Martyrs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Martyrs Reviews

Page 1 of 110
½ July 19, 2017
Disturbing and brutal, yet oddly compelling. Unlike other torture porn films like The Human Centipede and a Serbian Film, the violence actually serves a purpose and has a certain level of subtext within the film's narrative. Torture porn done right is the best way to describe this movie. It's a movie that's so hard to watch, yet will keep you fixed to the screen.
½ July 1, 2017
A very disturbing and wild ride. This movie is not only gory and hard to watch, it has a pretty good story. Not for the faint of heart. I was very impressed with it. It had me thinking about it for hours, even days after watching it. I recommend it to those who think they can handle it.
June 25, 2017
Hard to watch, yes, but effective.
½ May 31, 2017
disturbing, raw, with a good plot, this is the kind of movie that let you thinking about "what are the human being limits?", the sadism in this movie make you feel very awkward, but still a very good movie
½ May 31, 2017
The acting delivered me to an intense and charismatic yet horrifying movie...
May 30, 2017
As far as plot goes I can't say much without giving anything away, so I'll keep it simple. Lucie (Mylene Jampanoi) escapes from a warehouse where she had been tortured for quite some time. She is taken to a hospital where she meets Anna (Morjana Alaoui). The two almost immediately become friends. 15 years later, the now seriously unhinged Lucie sets out on a quest for revenge which will have horrifying consequences for both girls. This is a French torture-porn film (It's not as much about revenge as you would think). It's also so much more than that. It may be the most relentless, IN-YOUR-FACE, graphic, unpleasant, visceral, non-stop, bloody, brutal, emotionally affecting, and profoundly disturbing horror film I have ever seen. What it sets out to do, it does extremely well, not to mention it throws in some twists too (which was appreciated), and it actually has meaning. Martyrs is an unforgettable film, you won't be able to un-see what is seen here. It's certainly not for everyone, and it is definitely an incredibly challenging, difficult watch. Personally, I wasn't crazy about it as it really wasn't made for me, though I can respect that it doesn't hold back. This is the kind of film Eli Roth wishes he could make. This is torture porn done right.

If you are at all interested in Martyrs, stay FAR AWAY from the American remake trailer, as it gives just about everything important about the original away.
May 26, 2017
Great film, really disturbing
½ May 7, 2017
The French horror genre is unparalleled and this film is at the top of the list. Watch it with someone because if you make through the brutality to the very end you will want to discuss it philosophically.
April 21, 2017
I Only Watch Movies On DVD And At The Movie Theaters That Are Only Rated G, PG, PG-13 And R, Not Not Rated, Unrated, NC-17 And X.
April 8, 2017
Instantly one of my favorite movies of all time.
April 7, 2017
Way too overhyped for what it is ... which is alright and nothing more.
½ April 1, 2017
Young people from immigrant and diversity backgrounds are tortured by whites. But it does not matter because there is a scientific reason ... and the film escapes the ban ... If with this we are not convinced that France is a country of racists just look at this or Lepen ...
½ March 10, 2017
A very disturbing movie. Not for the weak stomached.

Excellently acted, great suspense, quality dialogue & somewhat unpredictable in parts.

It will likely leave you with a bad taste in your mouth after watching what they go through.

[7/10]
½ March 2, 2017
Brutal to the core, two girls, one blood. Killing the ghost of the past, stumbling into a more sublime horror than every before. Avoiding the stardard schemes, making it somehow its own. Regardless far down on the french extreme cinema list.
January 25, 2017
Maybe there was some promise in the story at some point, but the film relies far too heavily on the torture aspect, which comes off as lazy writing to me. 2 stars.
January 16, 2017
the rare case of an awesome movie that Ill never watch again!
Im still shocked.... movies that gets into yourself the way this one does, just a few.
January 6, 2017
Martyrs is amazing. I've never seen another movie quite like it. I waited a very long time to see this, and I was not disappointed. If you don't have a weak constitution, see this immediately.
Super Reviewer
December 19, 2016
This extremely disturbing and almost unwatchable exercise in extreme sadism is always gripping, given how it follows unpredictable directions at every moment until it reaches a surprising final act that demands too much from the audience for being so nihilistic and profoundly sickening.
December 6, 2016
Not for the faint of heart. Still trying to decide if this was pretentious drivel or mind-bending masterpiece. Enter at your own risk.
½ November 20, 2016
Starts off well, then just becomes crap when the big twist happens. The twist doesn't make sense, it's not profound and it completely destroys the movie. The issue is that it's the sort of philosophical revelation you'd come to expect from a pot head trying to do a gore horror picture. "I mean we can't have it just be nearly 100 minutes of women getting beaten up, we need a reason for them to do it. How about we do something about seeing god in pain, like killing someone without killing them, you know that kind of deepness."
Page 1 of 110