The Invitation - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Invitation Reviews

Page 1 of 31
½ September 21, 2018
This movie was so bad... it made no sense, had no plot, terrible acting, boring and a waste of time.
September 18, 2018
This movie sucked. It was not a mystery at all. I knew what was going to happen from the beginning. Typical cult killer thriller with a shit cast a shit story and a shitty ending.
August 23, 2018
A slow-burning, suspenseful horror-thriller that will keep you questioning and on the edge of your seat throughout. It also provides so intriguing social commentary to boot.
August 5, 2018
Look. It's directed as a "mystery movie", but its definitely not.
So that's bad.
But the acting from Logan Marshall-Green is awesome (or at least perfect for the character), so he carries the movie on the weakest parts.
They had a chance to do something surprising entering the third act, but they used it to mantain the same flow the movie had...
And the ending was predictable and just "ok" at beast.
The last shot is what makes it a 6, or a "good" movie for me. Because it somehows makes it scarier.
½ July 27, 2018
I was supremely impressed by The Invitation, a film that directly looks grief in the face and uncovers both the possibilities of catharsis, and horror, that mourning affords. While at times the slower pace is a little grating (one begins to predict unfolding events faster than they are presented) there is also a sense that time needs to be taken for such a story to be as affecting as it is. Mostly, The Invitation is a film about how what we invite into our hearts after tragedy is not necessarily for our own good, yet confronting those destructive elements, as painful (and lethal) as they may be is imperative. This, of course, is why Eden's "remarkable transformation" is at once alluring yet repulsive--unlike Will she has, indeed, discovered how to make "pain" disappear, but only in the form of a disastrous inversion of the grieving process. I cannot afford to say more or give away anything else. Take up The Invitation (for now it's on Netflix).
July 13, 2018
It isn't often you get psychological horror this good. The movie does feel a bit like a slow burn but there's hardly ever a dull moment. There is tension starting at minute one and the wait is definitely worth it. Definitely a must-see for any horror fan.
July 5, 2018
This movie was a slow burner, but worth the wait! Not your run of the mill horror movie. It was built entirely on creating unease, and then making you doubt yourself throughout the movie. I'll definitely have to rewatch it to see all the hints and clues I missed.
July 5, 2018
É para promover pequenas gemas como The Invitation que aprecio tanto este trabalho de análise crítica. Com pouco marketing por trás, o filme da realizadora Karyn Kusama deu que falar em vários festivais de cinema por todo o mundo, mas não atingiu nem de perto o público que merecia. Este é o meu pequeno incentivo para que mais pessoas sejam expostas a este thriller que é tão intenso como calculista.

Will (Logan Marshall-Green) e a sua namorada, Kira (Emayatzy Corinealdi), recebem um convite para um jantar. Os anfitriões são Eden (Tammy Blanchard), a ex-mulher de Will, com quem partilha uma tragédia não resolvida, e o seu novo namorado, David (Michiel Huisman). Depois de ter passado 2 anos no México, Eden organizou o jantar para restabelecer a ligação com velhos amigos. Vários casais são convidados. Mas rapidamente Will começa a perceber que há algo de errado. Porque será que David tentou trancar a porta principal? E quem são os dois estranhos convidados (Lindsay Burdge e John Lynch)? Será tudo delírio de Will?

Com um ritmo deliberadamente - às vezes demasiado - lento, The Invitation escala entre a cordialidade e a paranoia, mantendo uma ambiguidade mais ou menos constante. Mesmo que se preveja o desfecho da narrativa, tal como no thriller psicológico Rosemary's Baby (1968), a jornada mantém o seu interesse. Orientado essencialmente pelo diálogo, a dupla de argumentistas Phil Hay e Matt Manfredi (envolvidos nos filmes Ride Along (2014 -)) alcançam um ponto alto nas suas carreiras ao criarem um enredo maduro e magnético sobre as várias formas de lidar com o sofrimento, a influência dos cultos e o cinismo da nossa era.

