Tropic Thunder - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tropic Thunder Reviews

Page 1 of 1483
October 6, 2016
Funny, original and a great cast.
September 22, 2016
"You m-m-m-mmm-m-make me happy".Loads of laughs in this and excellent comic turns from Downey Jnr and Tom Cruise. McConnaghey cracked me up aswell. "You make my pee-pee maker t-t-tingle".
September 21, 2016
So many classic moments and lines emerged from this movie!
½ September 20, 2016
Full of homages and hilarious satires to famous war movies, Tropic Thunder is an entertaining story of humourous consequences, featuring a stellar and memorable performance from Robert Downey Jr.
½ September 17, 2016
An incoherent mess of a movie.
September 10, 2016
Satirical, hilarious and full of meta humor arre the reasons why this is a great comedy movie.
September 5, 2016
One of the funniest films in recent memory featuring a scene stealing turn from Robert Downey Jr.
August 18, 2016
It would have been Five stars if there was a sequel been made.
½ August 13, 2016
it is funny, ironic, and enjoyable

It is a bit slow at the start but overall a good movie
August 11, 2016
They don't make movies this funny anymore
Super Reviewer
July 30, 2016
"Everybody knows you never go full retard."

The more I see Ben Stiller, the more I realize he usually plays the same way in every comedy and there's definitely diminishing returns. Basically he's playing 'Zoolander: Soldier Of Fortune' which is how unbelievably dense this character is. If you want to see how you can vary your comedy persona, look no further than co-star Robert Downey Jr who is flat-out hilarious with every line he speaks as an Australian 5-time Oscar winner known for extreme method acting, in this case undergoing controversial pigment-alteration therapy so he could play a black soldier in a fact-based war movie! His performance alone makes this worth watching, because without him there's a steep decline. Jack Black is a funny guy, but he's not funny here. Danny McBride can be funny but he doesn't have a very big role (which in truth is the best way to use Danny McBride). Only Tom Cruise - yes, Tom Cruise! - approaches the same level of hilarity as a balding, heavyset , ill-tempered movie producer with incredibly hairy arms. The sharpest comedian of them all is Steve Coogan who exits early, but not before he gives the best fatal motivational speech since Samuel L Jackson in "Deep Blue Sea".
½ July 29, 2016
There are a good of funny parts. ok movie overall.
July 25, 2016
Les Grossman only good thing about this movie. Mindless.
July 20, 2016
Tropic Thunder (2008) C-106m. ?? 1/2 D: Ben Stiller. Ben Stiller, Jack Black, Robert Downey Jr., Jay Baruchel, Nick Nolte, Steve Coogan, Matthew McConaughey, Tom Cruise. Disappointing big-budget war-film parody about several actual Vietnam war veterans who return to Vietnam to film a Hollywood picture . . . but nothing goes quite right, mostly since Downey (playing an outrageous black soldier) never goes out of character. A terrific comedy premise has some laughs and an absolutely on-target performance by Downey . . . but the parts are greater than the whole, and the film goes on too long (particularly Unrated version, which runs two hours). Stiller can be amusing at spots, but Black is given so little to do; opens with four hilarious mock trailers which are by far the best thing about this movie. Recommended for people who really get a kick out of these actors, or if you've ever wanted to see Tom Cruise bust a move. A mixed bag overall.
July 19, 2016
Great movie! It really was! I love the story, the creativity, and I love all the actors in it! 4 stars!
July 18, 2016
Take away RDJ and you have a mediocre but clever comedy with good commentary and a star-studded cast. Put him in... and you've got a truly special experience.
½ July 17, 2016
Pretty entertaining, but lags in a lot of areas. Picking up the supposed prop head though is a classic.
Super Reviewer
½ July 12, 2016
A pretty bad movie. Not very funny either.
½ July 12, 2016
Tropic Thunder is more than just comedy. It is a movie about making movies and the hardships the characters have to go through to finish it.
July 12, 2016
This movie has a pretty great cast and dosent fail to deliver. Best part of the movie is hands down Tom Cruises character.
Page 1 of 1483