The Invitation - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Invitation Reviews

Page 1 of 31
November 11, 2018
Is started off kinda "strange" but once the movie continues, and the plot twist takes place, it starts to all make sense....I only took away one star because that freaky actor "Lynch" aka John Carrol made his way into this overall masterpiece of a horror film(I REALLY despise him in any and EVERYmovie he plays in lol) but it was a really good movie ;)
½ November 4, 2018
Unbelievably bad. How this has 70% or more on rotten tomatoes is beyond me.
Slow, unrealistic, and just dumb.
October 25, 2018
Truly one of the most tedious and boring movies i've ever watched. If you're looking for an LA movie with a predictable plot, an hour and a half of bad buildup, boring scenes of actors sitting in a room and commentating on how expensive the wine is, then by all means, go ahead. The actors were goo though. The secrets were unveiled in the most unoriginal way -- actor getting angry and finally spilling the beans to a room full of people ?? where have you seen this before? everywhere. -- If you're looking for a fun horror movie that will scare you for days, look elsewhere. Possibly one of the worst movies i've ever seen.
½ October 21, 2018
The invitation was roughly an hour and 1/2 of poorly built teNsion for 1/2 hour of predictable payoff. I can't deciDe what was worsE, the stilted dialog or awkward group of misfits that inspire little to no concern about their personal WELFARE. The invitation this movIe provides is just to wait, wait foR this garbage covered garbage fest to be over. I wish I could be Uninvited to the invitation.
½ October 20, 2018
Horrible movie w/ no plot.
October 20, 2018
The tension continues to increase throughout the movie. Great thriller.
October 18, 2018
Solid horror movie with great tension and a good payoff. Let's hope they don't ruin it by making a sequel.
October 9, 2018
It seems like people either love or hate this move. When I read the reviews of those that hate the movie they commonly admit to skipping large portions of the movie. If you decide to watch this move, then do yourself a favor and watch the enitre movie. You will probably like it more.
October 3, 2018
I felt as if it was just a little to predictable.
½ September 27, 2018
The invitation is unsettling throughout and shows that Logan Marshall-Green can be more than just a stand-in for Tom Hardy.
½ September 21, 2018
This movie was so bad... it made no sense, had no plot, terrible acting, boring and a waste of time.
September 18, 2018
This movie sucked. It was not a mystery at all. I knew what was going to happen from the beginning. Typical cult killer thriller with a shit cast a shit story and a shitty ending.
August 23, 2018
A slow-burning, suspenseful horror-thriller that will keep you questioning and on the edge of your seat throughout. It also provides so intriguing social commentary to boot.
August 5, 2018
Look. It's directed as a "mystery movie", but its definitely not.
So that's bad.
But the acting from Logan Marshall-Green is awesome (or at least perfect for the character), so he carries the movie on the weakest parts.
They had a chance to do something surprising entering the third act, but they used it to mantain the same flow the movie had...
And the ending was predictable and just "ok" at beast.
The last shot is what makes it a 6, or a "good" movie for me. Because it somehows makes it scarier.
½ July 27, 2018
I was supremely impressed by The Invitation, a film that directly looks grief in the face and uncovers both the possibilities of catharsis, and horror, that mourning affords. While at times the slower pace is a little grating (one begins to predict unfolding events faster than they are presented) there is also a sense that time needs to be taken for such a story to be as affecting as it is. Mostly, The Invitation is a film about how what we invite into our hearts after tragedy is not necessarily for our own good, yet confronting those destructive elements, as painful (and lethal) as they may be is imperative. This, of course, is why Eden's "remarkable transformation" is at once alluring yet repulsive--unlike Will she has, indeed, discovered how to make "pain" disappear, but only in the form of a disastrous inversion of the grieving process. I cannot afford to say more or give away anything else. Take up The Invitation (for now it's on Netflix).
July 13, 2018
It isn't often you get psychological horror this good. The movie does feel a bit like a slow burn but there's hardly ever a dull moment. There is tension starting at minute one and the wait is definitely worth it. Definitely a must-see for any horror fan.
July 5, 2018
This movie was a slow burner, but worth the wait! Not your run of the mill horror movie. It was built entirely on creating unease, and then making you doubt yourself throughout the movie. I'll definitely have to rewatch it to see all the hints and clues I missed.
July 5, 2018
É para promover pequenas gemas como The Invitation que aprecio tanto este trabalho de análise crítica. Com pouco marketing por trás, o filme da realizadora Karyn Kusama deu que falar em vários festivais de cinema por todo o mundo, mas não atingiu nem de perto o público que merecia. Este é o meu pequeno incentivo para que mais pessoas sejam expostas a este thriller que é tão intenso como calculista.

