The Terminator - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Terminator Reviews

Page 1 of 1010
April 26, 2017
The Terminator is my favorite villain for many reasons, and all are clearly explained in this film. The future war is something that could actually happen, based on the amount of technology we have nowadays. Not to mention that a famous movie quote comes from this film, one which Arnold Schwarzenegger has used in many other films in his career after this one, parodying the tone of it.
April 26, 2017
Obviously, The Terminator is a cool movie
April 24, 2017
Terminator is just too great to explain.
½ April 24, 2017
A Arnold classic that can still compare with current action movies in terms of effects. This will keep your interest until its conclusion.
April 18, 2017
There was no need for CGI or super expensive special effects to make a ''Then and Now'' classic!
April 18, 2017
The Terminator stars Arnold Schwarzenegger, Linda Hamilton and Michel Biehn. In the future, us humans go to a nuclear war with an AI system called 'Skynet'. Skynet sends a machine known as the terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) back in time to the 80s to kill Sarah Connor, (Linda Hamilton) the mother of the future leader of the resistance, so that the machines can win the war. The humans send a protector for Sarah named Kyle Reese (Michel Biehn) back to the same time to help keep her alive. Back when The Terminator was released, people were stunned at how good this movie was, and people are still stunned today. It had an extremely unique plot, good acting and it started a very popular franchise that is packed with quotable one-liners, making The Terminator a true staple of sci-fi cinema. James Cameron's writing and direction is flawless. You can tell that he put time and effort into making this film. This was also Arnie's firm start into action movies. We will always think of The Terminator when we hear his name. Everything in the film was done to a good extent and to a way we won't forget after a ton of nostalgia.
Over all, The Terminator gets a whole 5/5 stars. It just can't be disliked.
April 17, 2017
Absolute nightmare fuel.
April 8, 2017
The best action thriller.
April 7, 2017
What is there to say about this iconic classic, except that it has stood the test of time. Okay, so I doubt we'll have cyborgs by 2029, but time travel movies are always a work of fantasy and are way out. Provided they entertain, and they minimise the paradoxes as best they can, they I can suspend some disbelief. And 'Terminator' does just that, by focusing first and foremost on the whole cat and mouse chase from almost beginning to end, with some build up within the first half an hour, and not going to deep into the whole time travel paradox problems. After all this is a suspenseful action-thriller with a sci-fi-time travel backdrop. Chances are you've probably seen 'Terminator' before. Or if you haven't, you probably know the story and most certainly "I'll be back". But whether you'reā?? watching it for the first time or re-watching it, be sure to watch it on the remastered Blu-Ray. It is one of the best catalogue remasters I've seen. The picture quality is astounding, especially for an 80's movie. It's just so crisp, clear, and detailed. But that isn't where the good news ends. The audio is also very good and engaging, with some strong bass, LFE's, and plenty of surround activity. 5/5*
March 31, 2017
This movie hold up quite well today even with some outdated effects. The strong story and good cinematography make up for any outdated issues, and even though there are some visual effects that don't quite work anymore, they are used pretty minimally, so they don't drag the focus away from the story or action very much. It had been quite a long time since I've seen this one, and while I don't think it matches the sequel, it's still a lot better than I thought I remembered it being.

Personal Grade: S
Technical Score: 71%
March 29, 2017
The macho poster child of 80s sci-fi action, "The Terminator" is still a nonstop thrill ride.
