The Sweetest Thing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sweetest Thing Reviews

Page 1 of 278
August 14, 2016
Average movie. Cameron Diaz, Christina Applegate & Selma Blair are 3 bestie. Cameron and Christina are just flirting around in nightclub while Selma is more pure. She got dump by her boyfriend and they bring her to party. Cameron try to get a guy for Selma and pinch the butt of Thomas Jane. He is not interested and leave fast. Cameron say to Selma he is a dick which he heard. While they were both bickering, Selma is hook away by another guy. Later, Cameron and Thomas apologise and seem to hit it well. His brother Jason Bateman is getting a little bit drunk. Thomas invite Cameron to the wedding party. Next day, Selma try to send the semen stain clothes to the laundry service and the people in the town came in and she feel embarass. Christina know Cameron like Thomas and together they go for the trip. They make a stop in male toilet. Christina broke the flush and both got wet. Went to a shop which only have clothes that's so not their style. Christina write Cameron address in the mailing book. When they reach the church, Cameron need to go bathroom. She saw the bride (Parker Posey) who is freaking out. Cameron assure and calm her. The duo is shock when the wedding is Thomas and Parker, and not Jason as thought. They left hurriedly. Thomas and Parker call off the wedding on the spot as both are not ready. 3 weeks later, Cameron still can't forget him. Thomas is at the same store and saw the address. The girls go party and Cameron reverse the flirting game by giving love a chance, give the guy her number instead. It backfire. Reach home, Thomas is at the doorstep. The two make it together and get married to each other.
July 20, 2016
Worst piece of crap I've ever seen. The Sweetest Thing is rude, raunchy, disgusting and furthermore has no taste in humor. Both Cameron Diaz and Chrsitina Appligate would never survive this movie. I think I preferred it if I saw Cameron in Something About Mary which is something I would want to see, and Christina Appligate who was good in the critically acclaimed Will Ferrell comedy movie, The Anchorman.
Super Reviewer
½ June 17, 2016
Too bad the jokes aren't better because the willing cast goes all out in the effort to entertain, so much so that it's worth the extra half star. There are some funny bits, but too many bad taste (literally) gags fall flat like a visit to a dry cleaners with a semen-stained dress and a blowjob wrong terribly wrong. Then there's the "Too Big To Fit In Here" full-blown musical number, words cannot describe but have to admit those ladies have balls. Cameron Diaz gets top billing but Christina Applegate is the true commedienne among this girl group, and also worth mentioning that she has never looked better. Whoaaaa Bundy!! They along with Selma Blair and Jason Bateman join the director for an entertaining full commentary track on the DVD, which is just a raunchy as anything in the script!
April 24, 2016
A film that goes against all my principles, yet for once I actually come out liking what I had anticipated would be a cheesy over the top and unfunny girly comedy, that is just about chasing boys and not about entertaining the audience. Yes, I'll admit, it's clearly aimed at single females, but the stars of this are more Tom boys that are intent on having a laugh, and it even got me doing the same most of the way through. Famed for her ability to pull guys on a night out, but never contacting them again, Diaz finally meets her match in Peter who foresees what she's about and spells it out much to her dismay. Unused to this reaction, she finds herself somewhat drawn to him and sets off on a road trip with her best mate to try and hunt him down. Along the way the girls have several humorous encounters with motorcyclists, gloryholes, and old women's dress shops, but finally arrive at his doorstep, only for it to be of a church door, where he is actually about to get hitched. The story sounds lame, and I guess it is, but it's bolstered by some immature and crude humour that brings it to life, none more so than the incredibly catchy 'Penis Song'. Create a few more gems like this one, and they could have had their own pornographic stage musical. As for repeat value, I've already seen it twice already, which is both surprising and embarrassing but the number of talking points in this was enough to seduce one into watching them again. Definitely a case of not judging a DVD by its cover, and four stars to these ladies for putting on a solid show.
March 8, 2016
This movie is a bomb. Stupid and degrading. Nothing but trash. This must have been a very low budget porn show. Cameron all your movies are bombing. Find some better parts...that is if the cocaine snorting producers can produce something other tham garbage. I feel for the young people. hollywood is only populating the airwaves and has nothing to offer people with souls.
December 27, 2015
I thought this movie started a little silly, then it got better, then came an extremely silly scene that I don't see the point in whatsoever, then it got better, then silly again.
This is an okay comedy, but the sad part is that it would have been a lot better if only they'd taken away all of the silly scenes and kept the pure and genuine comedy.
October 17, 2015
A fun, mindless chick flick.
September 27, 2015
One of the most underrated, funniest comedies ever, made unique by it's female POV. A fresh take on the buddy/road trip genre with side-splitting physical and gross-out comedy. With her superlative comic skills, Applegate is the star. Diaz is amazingly believable in an improbable role as a gorgeous blonde who can't attract a good guy. (Yeah, right!)
Selma Blair's sexy, demure third wheel buddy should've gotten more screen time as she's an excellent actor and cute heartthrob.
Thomas Jane is sensitive, handsome, a little bumbling--every woman's dream guy--and a perfect counterpoint to hilariously brash, cavalier uber-bro Jason Bateman.
The two girls' adventures veer from hilarious to ridiculous, and literally from the toilet to the gutter.
HIGHLY recommended!
August 11, 2015
A general consensus from the reviews - Males hated it. Women enjoyed it. Considering that this came out in 2002, one might acknowledge that it was an early predecessor to the more recently acclaimed Bridesmaids. Its a train wreck of a movie - but considering the feminist undertones, I liked it.
½ July 18, 2015
Great chick flick, so funny!!!
June 29, 2015
As a teenager this was one of my favorites that I could watch over and over again...
June 15, 2015
My sweetest thing would to have not have watched this crap at all.
½ May 27, 2015
Good movie love it super funny. :)
½ May 1, 2015
Not the greatest story ever , but with Diaz and Applegate i don't care ...Lots of sexy and Dick humor ! Good time with this ...SOMDVD
April 16, 2015
"Oh, let's make a bro-comedy, but do it with chicks instead!" That may have been the intention of this movie, but that intention isn't enough to make it fun. First of all, how many dude-bro comedies are that good? Second, you need an actual story in order to sit through 90 minutes of anything; a collection of random raunchy scenes does not a movie make. If this movie was a satire of sex comedies, there would have been more opportunities to have fun with it, but with a silly message and even sillier ending that try to be sincere, this movie is as incoherent as a Madea movie.
February 13, 2015
Embarrassing for everyone on board.
Super Reviewer
½ January 12, 2015
The raunchy sex comedy The Sweetest Thing is an atrociously awful piece of garbage. After connecting with a guy at a bachelor party Christina takes her friend on a road trip in order to crash the wedding in hopes of seeing him again. The comedy is cartoonishly stupid and really goes out of its way to be vulgar (like it's trying to prove a point). And, it's painful to watch Cameron Diaz and Christina Applegate debase themselves with this insipid filth. Yet at times the film flirts with the "it's so bad it's good" territory. Trashy and tasteless, The Sweetest Thing is anything but.
December 31, 2014
Very funny! And old one but really good...
½ November 22, 2014
Enjoyable, funny, easy to watch.
Page 1 of 278