Rock Dog - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rock Dog Reviews

Page 1 of 5
September 10, 2017
My son (7) and I really loved this movie and the music, almost didn't watch because of the rating but it was def worth it. Not sure what everyone is missing.
½ September 9, 2017
I thought it was quite good and inspirational. I liked the story line and even thought the music to it was pretty catchy.
September 4, 2017
I think this is a wonderful show for children to watch. My little cousins absolutely loved it! There are a few things I have a bit of a problem with though, the animation is wonderful but isn't all that great, Bodi's (the main character) friends Darma and Germur don't show up as much in the movie as I would have liked. Kind of like Moana with the pig, it seems to be in lots of the merchandise but is hardly shown in the movie. I wish they would have shown Bodi and his friends together more. Despite the few things I think are wrong with this movie, its pretty good. I would recommend watching it!
½ August 13, 2017
Maybe having seen the Tomato rating and audience scores I went in with low expectations but I actually quite enjoyed it. Sure, it's no Zootopia or Kung Fu Panda but it's still good fun for all the family.
July 30, 2017
Every dog has its day.

Yeah, just like what we say in our country on 'made in China', a poor and cheap quality product. It seems they never ever see the bright side in this business (making products). This is the Sino-US collaboration product and as usual the film was too poor. The animation was much better than some of the B animation features. But the universe was too small, or you can say restricted for certain enclosure makes it fall in as a bad film. That's when you observe the backgrounds, you would notice how substandard it is.

Visually and basic storyline seems not much different from other animated flicks. Because it kind of reminded me many awesome films from the recent past like it either be ' Kung Fu Panda' or 'Zootopia'. All about chasing the impossible dream and an inspiring theme. But still I believe the little kids like under 6-7 might enjoy it. Yeah, this is definitely not for the grown ups like most of the modern animated films are. That's a sad part, yet some adult would find it better.

The film was built on the most common clichéd platform. A young Tibetan sheepdog is not interested in what his kind destined to do. Instead, he's very much into the musics and after inspired by what the famous musician said, he embarks a journey that would decide his fate. So how his life going to change comes with the remaining parts. There were some nice comedies, but nothing tried hard to uplift film. From the beginning itself, it was so familiar, which did not give any space for a better improvement in the later parts. An average film, maybe below that, yet watchable one. Short film though, with the nice music.

4/10
July 28, 2017
Cute siberian, too short iimo, if you're a furry or like porn of it, you would be interested in rimjob the dog
July 20, 2017
In the trailer reveal the plop-twist when the dog is playing the guitar and shoot he power.
July 19, 2017
This is such a cute movie. I love it so much. I feel like not enough people really see it for the humor and heart that is put into it. The simple story line is charming in its simplicity and spirit. It is not a movie you see for plot or story but something you will want to watch to laugh and smile at.
July 18, 2017
Bad, very bad, extremely bad, ok that's my review.
July 5, 2017
Fun movie, good characters, I think people forget it was made for Kids. it is not suppose to be Gone With the Wind.
July 2, 2017
An Enjoyable movie to watch... I really liked it - yeah its a clumsy animated movie but there is the charm for me
June 24, 2017
I really enjoyed this movie, music is actually amazing and my siblings (aged between 9-18) all loved it! Got a lot of slack from adults who obviously weren't the films target audience, great family film and as an 18 year old girl I can say I enjoyed it. Thanks for the movie!!
June 22, 2017
it is amazing! one of my favorite films!
½ June 20, 2017
Something tells me we are not going to hear a lot from Mandoo Pictures in the future. So this is about a dog named Bodi (Luke Wilson). His father (J.K. Simmons) wants him to take the mantle and protect this village of sheep from an outlying gang of wolves, but Bodi has music in his heart, and he must travel to the big city to pursue his dream of being a rock dog. Now I saw a trailer for this, and I thought it looked bad. Really bad. Just from an animation standpoint, it looks like it could use more rendering passes, and this looked all too similar to Norm of the North. I was expecting something that could potentially hit my bottom 10 list for the year, so when it actually came out being simply watchable, I was pleasantly surprised. Now there are actually some semi-famous names featured in this. There's Luke Wilson who is clearly doing an Owen Wilson impression here, and I am guessing that he was probably too busy to work on this. Simmons has the emphatic voice for animation (see: Zootopia), but he should probably be a little bit more discerning with the projects that he takes. In addition to that, you have talented people like Eddie Izzard, Lewis Black, Sam Elliott, Mae Whitman and more. The problem with this movie is that there isn't enough here to justify its existence. To say that the animation is rough around the edges would be an understatement, and it looks like it would be outdated even if it came out at the turn of the century. The writing never really sparkles, and there really isn't much present as far as legitimately written jokes. Really, the only thing I actually cared for in this was the interactions between Bodi and this rock cat named Angus Scattergood, voiced by Eddie Izzard. Angus is just such a selfish character that treats everybody around him like dirt, and it makes for really the only source of friction in an otherwise completely tame story. Rock Dog is not terrible, it just is a movie that has no business having a theatrical release. Everything about this screams direct-to-video, and honestly, the makers of this should have struck a deal with Netflix streaming. I'm also getting sick of these characters that are just Minions rip-offs; Norm of the North had those lemmings, The Lorax had those fish and the sheep in here are simply that: mischievous characters that have hardly any thought put into them and their sole purpose is to just get into trouble. While Rock Dog isn't nearly as bad as it looks, it is still really difficult to recommend to anybody, as I think children would be mostly bored by this.
June 17, 2017
3-6 year olds will love it!!
June 17, 2017
a enjoyable film for the kids to watch
½ June 16, 2017
I can't say this film was great, but it is pretty enjoyable. B
½ June 13, 2017
Rock Dog has some generic characters and a mediocre story, but the animation, the voice acting, the soundtrack, the humor, and Kenan Thompson's voice acting are good enough to keep the film from trying to become a Kung Fu Panda ripoff from the 90s.
½ June 4, 2017
The kids thought it was ok!
½ June 3, 2017
This movie was so boring, I actually went outside to sit around and do nothing. No joke, no exaggeration, no lying, sitting around doing nothing was more fun and healthier than watching this clutz animation, which is more fit for a TV show than a full-length movie.
Page 1 of 5