The Walk Reviews

Page 1 of 14
March 4, 2021
Director Robert Zemeckis takes his time getting to the walk. He treats the story as a procedural, although a whimsical one, that tries to slide by on charm for two thirds of it's running time.
December 4, 2020
Though the conclusion - conceived to wrap up personal relationships and pay tribute to the World Trade Center - loses steam, the headlining stunt is exhilaratingly triumphant.
July 3, 2020
Whatever middling, underdeveloped story the initial acts deliver is wiped away and forgotten the instant the protagonist steps out on that wire.
June 26, 2020
It is an exciting film that grips the visual wonder of an incredible feat to make us panic about walking on the emptiness. [Full review in Spanish]
April 29, 2020
I was having a great time, but for the wrong reasons.
April 29, 2020
It was still pretty boring.
February 13, 2020
Once the movie gets to New York and the plan gets moving, the film takes off. It's hugely entertaining watching this band of goofballs...
January 10, 2020
Zemeckis has great fun manipulating the viewer's depth perception, especially once Petit steps out onto the highest of wires. Combined with the flawless, photorealistic CGI, he makes The Walk a completely immersive experience.
October 16, 2019
Though neither French nor a redhead, Joseph Gordon-Levitt embodies the mix of wily frenetic energy and tenacity for which Petit is known, and masters the french accent just enough to demand we forget all but the story at hand.
August 26, 2019
The finale is gripping.
April 19, 2019
The death-defying act seemingly lends itself well to a big screen adaptation but due to a lack of story to mine from, its 123 mins play flat - despite the depth supplied from its strong use of 3D.
April 18, 2019
The special effects are astonishing and in the IMAX 3D it feels like you are walking as Petit walks. The rest of the film is fine and certainly watchable if flawed.
April 8, 2019
For all its storytelling shortcomings, The Walk is a must-see for its perilous, vertiginous, sweaty-palmed finale.
March 1, 2019
It's a high note to end on, but the road to get there is so unremarkable and stale that it makes it difficult to exalt the movie as a whole.
February 22, 2019
It is an astonishing sequence and a superb piece of filmmaking that celebrates a truly unique artist; a man who would not give up on his wildest dream.
February 7, 2019
I found myself treating my seat as if it were the balancing rod, peering over to look below; my shoulders and feet tightened with each immaculately filmed step. This is why we go to the movies.
January 24, 2019
The greatest artistic, daredevil coup of the century is gracefully breathtaking and magnificently elegant.
January 18, 2019
It's an amazing technical re-creation, putting the audience on the wire with him. If, like me, you are afraid of heights the action feels all too real at times.
November 1, 2018
The first two thirds are well made and interesting enough on their own, but that climax easily ranks amongst the cinematic highlights of this year so far.
August 23, 2018
The 3D is used to impressive effect... but from the moment Joseph Gordon-Levitt opens his mouth to reveal an Allo Allo French accent, The Walk is going nowhere fast.
Page 1 of 14