Martyrs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Martyrs Reviews

Page 1 of 109
December 6, 2016
Not for the faint of heart. Still trying to decide if this was pretentious drivel or mind-bending masterpiece. Enter at your own risk.
½ November 20, 2016
Starts off well, then just becomes crap when the big twist happens. The twist doesn't make sense, it's not profound and it completely destroys the movie. The issue is that it's the sort of philosophical revelation you'd come to expect from a pot head trying to do a gore horror picture. "I mean we can't have it just be nearly 100 minutes of women getting beaten up, we need a reason for them to do it. How about we do something about seeing god in pain, like killing someone without killing them, you know that kind of deepness."
November 14, 2016
25%
Saw this on 13/11/16
Martyrs was really good for its first hour, but after that it went on to storylines that are purely torture porn that adds to no sense. One would be reminded of David Crorenberg films that are all senseless style and no substance. Martyrs had lots of potential, but then it lost it all for nothing.
½ October 17, 2016
Don't eat before watching this movie.
October 11, 2016
It's Vile, harsh, and depraved on many levels. But it doesn't change the reality of it being a quality film. Behind all of the mayhem is a real soul and at least you feel alive after watching the entire thing. The same can't be stated in regards to Torture porn just for the sake of torture porn.
October 3, 2016
Rotten Tomatoes you are incorrect in your plot description. The once missing little girl is Lucie, not Anna. And you misspelled torture in your paragraph in the R rating section.
½ October 2, 2016
Decent budget thriller/horror.
September 26, 2016
a survivor of child abuse takes her revenge but unleashes a new hell
½ September 24, 2016
The first half of the film is very well done, brutal and very effective. Sadly, from there the film goes downhill and completely loses direction. The film would have been much more interesting had it simply ended before the final act.
½ July 23, 2016
Maybe it isnt perfect, but at least its not boring LIKE FUCKING GHOST BUGGERS! FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No apreciation for art at all!!!!!!! take the revel rod out yer asses rutten turnips!!!!! JESUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
July 19, 2016
The effects may be decent but at the end of the day it's just a pretentious, torture porn fuck fest with no interesting characters and a plot that completely dies after the first 45 minutes. it's not the worst horror movie of it's kind but it is one with the biggest ego
Super Reviewer
July 19, 2016
This extremely disturbing, almost unwatchable exercise in extreme sadism is always gripping, given how it follows unpredictable directions at every moment until it reaches a surprising final act that demands too much from the audience for being so nihilistic and profoundly sickening.
July 9, 2016
Just plain disturbing, brutal, and very hard to watch.
June 17, 2016
do your self a favor do not watch this movie!
½ June 10, 2016
This was the most creepiest, gruesomes film since Frontiers. It had great performance, it was intense, and the ending was the most horrific thing I've seen. It wasn't scary, but it was very graphic on how people can be, so evil. It delievered what It was going for.
May 29, 2016
It wasnt scary but man was it good...a must watch for any horror fan but just keep in mind that it is not for everyone so do not watch if you're younger than 18 also probably the most violent horror movie that i have seen..
May 17, 2016
This was my second time watching Martyrs. The first time around I wasn't particularly moved, however with the remake having recently surfaced I figured it was worth revisiting the original. Martyrs is brutal but the violence isn't cartoonish as it is in films like Human Centipede and A Serbian Film. It is grounded in a very real setting, ultimately making this a gruelling experience but one with sufficient depth make it stay in the mind after the credits have rolled. For the right reasons too. It is a revenge story told primarily from the perspective of a survivor of severe childhood trauma, however the tone flips about midway through and takes some surprising turns. It all culminates with one of the most memorable final acts in modern horror.
½ May 1, 2016
Hope it doesn't take too long for the images from this movie to get out of my head!
½ April 26, 2016
Not a movie one wants to watch more than once. That being said, Martyrs is one of the best horror films ever made.
April 7, 2016
A brutal realistic story about enlightenment. Yet another film that makes me distrust critics.
Page 1 of 109