Not Quite Hollywood: The Wild, Untold Story of Ozploitation! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Not Quite Hollywood: The Wild, Untold Story of Ozploitation! Reviews

Page 1 of 19
August 3, 2016
Great documentary about some amazing films out of Australia. Great presentation. Amazing content.
April 18, 2016
A mediocre documentary about old B movies from Australia. It's certainly niche, and was fun enough, but it wasn't particularly educational in anything that I personally cared to learn about.
September 7, 2015
Interesting doc about the cause and effect of Ozzy exploitation films. At the absolute least it serves as an introductory list of some pretty crazy looking gems.
½ May 18, 2015
The Ozploitation explosion from the 1960's to the 1980's brought about some of the best underground filmmaking that cinema had to offer. Whether it be action-oriented, horror-themed, pornographic, or just downright gonzo, the underground Australian film community had it going on, pumping out gem after gem. Not Quite Hollywood takes a look at that timeframe, with gusto. It focuses on the filmmakers and not necessarily the effects of the films that they made, although they do touch on that just a bit. There are a great number of interviewees, including Brian Trenchard-Smith, Quentin Tarantino, George Miller, Jamie Lee Curtis, Stacy Keach, George Lazenby, Russell Mulcahy, James Wan, and many of the people (actors, directors, and film critics alike) involved in the Australian film industry at the time. It doesn't attempt to provide an argument about these films in either a positive or negative light. While the film critics that are interviewed give their brutally honest opinions, others might praise the films. In other words, it allows the films to speak for themselves. The film is a well-oiled machine with nothing taken for a granted. Because of the deliberate pace of the editing, you're constantly engaged at all times and there's hardly ever a shot that lasts more than five seconds. It's a terrific documentary overall.
½ May 9, 2015
A quick-hits love letter to "Ozploitation" films, the stampede of cruddy cut-rate B movies bred by the Australian cultural craze of the 70s and 80s. It's well-produced, with loads of shiny transitions and a few familiar faces on the couch (Quentin Tarantino, unsurprisingly, is an energetic fan) but it's all cut together with the short attention span you might expect from an episode of VH-1's I Love the 80s. A bunch of talking heads, mostly non-celebrities, gushing about their favorite cinematic turds like a kid on a sugar rush. At least they're passionate about the subject. That whirlwind of mid-sentence breaks left me feeling dizzied and weary, though, with its constant, breakneck topic shifts, and eventually drained the premise dry. The clips can be very funny, in a "how did that get filmed" sense, but it's easy to get the impression that we're really seeing the only worthwhile shreds of these bombs, and by the end it was all starting to feel a bit boring and redundant. Still, true to the era, there's plenty of footage to fill a solid fifteen-minute devotion to gratuitous nudity, so it does have that going for it.
½ January 30, 2015
A documentary about Australian exploitation film boom of the 70s. Hilarious and absolutely wild. I think pretty much everyone involved with every film, cast or crew, was interviews. Occasionally it becomes too much and moves too fast. First 20 minutes have more nudity than I've seen in years of films combined. The whole thing is a wild ride. RECOMMENDED.
January 16, 2015
A perfect excuse to weave together quick snippets of craziness. Hilarious and beautifully bizarre.
April 10, 2014
Amazing look at some batshit movies and characters that makes you want to see everything.
May 14, 2013
A hugely entertaining documentary about the little known Australian cinematic revolution! You'll want to take notes during this one because chances are you're going to want to see every flick that it features.
½ April 22, 2013
Interesting, but if you don't like Quinton Tarrintino's movies, or Mad Max. You probably should skip it.
Super Reviewer
February 14, 2013
Not Quite Hollywood is a terrific documentary about the Ozploitation genre. The Australians didn't have a film industry, but in the late 60's to early 70's there was a boom in the Australian film industry, and a plateau of films made their way in Australian Drive In theatres. These movies were extreme in nudity and violence and would attract a fallowing. These films set the standards for something great, and in turn, the Aussies were able to carve their niche in the filmmaking world. This is a must see documentary for film fans everywhere and it features great interviews with Australian film makers, fans of the genre like Quentin Tarantino and James Wan and actors Jamie Lee Curtis , Stacey Keach and Dennis Hopper. This film is insightful and tells a terrific story of this truly unique film industry that is more insane than the American film industry. I've seen some truly great documentaries, but Not Quite Hollywood is really one of the best documentaries I've seen in quite some time. The film goes through the various genres from the first few low budget schlock flicks that relied on nudity and crude content to more stylized picture that had better storylines, intense stunts and above better acting. The filmmakers being interviewed discuss how the Aussies influenced their work and how they enjoyed these thrilling, obscured films. Tarantino is prominent here, and I personally feel he's one of the best directors working today and I also feel he's a highly knowledgeable film expert. Now I really loved this film and I highly recommend this film to every cinema fan. This is insightful and you will be very happy that you saw this. From start to finish this film is pretty insane as you hear the stories from the Aussie filmmakers discussing their body of work. A documentary definitely worth seeing and is highly engaging from start to finish.
February 6, 2013
While it was interesting to see the development of Aussie exploitation films not being a massive fan of this genre the fascination soon wore off.
January 6, 2013
This is a brilliant documentary about the renaissance of Australian Exploitation cinema during the 70s and 80s. The film features countless clips from obscure and cult films and is particularly hilarious. Interviews mainly featured are of Australian directors, actors and producers of Ozploitation films, but Quentin Tarantino also features as he is a fan (or fanatic) of exploitation cinema and his passion speaks to his love of Australian exploitation cinema in particular. This documentary captures a sense of the joy, absurdity and gratuity that is the genre flick. Although the film tends to drag a little at the end, becoming more a focus on clip after clip from more films, and less about a cinematic subculture. However there are really interesting clips and interviews about the aspects of not only the film genres themselves, but the affect and counter affect of Ozploitation and Australian culture or the "Australian Identity" during the 70s and 80s. Above all this film is hilarious and a treat for fans of exploitation cinema.
December 22, 2012

