Secretary - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Secretary Reviews

Page 1 of 236
July 9, 2016
My word, 50 shades is a total rip off of a better movie.
½ June 19, 2016
interesting enough to watch, emotionally interesting, but not really my type of story.
June 15, 2016
This is just a little bit o sex and a whole lot of genius. It could not have worked without the perfect acting of the leads who assume their psychoses with verve, elan and love. It is not only a remarkable film for its uniqueness but extraordinary as a tender coming-of-age story for cutters and sadomasochists.
½ May 14, 2016
I think Maggie plays well. And because of this movie, I begin to like her
April 10, 2016
I had my reservation in watching this movie. I felt it will be more a soft porn than a real movie with substance. I was so surprised that it was just absolutely engaging. Without the nudity this movie will still be a five star
½ March 18, 2016
Secretary is directed by Steve Shainberg, and it stars Maggie Gyllenhaal and James Spader in a erotic romance about an emotionally sensitive girl that got out of a hospital ward, and she is looking for a job. So Lee (Maggie Gyllenhaal) found a job and works with E. Edward Grey (James Spader) as a secretary, and when she find out that he's a sexually dominant man, she was fine with it and they partake in a BDSM relationship. I remember that before I watched Fifty Shades of Grey, I've heard of Secretary and would honestly watch that than Fifty Shades of Grey, which also has the BDSM part in it. So after watching that movie, I was looking more forward to Secretary as it was terrible. Now I finally got to see it, and it is so much better that I finally see why BDSM can be normal for some people, even if I still don't agree with it. I've never seen a more committed performance from Maggie Gyllenhaal in any other film that I've seen her in, and she's completely amazing in this movie. James Spader is great in it, and they work together really well with great chemistry that is quite different then what I'm used to in romance films. The story is well done, although the ending can be not as fleshed out as I could've been, but it's not much of a problem as the ending was good, just needed to be improved a bit. When it gets to the BDSM, it has a good balance of having laughs about it, but also taking it seriously. The characters are developed very well, and I really cared about their relationship, even if it's a bit of an extreme one. Secretary is a really great film that is a BDSM relationship done right, and is nothing like Fifty Shades of Grey in terms of its awfulness.
½ February 18, 2016
Too unbelievable for me, so it became silly. A very soft core porn movie designed (and written) for women ?
½ November 24, 2015
candidate for a top 10 worst movies ever made, had 50 minutes left and couldnt finish it
October 10, 2015
You get to see Maggie Gyllenhaal naked for quite some time. bring some tissues.
September 13, 2015
Weird, sexual and darkly funny in a weird, sexual way, Secretary is a movie about S&M done right (and this one has a domineering male lead called Grey as well), that is, with plenty of tongue in cheek, and, more importantly a good lead.

Maggie Gyllenhaal is amazing in this movie, she has a broad, stunning range and manages to turn a twisted rom-com into an unforgettable tour de force.

Top notch.
September 2, 2015
Adore James Spader! Maggie Gyllenhaal is amazing. While this movie may not be for everyone, I find beauty in it. Love will find a way.
Super Reviewer
August 17, 2015
What makes this film stand out as a truly adorable romance is the surprising way that it tackles the spicy kinkiness of its subject as a means for two people to find happiness, while it boasts a great score/soundtrack and Maggie Gyllenhaal shines in a lovely performance.
½ August 2, 2015
I was really happy with the way this one ended.. The addictions, both her father's and her's, were handled well. You are able to see two characters find pieces of themselves in each other. They are able to see the beauty in one another that no one else can.
½ July 2, 2015
Personally I didn't really care for this one. Everyone always compares this to 50 shades and while it is a lot more believable and in depth I still like 50 shades better. I don't find either character attractive/likable and esp not the male actor who always plays a creeper in his movies. Honestly it was hard to tell what was going on sometime in this film and the ending was unbelievable and gross (peeing in ur self really?). I did like how the main characters clothes got better, but honestly I thought she was a bitch to Peter and couldn't really understand the attraction to the main character/obsession.
½ June 23, 2015
I found this movie very alluring and seductive. I must say in comparison to its much hyped counterpart the most recently famous "Fifty Shades of Grey" Secretary has interesting characters, more intriguing actors, a believable plot, and an all over better deliverance of the forbidden fantasy in itself. I would and have recommended Secretary more often than its sad wanna be copy cat Fifty Shades. I love this movie.
½ June 11, 2015
Oddly compelling, Maggie Gyllenhall is really good, but it's just a bit weird. That said it held my attention and it has a resolving ending.
May 30, 2015
I've never been able to decide if Shainberg took the easy way out or the difficult way in to his study of a BDSM relationship. The film is a surprisingly realistic representation of human psychology involved in Sadism / Masochism and assorted psychological disorders. The challenge is it is all presented in an otherwise almost conventional love story. In the end, it doesn't really matter because this subversive little movie is so committed to an off-kilter love story that the whole experiment is entertaining.
May 25, 2015
My new favourite movie!
½ May 19, 2015
Off the beaten path. The characters are interesting and the performances are great. The story is a bit underwhelming.
Page 1 of 236