March 22, 2017
Well, ladies and gentlemen, here it is. The one you all been waiting for, The Terminator, starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and directed by James Cameron. And get this: my old friend Jacob Dimmock, he is a fan of Arnold Schwarzenegger and I think everybody's a huge fan of him. This is the first film I've ever looked that has an 100% rating from critics from Rotten Tomatoes and one of Arnold Schwarzenegger's best films. You can't really go wrong. It's just unbelievable. OK, I'm going to tell you the details. Arnold Schwarzenegger plays an evil cyborg aka The Terminator sent back in time from 2029 to 1984 (the film is been released in the year 1984) to kill Sarah Connor played by Linda Hamilton before she gets pregnant to the boy who will one day become a savior against machines in a post-apocalyptic future. So he walks naked and comes across the three punks. One was played by the memorable Bill Paxton and two of them I don't know. One of them said ''Nice night for a walk.'' and ''Nothing clean, right?'' and The Terminator starts copying what he is saying and he says ''Your clothes. Give them me, now.'' and the punk leader says ''Fxxx you, axxxxxe!'' so the Terminator starts beating the punks and kills one of them by punching through his chest, pulls his fist out full of blood and holding his heart and one of them takes his clothes off and makes him wear them. I didn't know he punches through his heart at first because all I can see is a pool of blood but I think my brother had a reaction from that scene what The Terminator had just did. Then we see Michael Biehn as Kyle Reese as an soldier from the future (one possible future) sent back in time to protect Sarah Connor and the first chase scene is gripping it's dark. There's a scene where Sarah goes to the nightclub where the 80s party songs are on is a scene where she's been tracked down by The Terminator and Kyle Reese but Reese protects her from The Terminator before he kills her. I love the pacing and directing for this scene, it's unbelievably brilliant. Now the second chase scene where Kyle drives away from the cyborg Terminator and explains to Sarah that The Terminator can't be bargained with and can't be reasoned with and doesn't feel pity, or remorse, or fear and absolutely will not stop ever, until she is dead. Now the scene The Terminator is cleaning himself by cutting through his wrist and wipes his face and eyes but pulls his eye out and use a cloth to clean through his eye patch and as you can see Arnold looks so different when he get the cloth out of his eye and you can clearly see that his eye is an robotic cyborg skeleton. OK, there is a shootout scene after Arnold famously says his memorable favourite quote of all time that many people has impressed and blown away by is ''I'll be back.'' I bet he says that at every single movie he does. And there's a scene where the person says ''Hey, you got a dead cat in here or what?'' and The Terminator chooses the possible response choosing Yes/No or What?, Go away, Please come back later, Fxxx you, axxxxxe and Fxxx you. He chose by saying ''Fxxx you, axxxxxe.'' I even chuckled at that scene. And that it, that's the end of it. I didn't tell about The Terminator killing the wrong Sarah Connor or the ending cause I think you and the audience in the world have already know that movie by heart. Arnold Schwarzenegger doesn't talk much in this film because The Terminator is so quiet and keeps in character while filming. That's why his character is so great in this film. Linda Hamilton is great in this so is Michael Biehn and all the actors and actresses who did their fantastic portrayal in this movie. Well, guys, I guess you've all know this movie by heart and James Cameron and Gale Anne Hurd did their fantastic job making this film. Even the special effects at the end looks sort of Stop-Motion-ish. I don't know, it looks like it's from the older films like Sinbad and King Kong and all the other dinosaur films. Jeez. Anyways, The Terminator is one of my favourite films of all time along with the others like Die Hard, Lethal Weapon, Highlander, Goldeneye, Bird On A Wire and many more. So I guess this is it then. 10/10. Favorite of all time. Starring Arnold Schwarzenegger.
March 19, 2017
This is an amazing film but Im Surprised it has a 100% critics rating its a little off to me
½ March 17, 2017
Brutal and dark, but such a good movie. A good idea, and good effects. Kind of scary, extremely cool, and entertaining. One of the best robot movies.
March 13, 2017
This is a very well told science fiction movie with some incredible action sequences. It was also carried by strong performances by Linda Hamilton, Michael Biehn and Arnold Schwarzenegger.
February 26, 2017
Simply one of the best Science Fiction films ever made and still one of my favourite films of all time.
½ February 21, 2017
Not bad, not worth all the fuss.
February 20, 2017
One of my top 3 favorite movies of all times. Everything was aligned perfectly great time travel action love story.
½ February 17, 2017
So... it was a good movie and all, except for one hole in the story/plot. How could John Conner send Kyle (his Father) from the future if he wasn't even born yet? And also taking into account that Kyle died just before the Nuclear War, he couldn't have been there at all!
At the start of the movie, Kyle stated that he grew up after the war, and John Conner taught him how to fight. So was he like...re-born or something, or is it just a confusing play with time?
½ February 14, 2017
Not exactly Terminator 2, but it's pretty good.
Page 1 of 1010