Martyrs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Martyrs Reviews

Page 1 of 110
April 21, 2017
I Only Watch Movies On DVD And At The Movie Theaters That Are Only Rated G, PG, PG-13 And R, Not Not Rated, Unrated, NC-17 And X.
April 8, 2017
Instantly one of my favorite movies of all time.
April 7, 2017
Way too overhyped for what it is ... which is alright and nothing more.
½ April 1, 2017
Young people from immigrant and diversity backgrounds are tortured by whites. But it does not matter because there is a scientific reason ... and the film escapes the ban ... If with this we are not convinced that France is a country of racists just look at this or Lepen ...
½ March 10, 2017
A very disturbing movie. Not for the weak stomached.

Excellently acted, great suspense, quality dialogue & somewhat unpredictable in parts.

It will likely leave you with a bad taste in your mouth after watching what they go through.

[7/10]
½ March 2, 2017
Brutal to the core, two girls, one blood. Killing the ghost of the past, stumbling into a more sublime horror than every before. Avoiding the stardard schemes, making it somehow its own. Regardless far down on the french extreme cinema list.
January 25, 2017
Maybe there was some promise in the story at some point, but the film relies far too heavily on the torture aspect, which comes off as lazy writing to me. 2 stars.
January 16, 2017
the rare case of an awesome movie that Ill never watch again!
Im still shocked.... movies that gets into yourself the way this one does, just a few.
January 6, 2017
Martyrs is amazing. I've never seen another movie quite like it. I waited a very long time to see this, and I was not disappointed. If you don't have a weak constitution, see this immediately.
Super Reviewer
December 19, 2016
This extremely disturbing and almost unwatchable exercise in extreme sadism is always gripping, given how it follows unpredictable directions at every moment until it reaches a surprising final act that demands too much from the audience for being so nihilistic and profoundly sickening.
December 6, 2016
Not for the faint of heart. Still trying to decide if this was pretentious drivel or mind-bending masterpiece. Enter at your own risk.
½ November 20, 2016
Starts off well, then just becomes crap when the big twist happens. The twist doesn't make sense, it's not profound and it completely destroys the movie. The issue is that it's the sort of philosophical revelation you'd come to expect from a pot head trying to do a gore horror picture. "I mean we can't have it just be nearly 100 minutes of women getting beaten up, we need a reason for them to do it. How about we do something about seeing god in pain, like killing someone without killing them, you know that kind of deepness."
November 14, 2016
25%
Saw this on 13/11/16
Martyrs was really good for its first hour, but after that it went on to storylines that are purely torture porn that adds to no sense. One would be reminded of David Crorenberg films that are all senseless style and no substance. Martyrs had lots of potential, but then it lost it all for nothing.
½ October 17, 2016
Don't eat before watching this movie.
October 11, 2016
It's Vile, harsh, and depraved on many levels. But it doesn't change the reality of it being a quality film. Behind all of the mayhem is a real soul and at least you feel alive after watching the entire thing. The same can't be stated in regards to Torture porn just for the sake of torture porn.
October 3, 2016
Rotten Tomatoes you are incorrect in your plot description. The once missing little girl is Lucie, not Anna. And you misspelled torture in your paragraph in the R rating section.
½ October 2, 2016
Decent budget thriller/horror.
September 26, 2016
a survivor of child abuse takes her revenge but unleashes a new hell
½ September 24, 2016
The first half of the film is very well done, brutal and very effective. Sadly, from there the film goes downhill and completely loses direction. The film would have been much more interesting had it simply ended before the final act.
½ July 23, 2016
Maybe it isnt perfect, but at least its not boring LIKE FUCKING GHOST BUGGERS! FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No apreciation for art at all!!!!!!! take the revel rod out yer asses rutten turnips!!!!! JESUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Page 1 of 110