Seven Pounds - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Seven Pounds Reviews

Page 1 of 1426
April 17, 2018
I really enjoyed the movie! Not sure why Rotten Tomatoes scores it so low!

Tears at your heart!
April 15, 2018
partly based on stupid pecentages like this one, I never watched this film until today. I disagree WHOLEHEARTEDLY with 26% ... wt?? It's a great film. It requires thinking, compassion and love to interpret fully. I wholly recommend this movie!!!
½ March 19, 2018
I really liked it. I thought Will Smith did an awesome job and the plot was deep.
March 16, 2018
Seven Pounds pertence a um grupo específico de filmes que se focam numa personagem e exploram toda a sua humanidade (ou falta dela), assim como as suas motivações. Muitas destas entidades são escritas com o propósito de alertar para uma ou um conjunto de realidades. São 2 horas dedicadas a observar atentamente os seus passos.

Will Smith interpreta Ben Thomas (Will Smith), um agente da IRS (Internal Revenue Service) que enigmaticamente se presta a ajudar pessoas sem exigir qualquer retorno. Ao seu ritmo, acompanhamos Ben, na certeza que a personagem a certo ponto irá pensar em cometer suicídio, pois o filme não se inibe de o revelar logo no seu início. Sem essa cena, acredito que o final seria mais surpreendente, mas não se enganem, a longa-metragem escrita e realizada por Gabriele Muccino tem algumas cartas na manga.

O seu desenvolvimento é lento, o que pode ser à partida aborrecido. Não é de facto um primeiro ato exorbitante, mas assim que começamos a juntar as peças do puzzle, torna-se muito mais interessante. É necessário tempo para contar uma história que procura ser metódica e mecânica com o seu enredo. Tematicamente, o argumento invoca princípios como o altruísmo, o auto-sacrifício, a atenção pelo outro e, em última instância, a redenção.

Will Smith está em forma para este papel complexo, onde o sucesso estava em encontrar o balanço entre emoções positivas e negativas. A sua performance, demonstra por um lado breves momentos de felicidade e por outro uma angústia e pesar interior. Rosario Dawson consegue também mais uma boa atuação, repleta de autenticidade. A sua química com Will Smith é o destaque do filme.

Não sou, no entanto, apreciador da mensagem do filme. Como foi referido anteriormente, o nosso protagonista pretende suicidar-se. Condeno a forma como a ideia é abordada no filme porque acredito que o caminho a seguir deve ser outro. Devemos alertar e moldar comportamentos, criar as condições ideais para que as pessoas consigam ver a luz ao fundo do túnel. Dito isto, a personagem está bem escrita, mas o seu desfecho podia ter transmitido uma mensagem mais poderosa.

Gabriele Muccino demonstra talento a orientar atores experientes e a criar espaços confortáveis, iluminando cuidadosamente os locais de filmagem para que as ações decorressem com a maior espontaneidade possível. Contudo, algumas falhas conceituais, fluidez entre atos e edição, afastam o pleno proveito desta obra, que dentro da sua bolha pode deixar alguma amargura na boca.

6,6/10
March 11, 2018
Ive seem the film teice now, both times having cried my eyes out. Such an emoTional, Deep film. I didnt know whether to feel happy or heartbroken at the end!
½ February 12, 2018
This was a really tough rating to figure out; you really have to be in the right type of mindset to watch a movie as heavy and emotional as this, but in the end, I found the story to be tragic and wonderful at the same time, albeit with some flaws. Will Smith and Rosario Dawson certainly do a great job, and while the actions of Will Smith's character finally make sense at the end of the film, I think the film is almost too tragic for its own good. Because of that, the emotional impact of the ending didn't hit me nearly as hard as I think was intended, but there's certainly an uplifting message in there. At least for me, it was just too difficult to fully accept because you end up connecting with Will Smith's character over the course of the film in a way where you want to see him figure out a better... "resolution" to his situation. I suppose this is just one movie that is almost too close to reality and not enough of a fairy tale, but it definitely makes you think and feel grateful for what you have.
January 16, 2018
I loved this emotional movie because it was very deep and made you think about deep questions in life that I otherwise wouldn't have thought about.
January 15, 2018
Seven pounds Is the most brilliant film I have ever seen. It is such a beautiful story, nothing like it. the ending is sad but beautiful at the same time, most cunning, and captivating ending. this film deserves much more credit, it is truly beautiful.
December 27, 2017
After what I've heard I may just rent it... if even that.
November 15, 2017
a bit slow and wanky
November 8, 2017
such a nice movie and character have done justice to the roles
October 19, 2017
Fantastic plot yet depressing...... Still, I highly recommend this movie.
½ August 6, 2017
Slow pace . Tearful and happy ending . Will smith and Rosario are very good . Good supporting roles and actors .. But still could have been better I think ...
July 7, 2017
i was bored when i watched it at first,but the last half hour was very good.And it was pretty cool to see Will in a film like that again.
June 25, 2017
The concept is interesting, but the film lacks emotional complexity. Not terrible, but they missed a good opportunity for a beautiful film ultimately about love. With the exception of Rosario Dawson, the film doesn't have characters with enough depth for the audience to genuinely care about the final outcome of the movie. Will Smith is capable of amazing work, and he has several nice delicate scenes of rage and sadness, but overall is feels like a performance that was Oscar bait. For a movie about grief, love and redemption, there are too many surface level emotions created by an extremely talented group of actors. The director needed to pull more out of his actors for this ending to be worth the journey. Without that emotional depth, the end of the movie almost seems misplaced and unnatural to the rest of the tone throughout, like it's trying too hard to make you feel something instead of actually feeling something.
June 24, 2017
One of the more incredible movies I have ever seen. Will Smith can play just about every role. Whether it's a comedy, drama, or sci-fi adventure, he can play it all. Great movie.
May 16, 2017
Another lost rating flixster.
½ May 14, 2017
I liked the plot, but the middle part of the film seemed to drag, although the actors did a wonderful job.
May 8, 2017
pointless...dwelled too much into rosario dawson's characters...there were so many other characters that were more interesting than her and yet she was 80% of the movie. Anytime there was a scene with her you knew, "nothing important is going to happen in this scene" aka...they'll do more flirty things to fall mroe in love.
March 10, 2017
A sad movie, but happy in the end when someone recognizes a pair of eyes..
Page 1 of 1426