Hilarious and a great guide for hunting down all this Australian madness on DVD/VHS.
½ November 3, 2012
With awesome opening credits and animated transition segments, this movie sheds light on the little known Australian exploitation film scene of the '70s and '80s with plenty of entertaining clips from rare movies.
August 28, 2012
Mostly Just a Chronology

It seems to me that a lot of the problem with Australian film--both the Ozploitation described here and the art house Australian film I've reviewed elsewhere--is that it's trying to catch up to American film instead of finding its own way. As I write this, I'm watching the deleted scenes, which are more detailed explanations of some of the films profiled in this documentary, and Graham said, "So, this is what they could have used instead of Quentin Tarantino?" Because while there probably isn't actually fifteen minutes of Quentin Tarantino talking during this movie, it certainly feels as though there is. It's also true that Jamie Lee Curtis, when talking about her experiences making one of the films profiled, says she was asked, "What does it feel like to take jobs away from Australian actors?" It feels as though Australian film felt it needed Jamie Lee Curtis and Quentin Tarantino and what have you to give it legitimacy.

This is not an overview of Australian film. While things like [i]Walkabout[/i] and [i]Picnic at Hanging Rock[/i] get mentioned, mostly what this is concerned with is the kind of thing Corman was making in the US, the kind of grindhouse, drive-in stuff that has influenced Tarantino so. This are movies where naked breasts are shown, where kangaroos are killed for no good reason, where hordes of BMX-riding teenagers, with or without Nicole Kidman, roam the streets. Perhaps the pinnacle of this variety of film, at least as American audiences recognize it, is [i]Mad Max[/i], though the documentary doesn't spend much time on it. There was a time when American actors were imported to create a wider audience, but these were the kinds of American films, too, which were never much shown except at drive-ins and so forth. The whole genre kind of faded with the advent of home video, because there were no more double features and few drive-ins left.

There is a place for examining even the stranger aspects of film's history. Just because these films weren't made with any kind of intellectual examination behind them doesn't mean they don't have any. In fact, I tend to believe that the pop culture of a civilization is almost as important as what it produces about itself deliberately. I think you can learn a great deal about a people by what they enjoy, and certainly someone was watching these movies. Some of them made quite a lot of money in Australia. The problem is that I don't think this documentary has any interest in examining the film in any real detail. The deleted scenes talk more about individual films, but it never seems to go into why any of this sold. And the answer to why certain things get made is, of course, that they sell, so if you don't define that, you can't define why they're made. Okay, the naked stuff doesn't much need an explanation, but what is it about Australia that sells a film with a lengthy kangaroo-hunting scene?

An assertion is made early in the movie that Australia had the strictest censorship of any country in the Western world, but it's only an assertion and I'm not sure I'm buying it. Certainly, it got overturned by the time most of these films were made, because there is a [i]lot[/i] of nudity in this documentary. Oh, it's true that essentially all the swearing in the documentary comes from Quentin Tarantino, but about half the films with clips shown in this movie would not be able to get an American theatrical release these days, because they aren't artistic enough for the art houses and the nudity and so forth would get them an NC-17. But for heaven's sake, they allowed partial nudity on television, whereas we in the US currently have people up in arms because we blur ours instead of using the old-fashioned black bars. I'm curious as to the evolution of Australian film liberation, but I don't think anyone involved in this documentary was, and I think that's to its detriment.

Of course, the film of the United States is probably the most successful film on the international market, so it's understandable that other countries would want to duplicate its successes. However, it would be nice if the film of a country could be seen in its own context. At most, perhaps they could have sought out Nicole Kidman, who is at least in some of these movies, and had her talk about the differences between the two countries. Instead, we get that Tarantino git blathering about how these movies were the greatest ones ever made. Which they weren't; even the people who made them acknowledge that many of them were quite bad. It is true that most movies in general are, but there is a place for bad movies. What would have been more honest is, "I saw what these movies, bad though they were, did right, and I wanted to duplicate that." And James Wan (actually Australian!) comes close to that. However, we don't need a claim that these movies were secretly Great Art, because they weren't and weren't pretending to be. Not everything is.
July 13, 2012
A bit long, but always entertaining. Too bad a lot of the films mentioned are out of print or are not available here!
May 30, 2012
A great look at movies of and from or about Australia. Exploitation all around. It's all pretty interesting and I have a few more movies on my to see list now.
½ April 29, 2012
Awesome doc on a genre I previously knew almost nothing about: Ozploitation. Features a host of interviews from all kinds of genre insiders and a certain uberfan (QT) as well as a whole shitload of awesome clips from a shitload of awesome looking movies. Opens ones eyes up to a deep reservoir of Australian B cinema.
Page 1 of 19