O elenco pouco reconhecido sublinha a hipótese de que nós, audiência, podíamos perfeitamente estar naquela sala de convívio, incomodados com a peculiaridade das interações. Um dos constrangidos é naturalmente Will, interpretado com subtileza por Logan Marshall-Green, que me fez lembrar o ator Tom Hardy, principalmente pelo seu aspeto. Vemos o filme através dos seus olhos e é a sua performance sentida que realça a ambiguidade da história. Sendo um filme concentrado praticamente num só espaço, todos os atores têm a quota-parte de oportunidades (crédito também de Kusama, que fez um ótimo trabalho a direcionar os seus atores), mas ele é o grande destaque.

Obtemos o contexto necessário do passado traumático do casal através das recordações de Will, quando a imagem do diretor de fotografia Bobby Shore adquire uma qualidade onírica bem apreciada. A montagem é também ela corretamente executada, mas é a composição musical de Theodore Shapiro que surpreende, principalmente por não ser usual trabalhar com composições do género, onde os instrumentos de cordas estão em primazia e enriquecem a atmosfera.

Depois de ter proporcionado algum entretenimento com o filme Jennifer's Body (2009), Karyn Kusama conseguiu o meu entusiasmo para o seu próximo projeto. The Invitation não tem uma premissa revolucionária, mas tem algo que escapa a muitos filmes: memorabilidade. E quando pensava que os arrepios não podiam ser ampliados e o queixo não voltava a cair, eis que surge a última imagem.

O convite está feito, recomendo que o aceitem.

8,5/10
½ June 20, 2018
"The invitation" will make you squirm at the edge of your seat for nearly 90 minutes. When the shit finally hits the fan you will be left shellshocked in the wake of it's conclusion.
½ June 14, 2018
Really liked this movie
June 5, 2018
The Invitation has an original premise and a creepy climax if one can stomach the yuppie cocktail party dialogue along the way.
May 29, 2018
This movie started as a suspenseful movie, but it continued to have nothing happen with each moment of suspense until the very end (last 20 minutes). The music hinted towards something happening and it never quite did. The buildup that lacked any plot was bigger than the actual climax. It took way long to even hint to anything actually happening in the movie.
May 28, 2018
Incredibly slow moving thriller that doesn't get really interesting until the last 30 minutes or so. Until then it's all very dimly lit dinner party paranoia type of stuff. The premise is there, what if a huge dinner party was thrown, but you were paranoid to think something sinister wad behind all of it? Not really worth your time to get to the point where it gets interesting.
May 19, 2018
One of the most boring movies i have ever seen. Nothing but smalltalk aof groupf of friends meeting again after some years. Playing kind of truth-and-dare wahere also nothing happens. Characters are very flat because the actors are really bad - there is no relatinship to them during the whole movie. The story itself is very boring and quite often without any logic. One star for this movie is just for the music in it - the rest is not worth spenig 100 minutes on it
May 15, 2018
A pitch perfect psychological thriller to be enjoyed like a fine red wine.
½ May 9, 2018
I was craving a thriller and this did the job perfectly. Kept you guessing throughout and left it on a bit of a cliffhanger in a well thought out way. Would recommend this to friends.
May 3, 2018
This film keeps you in constant suspense, asking yourself, "is this plot ever going to go anywhere?" Thre is about 1.5 hours of filler in this movie. I'll save you some time, creepy party guests, weird night, skip to the last 15 minutes.
½ April 26, 2018
Complete shit. This film is so boring that when something slightly unexpected happens at the end - that doesn't even impact the plot - people are throwing their hats in the air and calling it a masterpiece. Like that someone who is almost always a prick to you for no reason so when, once in a blue moon, they smile at you, you're so shocked and relieved that they're not being a prick, you think they're God's gift. This movie is the equivalent of that prick.
April 19, 2018
A taut, tension-filled thriller that has an excellent cast and strong story telling. Quite a surprise.
April 6, 2018
Slow start. (Like- the whole first half.) I almost didn't hang in there but I'm glad I did. I would recommend this to friends.
Page 1 of 31