Will (Logan Marshall-Green) e a sua namorada, Kira (Emayatzy Corinealdi), recebem um convite para um jantar. Os anfitriões são Eden (Tammy Blanchard), a ex-mulher de Will, com quem partilha uma tragédia não resolvida, e o seu novo namorado, David (Michiel Huisman). Depois de ter passado 2 anos no México, Eden organizou o jantar para restabelecer a ligação com velhos amigos. Vários casais são convidados. Mas rapidamente Will começa a perceber que há algo de errado. Porque será que David tentou trancar a porta principal? E quem são os dois estranhos convidados (Lindsay Burdge e John Lynch)? Será tudo delírio de Will?

Com um ritmo deliberadamente - às vezes demasiado - lento, The Invitation escala entre a cordialidade e a paranoia, mantendo uma ambiguidade mais ou menos constante. Mesmo que se preveja o desfecho da narrativa, tal como no thriller psicológico Rosemary's Baby (1968), a jornada mantém o seu interesse. Orientado essencialmente pelo diálogo, a dupla de argumentistas Phil Hay e Matt Manfredi (envolvidos nos filmes Ride Along (2014 -)) alcançam um ponto alto nas suas carreiras ao criarem um enredo maduro e magnético sobre as várias formas de lidar com o sofrimento, a influência dos cultos e o cinismo da nossa era.

O elenco pouco reconhecido sublinha a hipótese de que nós, audiência, podíamos perfeitamente estar naquela sala de convívio, incomodados com a peculiaridade das interações. Um dos constrangidos é naturalmente Will, interpretado com subtileza por Logan Marshall-Green, que me fez lembrar o ator Tom Hardy, principalmente pelo seu aspeto. Vemos o filme através dos seus olhos e é a sua performance sentida que realça a ambiguidade da história. Sendo um filme concentrado praticamente num só espaço, todos os atores têm a quota-parte de oportunidades (crédito também de Kusama, que fez um ótimo trabalho a direcionar os seus atores), mas ele é o grande destaque.

Obtemos o contexto necessário do passado traumático do casal através das recordações de Will, quando a imagem do diretor de fotografia Bobby Shore adquire uma qualidade onírica bem apreciada. A montagem é também ela corretamente executada, mas é a composição musical de Theodore Shapiro que surpreende, principalmente por não ser usual trabalhar com composições do género, onde os instrumentos de cordas estão em primazia e enriquecem a atmosfera.

Depois de ter proporcionado algum entretenimento com o filme Jennifer's Body (2009), Karyn Kusama conseguiu o meu entusiasmo para o seu próximo projeto. The Invitation não tem uma premissa revolucionária, mas tem algo que escapa a muitos filmes: memorabilidade. E quando pensava que os arrepios não podiam ser ampliados e o queixo não voltava a cair, eis que surge a última imagem.

O convite está feito, recomendo que o aceitem.

8,5/10
½ June 20, 2018
"The invitation" will make you squirm at the edge of your seat for nearly 90 minutes. When the shit finally hits the fan you will be left shellshocked in the wake of it's conclusion.
½ June 14, 2018
Really liked this movie
Page 1 of 31