Rock Dog - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rock Dog Reviews

Page 1 of 6
½ March 13, 2018
it's good for kids, but not for older viewers
March 9, 2018
March 5, 2018
I'm not sure why this is getting rough reviews. This is a great family movie, it had good laughs, the characters are likable, and the animation, while not cutting edge, is still enjoyable. Is this an Oscar, but if you are looking for a bit of escape that you can watch as a family, it's a decent movie. I'll take this over the super-hero building blocks movie any day. It's just really too bad Lions Gate decided to bypass Canada when releasing it. For those of us not in the United States or Mexico this was an incredibly difficult movie to try to go and see. Had this movie been released on a different weekend, where it wasn't fighting for screens with two other animated features (Lego and Ballerina) It likely would have done a lot better.... oh and maybe not bypassing theaters in Canada, France and whatever other countries they skipped, it may have had higher box office.
½ January 29, 2018
Another Cliche children's movie, predictable and forgettable, Rock dog doesn't bring anything new or interesting to the long line of children's movies that have come out this year
½ January 19, 2018
While most will forget this against similar films like 'Coco' and 'Sing', Rock Dog is no less an enjoyable experience. The tale of the Mastiff's quest to become a rockstar follows a simple yet easy to follow plot, with likeable characters, a design that fails in comparison to many bigger films but is still aesthetically pleasing, and solid voice acting. By no means a film of the year candidate, but still a cool and quirky title.
½ January 5, 2018
Unrealistic and stupid. Why can't animators make dogs look and act more like dogs?? Walk on all fours and be freaking realistic with actually struggles real dogs have! Geeze. Poor visuals/animation, not funny, predictable, just not good.
½ December 14, 2017
Rock Dog is a pretty boring movie, I was originally meant to watch this movie in the summer but I couldn't because I wasn't so interested in it, especially how the review put it out to be. When I watched this movie I wasn't expecting much other than it being a movie to keep your kids distracted for a couple of hours and that's what this movie pretty much is.
The movie has a boring story, boring characters, the actors don't sound like they're even trying, the music is forgettable, the animation is okay but not the best I've ever seen, and the jokes are not at all funny.
I wouldn't really recommend this movie to anyone, unless you're one of those parents or babysitters who want to distract kids for a couple of hours, than this should do the job, otherwise don't bother with this movie as it is pretty much a waste of time, but not the worst animated movie I've seen this year, oh no, there has been movies that are a lot worse than Rock Dog.
I give Rock Dog a 3 out of 10 nothing really special but it will distract a kids for a couple or hours.
½ November 24, 2017
I watched it ! It was very nice in my opinoun ..
November 22, 2017
Great movie.. I am not sure why the reviews are bad
October 28, 2017
Although the story is cliched to a T (considering the dead giveaway title), "Rock Dog" has pretty decent animation (giving the characters a unique cartoony look I haven't seen in some time), so-so acting & music, & at least tries to live up to what it wants to deliver. Call it a hit or miss, but I find "Rock Dog" quite entertaining... & I'm certain others might, too.
½ October 13, 2017
Rock Dog has potential to be a solid animated movie. And it does deliver great things like a good protagonist, a great original song, and some lighthearted moments. But it's weighed down by a convoluted narrative, useless side characters, and okay animation. Give it a watch if you just wanna kill time.
October 8, 2017
loved the movie it was funny and make people believe anything is posable
October 3, 2017
Severely underrated. Discovered this film while trying to find a family movie the kids hadn't seen for the 723rd time.
The voice cast is great, the story actually unwinds itself unexpectedly and entertainingly, and the whole thing is an unconventional gem evocative of the quirky Breaking Bad as far as originality and feel are concerned.

With so many films wholly predictable and so similar to each other you can't tell them apart, Rock Dog held my attention the whole time.
September 29, 2017
Nice little film with nothing of note ever really happening. It was fun enough but forgettable.
September 10, 2017
My son (7) and I really loved this movie and the music, almost didn't watch because of the rating but it was def worth it. Not sure what everyone is missing.
½ September 9, 2017
I thought it was quite good and inspirational. I liked the story line and even thought the music to it was pretty catchy.
September 4, 2017
I think this is a wonderful show for children to watch. My little cousins absolutely loved it! There are a few things I have a bit of a problem with though, the animation is wonderful but isn't all that great, Bodi's (the main character) friends Darma and Germur don't show up as much in the movie as I would have liked. Kind of like Moana with the pig, it seems to be in lots of the merchandise but is hardly shown in the movie. I wish they would have shown Bodi and his friends together more. Despite the few things I think are wrong with this movie, its pretty good. I would recommend watching it!
½ August 13, 2017
Maybe having seen the Tomato rating and audience scores I went in with low expectations but I actually quite enjoyed it. Sure, it's no Zootopia or Kung Fu Panda but it's still good fun for all the family.
July 30, 2017
Every dog has its day.

Yeah, just like what we say in our country on 'made in China', a poor and cheap quality product. It seems they never ever see the bright side in this business (making products). This is the Sino-US collaboration product and as usual the film was too poor. The animation was much better than some of the B animation features. But the universe was too small, or you can say restricted for certain enclosure makes it fall in as a bad film. That's when you observe the backgrounds, you would notice how substandard it is.

Visually and basic storyline seems not much different from other animated flicks. Because it kind of reminded me many awesome films from the recent past like it either be ' Kung Fu Panda' or 'Zootopia'. All about chasing the impossible dream and an inspiring theme. But still I believe the little kids like under 6-7 might enjoy it. Yeah, this is definitely not for the grown ups like most of the modern animated films are. That's a sad part, yet some adult would find it better.

The film was built on the most common clichéd platform. A young Tibetan sheepdog is not interested in what his kind destined to do. Instead, he's very much into the musics and after inspired by what the famous musician said, he embarks a journey that would decide his fate. So how his life going to change comes with the remaining parts. There were some nice comedies, but nothing tried hard to uplift film. From the beginning itself, it was so familiar, which did not give any space for a better improvement in the later parts. An average film, maybe below that, yet watchable one. Short film though, with the nice music.

July 28, 2017
Cute siberian, too short iimo, if you're a furry or like porn of it, you would be interested in rimjob the dog
Page 1 of 6