The Terminator - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Terminator Reviews

Page 1 of 1014
½ April 11, 2018
cameron and schwarzenegger fully employ their talents as an ambitious and formidable director, and a virtual walking tank, respectively; 'the terminator' is polished yarn and despite a constrained scope, generally awe-inspiring and unpredictable.
½ April 10, 2018
A dark gritty action packed sci fi film that put schwarzenegger and Cameron firmly on the map. Dated special effects now but is well paced and will keep you entertained.
April 1, 2018
Really good sci-fi and a little horror.
April 1, 2018
Exactly what you would expect from a disaster, assassin film; Cyborgs, Guns, Time-Travelling, no normal stuff here and that's great!
March 31, 2018
Surprisingly insightful.
March 30, 2018
The thrill of a robot assassin chasing after a future queen makes this movie worth your time.
March 29, 2018
Cheesy at times but still an action packed classic.
michael e.
Super Reviewer
½ March 29, 2018
Though the Sequel is far more superior, this film is still fantastic. The effects for the time still look impressive, the plot is very creative and original, the acting is great, The music is incredible, and the action is fantastic. Arnold does one of his best performances with this film, and does a very good job at playing basically a serial killer going around killing everyone named Sarah, like how Michael Myers goes around butchering all the baby sitters. The other characters also do great jobs, Linda Hamilton does a great job as the fleeing Sarah Connor, and Michael Beihn does a fantastic job as Kyle Reese, and you really sympathize with these two characters and how they're trying to stay alive while this robot menace is trying to kill them.
March 19, 2018
A great sci fi, action thriller. Amazing effects, story and acting
March 19, 2018
Provides non-stop thrilling action and likable characters, along with an amazing synthesized soundtrack, and a fantastic performance by Schwarzenegger.
Super Reviewer
½ March 18, 2018
I know saying this puts me in the minority, but the first Terminator movie is actually my favourite of the franchise. That's not a knock on the second movie, Judgment Day is awesome. But I really dig the lower down, dark, sci-fi horror vibe of the original (it is a knock on every movie in the series that came after T2 though).

Schwarzenegger as the titular Terminator is inspired casting. Firstly, any restrictions he had in acting ability back in the 80s are brushed aside by the fact that he's playing a cold, unfeeling machine. And can you imagine someone who looks like that coming after you? Forget the fact he's got an arsenal in his back pocket, forget the fact that he's got a near unstoppable metal exoskeleton, Arnie is already a machine! Being hunted by that man would be terrifying, and you feel that in the performance of the leads.

The Terminator is one of the best movies I've ever seen, and I have seen - a lot.
½ March 9, 2018
a must see sci fi movie!
February 26, 2018
Masterpiece beyond words.
February 20, 2018
I love it i just wanna ruin the 100% lol
February 18, 2018
Great Film enough said
½ February 17, 2018
it was an amazing experience that everyone should see one problem though was the sex scene which would prevent from a few people seeing it apart from that perfect.
½ February 6, 2018
Title: Terminator
Story/Writing/Message/Plot: 4
Character/Acting: 3
Music/Sound: 3
Cinematography/Editing: 4
Age/Originality: 5
Total: 19/25
January 30, 2018
The Terminator Is a Fun Action Movie Rest in peace Bill Paxton
January 20, 2018
It's Terminator with prime Arnold, can't not watch it
January 18, 2018
Just a dull action movie with very little action.
Page 1 of 1014