Steel Magnolias - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Steel Magnolias Reviews

Page 1 of 362
Super Reviewer
December 15, 2017
Based on a stage play, which like The Women is entirely focused on the ladies with the men in their lives never making an appearance, but only coming up in conversation. The demands of Hollywood of course mean that the cast is expanded to include the husbands and boyfriends and other people from town. Having worked backstage on a professional production of this play and becoming familiar with the dialog night after night I found this film creative in the way it expands the locations too. From a one room play with every bit of gossip and discussion happening in Truvy's beauty salon to the naturalism of seeing the whole Louisiana town. The ensemble of six talented women (Field, Parton, MacLaine, Hannah, Dukakis, and Roberts) bring the perfect mix of drama and comedy to this narrative.
November 24, 2017
The nicest movie! Love, heartbreak, friendship, sisterhood!
November 19, 2017
Iconic cast and a pro-feminist favorite.
November 17, 2017
The ultimate chick flick for all time - and a true story written for the stage by the Julia Roberts' character's brother and set in their actual charming Louisiana hometown. Chick flick? Yes. But the performances make the film enjoyable for all - and beautifully scored by the very fine Georges Delerue. This film has made $100M on what likely was a modest budget, the film requiring no constructed sets. Sally Field is in "Norma Rae" form as the movie captures the eclectic eccentric central & southern Louisiana anthroposphere. This one's a gem - and increasingly a classic. | ~ Norm de Guerre
October 31, 2017
This movie was okay, but it felt like it was way too long. The characters were okay, but not always interesting. I liked Julia Roberts performance the most. I know this is one of the popular "chick-flick" entries of the 80's, but it was just average to me.
May 26, 2017
A culturally rich portrayal of the middle class American South that tugs on the heart strings and gives chick-flick uplift.
Super Reviewer
December 23, 2016
This bittersweet drama has a very nice cast and deserves credit for making us laugh and cry at the same time even in its most melodramatic scenes, but the film's last seven minutes are simply awful and should have been excised from it without any mercy.
December 20, 2016
This is a good movie. The message is to support your friends.
September 3, 2016
A refreshingly different portrayal of women in film.
August 11, 2016
This movie has such a wonderful heartfelt sincerity. I loved all the characters and quickly became emotionally invested in their lives. This movie is guaranteed to invoke a massive cry session in my house.
Definitely a favorite "chick-flick"!
May 1, 2016
Steel Magnolias' star-studded cast unsuccessfully tries to cover up a predictable, unfunny and manipulative tearjerker that deliberately doubts the audience's capacity to see through its false feminism.
April 10, 2016
That's truly inspirational movie! Loved it!
½ March 24, 2016
Awww old southern community. It is an intoxicating idea. Field. MacLaine. Dukakis. They don't make em like them anymore.
½ February 14, 2016
A memorable late 80s drama.
½ February 9, 2016
another f-in lost review i have since the '80's loved this chick flick like 1939's 'the women' has all star casts and amazing performances
½ January 25, 2016
"Steel Magnolias" utilizes its stellar cast to great effect, resulting in a powerfully emotional experience for the audience to behold. Although, the narrative may seem a bit small and thin, the delightful humor and chemistry between leads allows the film to achieve something much higher. Though no tears were shed here, the film is certainly poignant and rife with memorability.
January 10, 2016
Beautifully moving movie with bits of comedy. Worthy watch
½ January 10, 2016
was dragged by a chick to this iconic chick flick. The debut, as far as i know, of Julia Roberts, strikingly young and beautiful, as Shelby.
January 5, 2016
Darn good movie!! Love me some Julia Roberts!
Page 1 of 362