The Mexican - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Mexican Reviews

Page 1 of 120
March 29, 2017
Listen to the commentary; even the head-honchos say the chemistry between Julia Roberts and James Gandolfini is superb and he hopes they do another film together. As usual, Bob Balaban short but powerful presence is great. If not for the chemistry between Julia & James, I would not have finished viewing this film.
December 26, 2016
A clumsy criminal is put in a position where he not only has to save his own skin, but that of his girlfriend in this comedy with strong undercurrents of romance. Jerry Welbach (Brad Pitt) is a low-level Mafia "mechanic" whose ineptitude is countered by frequent (but unpredictable) bursts of dumb luck. Jerry's girlfriend Samantha (Julia Roberts) wants him to get out of the business, and after his latest blunder lands capo Arnold Margolese (Gene Hackman) in jail, so does mid-level crime kingpin Bernie Nayman (Bob Balaban). But Bernie insists that Jerry do one last errand for the mob before they let him find employment elsewhere -- he has to go to Mexico and recover a rare and very valuable pistol, which is said to be cursed. While Samantha objects to Jerry taking the assignment, he isn't in much of a position to argue; Jerry heads south of the border, while Samantha, in a huff, sets out for Las Vegas. Once in Mexico, Jerry finds the pistol easily enough, but making his way back to the States proves to be an unexpected challenge. Meanwhile, Jerry's superiors want insurance that he'll return with the goods, so they hire Leroy (James Gandolfini), a hitman, to kidnap Samantha and hold her hostage until Jerry comes back. However, Samantha and Leroy quickly strike up a friendship, and she soon learns the gunman has a sensitive side he doesn't show to the world -- along with a few other secrets.
½ December 23, 2016
Despite the reviews, and it going on a bit, we really enjoy this. It was a real laugh!
October 1, 2016
Liked it ! Funny with Pittulia , SOMDVD
½ April 26, 2016
Funny, well-directed, could be too long and a bit confusing at some stage. Still good though.
½ November 22, 2015
with an awesome cast......i feel it was well done.
September 20, 2015
gr8 cast makes this one go
July 5, 2015
Bring your willingness to go along with his hilarious road movie and you will be rewarded. Brad Pitt demonstrates his range as the hapless, hopeless main character who bumbles his way through the underworld. James Gandolfini plays a stereotype busting hitman and Julai Roberts adds some fiery punch to the central love trist. Throw in magnificent mangy mutt cameo and you have a fun way to spend a Sunday night.
½ June 29, 2015
I'd give this thirty percent if I was stupid. As it stands it gets fifteen. Brad should have run like hell when asked to do this.
½ June 7, 2015
Very funny and quite original. Pitt, Roberts, and Gandolfini were all great.
May 29, 2015
That brad Pitt, he's something else! Nice characters.
½ May 18, 2015
Un divertido filme que entretiene y posee una buena química entre sus dos protagonistas, pero recae en el factor montaña rusa, es decir, te emocionas por momentos y en otros te aburres.
Pero lo admito, encontré momentos hilarantes en este filme.
Adecuada para verla un sábado por la mañana.
May 14, 2015
Pitt is funny enough here, but there really isn't much too it. The Mexican lacks any real story and feels a bit too disjointed to make sense.
½ May 9, 2015
The only reason to bother with watching this movie is James Gandolfini who is excellent playing a role well out of stereotype with his normal roles. But even that can't save this mess.
½ March 9, 2015
3/9/2015: An ok movie. An amazing cast and Pitt was funny.
January 29, 2015
OK, so you take a movie and cast two of the biggest stars in Hollywood..and then you barely put them in any scenes together! That pretty much sets the tone for this one. The quirky parts feel awkward and the action/suspenseful parts are just plain boring. James Gandolfini is awesome, but that's not enough to sit through this one.
½ January 28, 2015
Grade:Low 7/10

The Mexican is a film that although is never rated that highly, I felt
it was kind of good and was enjoyable even with it's flaws that cropped
up a lot. With an average acting performance and a basic script you'd
be right if you didn't have much expectation going into this, but just
give it a chance and it can fully enjoyed by all film fans. I
personally felt it was Pretty Good and here below is why I, but many
other didn't, felt that way.

The story is slow and then kind of fast and fluxuate's between both
varied pacing, the plot isn't all that exciting either but it makes for
very watchable film and just give it a chance and you may be
entertained by this. The film has about 50 scenes where you think it
will end but it never does, frustrating yes but I did feel the film was
worth watching, even after going through so many end parts to the
movie.

Brad Pitt is average in this and although he does nothing to harm the
film necessarily he doesn't really ever take a firm hold on the piece.
Julia Roberts and James Gandolfini work together well and although
Roberts as with Pitt isn't at her best, Gandolfini show's off his
talents with beautiful ease and although this film is unknown these
days, Gandolfini was just brilliant. I didn't care much for support
though which did harm the film with stale performances, luckily they
aren't seen as much as the main cast at all.

Gore Verbinski in the directing role does a job that is fairly good,
but is not his best and knowing what he can sometimes do, he fails with
this and the positives of the film are not down to him. I felt one part
of the film that I personally loved was the setting with some camera
shots being doubly beautiful due to location, one great example is
where Pitt is crossing a crossroads and looking each way, great camera
work with a great locality to match.

The film is too long and stretches too much to be considered a straight
good film, although it does a good job with the majority of the story,
it just falters towards the end and as I said with the multiple
possible endings it just can annoy you. The acting also as previously
mentioned is poor all round and sometimes it feels like a slight comedy
but just manages to avoid being funny as well. Not much more to say
negativity way but if you see for yourself, I am sure you may find more
bad things than I did.

It is hard to say who will like this, people who enjoy fun adventures
may enjoy this because it is quite fun, not a stable film by any
stretch of the imagination but excitable all the same. Pitt fans won't
like this too much as he doesn't get to well, act, and Roberts is the
same and seems they were put together as the stars but never see each
other in the story. Don't watch it if you don't want to watch a long
film with little new to offer, but watch it in a good mood and it is
enjoyable.

Overall a low 7/10, many many people give it lower but I really did feel it
was Firmly Kind of Good and as I have said all the way through this
review, the film is genuinely a fun one, with lots to offer too. Watch
it as I say in a good mood because once you overlook the more serious
parts of the film, the more light hearted parts become fun and can be
enjoyed, given you open your mind a bit and stop thinking about this
critically.
January 4, 2015
I saw it because my friend Dylan said his mom is in this movie.
November 19, 2014
Promises a road movie of blissful comic romance and delivers a series of dramatic dead ends.
Page 1 of 120