Secretary - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Secretary Reviews

Page 1 of 237
February 7, 2018
This one was for real, soo much better than Fifty Shades Of Crap. Maggie Gylenhaal is awesomely impressive and James Spader spectacular as the leads. I think they might be the cutest S&M couple and yes I just said that. Brilliant "romantic comedy".
½ January 16, 2018
I liked it! The dark side of love I would say. In romantic movies there is much more to say then last minute runs at airports, and this film it's a nice reminder.
December 31, 2017
What 50 shades of gray should have been.
December 27, 2017
Gyllenhaal and Spader show just how good they are in this. They both give exquisitely well-judged performances, making sure that the tricky subject matter of the movie is never allowed to turn sleazy, which it could so easily have done in the wrong hands.
All the characters in the movie are well-drawn, quirky, idiosyncratic creations, but never charicaturish.
What you've got with Secretary is an interesting, charming, witty rom-com that's given the genre a smart slap on the figurative bum! I love it!
½ October 9, 2017
A sassy off-kilter comedy that puckishly reworks the taboo subject matter of sadomasochism into a quirkly disarming love story of a masochistic secretary and her sadistic boss.
½ August 18, 2017
Didn't quite reach its full potential. But a great film in many aspects. This is Maggie Gyllenhaal at her best.
August 15, 2017
Super hot with a big heart!
August 6, 2017
An interesting insight into the minds of those on the debaucherous side of the sexual spectrum. Though, at its core, this film is not really about sex...but about power and control. The need to weild it and the need to be controlled.
Some decent performances from James Spader and Maggie Gyllenhaal - particularly Gyllenhaal whos move from depressed self harming, to obsession, to a true understanding of her own psyche is deftly done. Both play their respective roles with enough subtlety to make the story believable.
To be honest..this film was not what I expected..but I am glad I've seen it.
½ May 8, 2017
comedy?! "fresh"?!!
regret wasting 2 hours of my life...
Super Reviewer
March 18, 2017
"To thine own self be true," or so the saying goes but that's not always such an easy thing to do, society being society. Finding yourself, and then possibly finding love, is the gist here, capably realized by an able cast and in a memorable fashion.
March 2, 2017
This was fascinating. Maggie Gyllenhaal is so very talented and never disappoints me with the roles she chooses this play. This was no different. It makes you wonder about the different levels of love and pleasure. Sometimes the lines are not so clear and everything is not all black or white.
December 28, 2016
wow; was this the inspiration for fifty shades? because the resemblance is uncanny.
November 25, 2016
Maggie Gyllenhaal's strong performance keeps viewers invested, even when the film's plot gets lost in itself.
October 12, 2016
Bizarre love story .
October 10, 2016
This movie is not for everyone and probably not for most people if I'm being honest. It delves into the psychological depths behind kinks, bondage, control, family, and the unusual. It is definitely a more intellectual and thoughtful approach to portraying BDSM with only a few actual sexual scenes carefully placed throughout the film so if you want porn dressed up as a "film" go watch Fifty Shades of Grey or be honest with yourself and hop on PornHub. In my opinion, Spader outshines Gyllenhaal in this one as he perfectly portrays an obsessive and anxiety ridden lawyer who has a hard time grappling with his out of the norm desires. Gyllenhaal's performance is noteworthy as well, she does a great job as the quirky solemn girl who has just recently been released from an institution. Lee and Edward are like puzzle pieces that are entirely different colors but still somehow fit together, despite trying to fit in places their families and society wants them to. While I didn't think Lee's harshness towards Peter was needed to solidify her love for Edward I adored the ending. It's such a provoking image of Lee, sitting on the porch as her husband drives off to work and children play in the street. It really makes you think of how normal she and Edward look from the outside, and if people are as ordinary as they appear.
½ August 21, 2016
An offbeat and sexy character study led by a magnetic performance from Maggie Gyllenhaal as a masochist secretary.
July 9, 2016
My word, 50 shades is a total rip off of a better movie.
½ June 19, 2016
interesting enough to watch, emotionally interesting, but not really my type of story.
½ May 14, 2016
I think Maggie plays well. And because of this movie, I begin to like her
Page 1 of 237