kisses - but also those that are bittersweet, and those that disappoint us. The overall theme of the movie, that "love actually is all around", even though we often focus on the incidents of hate in the world, is inspiring. The shots in London are gorgeous, and the comic relief provided by the aging rocker Bill Nighy is funny. It is a feel-good movie and bound to be criticized, but it's ok to feel good once in awhile :), and this is certainly one of the better done romantic comedies.
June 19, 2017
I've been pressed into believing I should watch this movie.
April 25, 2017
Has all the markings of a movie I should like. But I don't.
½ April 19, 2017
The unnecessary nudity detracted from the beauty of the movie and made it feel cheap while the introduced love plot there was uninteresting, but there were many sweet and interesting stories of diverse kinds of love that made it still a worthwhile film to enjoy should those sections be removed.
April 18, 2017
WAY too crude to the point of being weird. Given the cast, I expected better - MUCH better!
½ April 16, 2017
Ever felt like softcore porn was too hardcore? I understand. Luckily, there's Love Actually. You get to climax when a pair of characters with palpable sexual tension finally kiss. If you don't cum the first time, you get to try again, around six more times. The acting is far better than any softcore porn I have seen, and sometimes, even the comedy is classically great (with additional help from Bill Nighy and Rowan Atkinson). The dozen romance stories -- I don't think I am exaggerating -- are a mixed bag.

Highlights:
-Liam Neeson, recent widower, encourages his son to go after the girl of his dreams, as a way of moving forward from recent devastation.
-Martin Freeman and Joanna Page, two stunt people who model for sex scenes, manage to hit it off really well, and eventually go out.
-Bill Nighy records a god-awful Christmas single, and mocks his manager Gregor Fischer all the way towards success. Then Nighy comes to terms that, past the generic sentiments in the song, he feels genuine adoration for Fischer.

Medium-lights:
-Abdul Salis has no hope for any woman ever being interested in his friend Kris Marshall, who immediately flirts with any woman he sets eyes on. Then Marshall goes to America for a month, proving to Salis that an accent is all he needs to be a sexual stud. And somehow, more than a one-night stand. Maybe some anxiety helps?
-Laura Linney crushes on Rodrigo Santoro for a long while, and even gets to bed with him. Soon, all is ruined by Linney's mentally ill brother (all, referring to a single night of sex), and Linney and Santoro return to nothing. Sensual.
-Alan Rickman and Emma Thompson are happily married, yet Rickman cannot help but fall under some degree of lust to his secretary Heike Makatsch. Honestly, the relationship between Rickman and Thompson was written and performed so well that I had nearly neglected the fact that Makatsch's character was never developed so far as she has a crush on the boss, and is generally sexual.

Low-lights: (You can tell I like talking about what I don't like)
-Neither of the two black characters get a victorious hookup. One of them was Abdul Salis. The other is Chiwetel Ejiofor, married to Keira Knightley. Happily, I presume. Anyway, Andrew Lincoln makes everything awkward, and no one knows what the hell is going on with the marriage, friendship, etc.
-Colin Firth was in love! And shit fell apart, so he recluses with some Portuguese maid by the name of Lucia Moniz. Language breaks all borders, magically, and they fall in love without knowing a lick of the other person's tongue.
-The worst is the most central. (Keyword: most. Do you not see how many stories I have described?) Prime minister Hugh Grant falls in flimsy crush with secretary Martine McCutcheon, but feels awkward when POTUS tries to make a move. What in the fuck have I just written? Love Actually doesn't generally lack self-awareness. It's worse. They lack self-awareness where they most need it. Never mind how marginally the film depicts the day in the life of a bloody prime minister.

I reached for laughs. There were few moments that fully delighted me, but more that had charmed me in the context of wanting to care. Two word review: "Apathy Actually."
March 31, 2017
one of the only chick flicks i dont mind
½ March 30, 2017
A typical melodrama, but a fine one at that.
½ March 20, 2017
Must see this, if only because of Colin Firth.
March 20, 2017
THIS IS THE WORST FILM EVER MADE
March 14, 2017
Love all the characters except Mia the office tart....what a cow....
March 8, 2017
Love...actually is all around. Cute story about power of love and finding it in unlikely places.
February 27, 2017
It's impossible to not like this movie. The cast is stellar, and even though the storylines begin to get confusing after a while (because there are so many of them), the payoff is ultimately enjoyable. "Love Actually" has actually become a permanent part of our Christmas rotation, and it is actually good for date night viewing during the year.
½ February 7, 2017
I love this film. I think it's amazing. I can see why people think there is to much going on but I really like how they do that. So good
February 1, 2017
Not actually. There are too many characters and unrelated plot lines that lose your interest. It doesn't really have the charm it thinks it does, and is not really a Christmas movie. (First and only viewing - 1/30/2017)
February 1, 2017
It's good movie to watch
Page 1 of 17468