Secretary - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Secretary Reviews

Page 1 of 236
½ August 18, 2017
Didn't quite reach its full potential. But a great film in many aspects. This is Maggie Gyllenhaal at her best.
August 15, 2017
Super hot with a big heart!
August 6, 2017
An interesting insight into the minds of those on the debaucherous side of the sexual spectrum. Though, at its core, this film is not really about sex...but about power and control. The need to weild it and the need to be controlled.
Some decent performances from James Spader and Maggie Gyllenhaal - particularly Gyllenhaal whos move from depressed self harming, to obsession, to a true understanding of her own psyche is deftly done. Both play their respective roles with enough subtlety to make the story believable.
To be honest..this film was not what I expected..but I am glad I've seen it.
½ May 8, 2017
comedy?! "fresh"?!!
regret wasting 2 hours of my life...
Super Reviewer
March 18, 2017
"To thine own self be true," or so the saying goes but that's not always such an easy thing to do, society being society. Finding yourself, and then possibly finding love, is the gist here, capably realized by an able cast and in a memorable fashion.
March 2, 2017
This was fascinating. Maggie Gyllenhaal is so very talented and never disappoints me with the roles she chooses this play. This was no different. It makes you wonder about the different levels of love and pleasure. Sometimes the lines are not so clear and everything is not all black or white.
December 28, 2016
wow; was this the inspiration for fifty shades? because the resemblance is uncanny.
November 25, 2016
Maggie Gyllenhaal's strong performance keeps viewers invested, even when the film's plot gets lost in itself.
October 12, 2016
Bizarre love story .
October 10, 2016
This movie is not for everyone and probably not for most people if I'm being honest. It delves into the psychological depths behind kinks, bondage, control, family, and the unusual. It is definitely a more intellectual and thoughtful approach to portraying BDSM with only a few actual sexual scenes carefully placed throughout the film so if you want porn dressed up as a "film" go watch Fifty Shades of Grey or be honest with yourself and hop on PornHub. In my opinion, Spader outshines Gyllenhaal in this one as he perfectly portrays an obsessive and anxiety ridden lawyer who has a hard time grappling with his out of the norm desires. Gyllenhaal's performance is noteworthy as well, she does a great job as the quirky solemn girl who has just recently been released from an institution. Lee and Edward are like puzzle pieces that are entirely different colors but still somehow fit together, despite trying to fit in places their families and society wants them to. While I didn't think Lee's harshness towards Peter was needed to solidify her love for Edward I adored the ending. It's such a provoking image of Lee, sitting on the porch as her husband drives off to work and children play in the street. It really makes you think of how normal she and Edward look from the outside, and if people are as ordinary as they appear.
½ August 21, 2016
An offbeat and sexy character study led by a magnetic performance from Maggie Gyllenhaal as a masochist secretary.
July 9, 2016
My word, 50 shades is a total rip off of a better movie.
½ June 19, 2016
interesting enough to watch, emotionally interesting, but not really my type of story.
½ May 14, 2016
I think Maggie plays well. And because of this movie, I begin to like her
April 10, 2016
I had my reservation in watching this movie. I felt it will be more a soft porn than a real movie with substance. I was so surprised that it was just absolutely engaging. Without the nudity this movie will still be a five star
½ March 18, 2016
Secretary is directed by Steve Shainberg, and it stars Maggie Gyllenhaal and James Spader in a erotic romance about an emotionally sensitive girl that got out of a hospital ward, and she is looking for a job. So Lee (Maggie Gyllenhaal) found a job and works with E. Edward Grey (James Spader) as a secretary, and when she find out that he's a sexually dominant man, she was fine with it and they partake in a BDSM relationship. I remember that before I watched Fifty Shades of Grey, I've heard of Secretary and would honestly watch that than Fifty Shades of Grey, which also has the BDSM part in it. So after watching that movie, I was looking more forward to Secretary as it was terrible. Now I finally got to see it, and it is so much better that I finally see why BDSM can be normal for some people, even if I still don't agree with it. I've never seen a more committed performance from Maggie Gyllenhaal in any other film that I've seen her in, and she's completely amazing in this movie. James Spader is great in it, and they work together really well with great chemistry that is quite different then what I'm used to in romance films. The story is well done, although the ending can be not as fleshed out as I could've been, but it's not much of a problem as the ending was good, just needed to be improved a bit. When it gets to the BDSM, it has a good balance of having laughs about it, but also taking it seriously. The characters are developed very well, and I really cared about their relationship, even if it's a bit of an extreme one. Secretary is a really great film that is a BDSM relationship done right, and is nothing like Fifty Shades of Grey in terms of its awfulness.
½ February 18, 2016
Too unbelievable for me, so it became silly. A very soft core porn movie designed (and written) for women ?
½ November 24, 2015
candidate for a top 10 worst movies ever made, had 50 minutes left and couldnt finish it
October 10, 2015
You get to see Maggie Gyllenhaal naked for quite some time. bring some tissues.
Page 1 of 236