Rango - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rango Reviews

Page 1 of 488
December 8, 2016
While the story is a tad predictable and recycled, the good comedy, amazing animation and fun characters make this movie very enjoyable.
½ November 21, 2016
Love this beautiful animated movie.
½ November 15, 2016
There are some good bits, but it doesn't really hold together all that well.
October 3, 2016
An enjoyable movie for anybody with its clever dialogue, artistic style, homage to classic westerns, and the funny, likable title character.
½ September 19, 2016
Incredible animation and very quirky touches make this an eye-popping western with a difference. Anyone versed in the western genre is bound to get a kick out of this.
½ September 18, 2016
Pretty good animation where the main character carries the plot along nicely. Not much to work with in terms of supporting characters but it's an easy light hearted film. Nothing special but not too shabby.
September 12, 2016
With stunning photorealistic CGI, entertaining Western action and plenty of laughs, the Oscar-winning Rango is not only a fun and enjoyable film but it's also the best animated film from Nickelodeon Movies in years while also proving that Gore Verbinski has an unexpected knack for animated films.
September 11, 2016
Rango's allusions to the legendary figures and features of its predominant narrative genre lather its already thrilling entertainment with inspiring depth to produce a classic whole -- one that is among the most enjoyable films of 2011 and arguably the best non-Pixar computer-animated movie ever. It doesn't hurt that it's also one of the most gorgeously textured films in memory.
September 5, 2016
Many obvious references to Chinatown, Johnny Depp's vocal performance and the animation are on point, but this is pretty boring
August 29, 2016
I wasn't expecting Rango to be any good when I first saw the trailer a while back. It looked to me like your typically smug production line animated film that was soon to be forgotten in everyones minds. I was wrong. Rango is a terrifically clever film that will entertain both children and parents alike. The voice over performances are all around great. Johnny Depp shows great enthusiasm for the titular role and it also makes references to Johnny Depp's previous enigmatic dream like picture "Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas". For me that reference was a hilarious in-joke. Like Fear And Loathing Rango is visually creative, eye popping and surrealist and mysterious with just enough substance addressing environmental issues to balance itself out with the bright colours and animated environments. There were two sex references in it that may put some off, but I think this is slightly more of an adult film than a children's slapstick comedy.
August 3, 2016
I am going to be able to get a chance to watch the movie
½ July 24, 2016
Rango is a chameleon. Literally. He is wandering through the desert, having escaped the clutches of a hawk, when he stumbles into the town of Dirt. After massively exaggerating his skills as a gunfighter, challenging the town hoodlum to a duel and (accidentally) killing the town's greatest menace, a large hawk, he is made Sheriff of the town. It is then that he discovers that the town has a massive water shortage. After chasing down some outsiders who robbed the bank, it appears the reason for the shortage may be due to intentional interference, and may be close to home.

Good fun. Started pretty badly - plot was over the place and it appeared you needed to be high to enjoy it. However, from a point, around about the saloon scene, the movie finds focus and kicks up several notches. Ends having a decent plot (though a tad derivative of Chinatown), some good humour, great CGI and good action sequences.

Vocal casting is spot-on, with Johnny Depp to the fore as Rango. All-star supporting cast delivers in spades.
July 17, 2016
One of the most unique movies ever made.
July 14, 2016
This was the Best Animated Film ever! Rango deserves this good rating! i Mean the Animation was literally Good loooking and nice! i Loved Rango and Johnny Depp voicing him. I think Rango is a Funny action Number 1 Movie for everyone to watch! and it's Made by Nickelodeon which is more Awesome! Rango is the Best movie i ever seen so far in my life!
July 9, 2016
una pelicula divertida,con una animación espectacular de lo mejor que han hecho johnny depp y gore verbinski desde hace mucho tiempo.
½ July 8, 2016
Le scénario classique mais efficace du personnage principal qui devient subitement un héro auprès de son entourage. Ensuite vient le moment où ses amis découvrent qu'il n'est qu'un imposteur jusqu'à ce qu'il finisse par sauver le monde et devienne un vrai héro. Que dire de plus?
½ June 29, 2016
Rango is a great animated film. Rango is entertaining and hilarious. Johnny Depp does a great job portraying his role as Rango. I would very much suggest this movie.
June 27, 2016
Extremely weird with a strange plot
½ June 27, 2016
Rango
weird, yet felt so right
June 26, 2016
Johnny Depp and the rest of the cast easily manage to give its characters some personality and the film itself has a unique and polished visual style that few animated films have achieved. Its dark tone and humor may not be the most appropiate for children and its pace may seem slow at times, even so, Rango is a smart, entertaining and very well-animated effort from Nickelodeon Movies.
Page 1 of 488