Twixt - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Twixt Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Super Reviewer
½ August 9, 2016
It is painful to see Coppola indulge himself with this personal nonsense, an incoherent mess that doesn't know if it wants to be an unscary Gothic horror story, an overstylized nightmare or an unfunny comedy. It is only bland, pointless and, even worse, sleep-inducing.
July 18, 2016
didn't care for this latest FF Coppola film
March 20, 2016
The story is interesting and evocative but disjointed with an ending that just peters out. Like Tetro before it, some elements are extremely personal to Coppola and the whole story is a fugue variation on the inside of his head. Its inventive and full of ideas and good shots buts sometimes look like a teenage collage, self indulgent and amateurish, Like FF Coppola wants to emulate something other than himself and lands a few inches past the caricature line. He used this technique of black and white superimposed with bright colors in Tetro to gorgeous effects, but here, it doesnt always work and is often campy. Yet its appealing because the love of moviemaking shows; its just not that obvious that an actual master is at the helm, like he regressed, carrying with himself all his experience but not his means nor his actual technical skills. The dream sequences have been critiqued and i see why but at the same time i kind of like how naive they are and willfully overbursting with so many fantasies. I have half a mind to surrender to it, forget the cheese and enjoy the old magic with no cynicism. If i go along with it, its ripe for the taking. But the ending feels like he ran out of tape so tacked an extra scene after the last one shot and that was that.
Super Reviewer
February 20, 2016
Not sure it entirely works, but I loved the dream sequences and Elle Fanning in this. The ending was flat and I hoped for more, but this kept me entertained and was creepy mostly, so no real complaints.
February 18, 2016
There's a few good horror elements in Twixt, but asides from that and the good visual effects, there's no real narrative and after an hour it becomes unwatchable.
½ February 18, 2016
No story, no horror, no action, no thrill. Couldn't even finish!
November 9, 2015
It's sad that so many peoples criticism of this film isn't if the film itself but rather the fact that the director isn't still making the same kind of films he was making 40 years ago. God forbid an artist evolve or take a risk. For what it is, a surrealist gothic horror/comedy, I thought it was pretty good.
November 8, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised by this after Coppola's recent experiments. It's a sensual experience. Perfectly good movie despite cynicism critics bring to his movies now because they aren't the Godfather.
October 31, 2015
Not a horror film really. A few interesting moments, overall nothing really memorable other than Val's comedic timing is brilliant when it needs to be.
October 23, 2015
Excellent visuals, but "Twixt" is too underdeveloped and uninteresting to be even remotely creepy.
½ September 10, 2015
couldnt finish it cuz it was so bad and i NEVER not finish a movie cuz it's like opening a bottle of wine and i HAVE to finish the bottle! One movie i walked out of theater was "dude, where is my car"
August 24, 2015
The movie is filmed like an FMV game from the mid '90's. Then there's this gem: "You know who made daylight savings time, don't you? Hitler. You know who supports it now? Doctors. And do you know why? Golf." And, the appearance of Edgar Allen Poe.

This movie is odd. It's terrible, but you should watch it.
July 14, 2015
The only thing more baffling than the bad acting, cheap effects, lack of clear motivation for any of the characters' actions and the unclear plot is the fact that a film plagued by this many problems came from a director as experienced and seemingly talented as Francis Ford Coppola.

4,5/10
½ June 15, 2015
A flimsy, convoluted story that suffers from weak dream sequences & drawn out narrative that makes it near unwatchable
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
May 27, 2015
On his not quite standing room book signing tour, Hall Baltimore(Val Kilmer) comes across a town that is so small that it does not have a bookstore but does have a giant clock with seven faces. So, while signing books in a hardware store, he encounters an actual fan, Sheriff Bobby LaGrange(Bruce Dern) who shows him the latest body in the morgue. But what Hall is even more interested in is a drink, being drawn to a bar where Edgar Allan Poe(Ben Chaplin) used to hang out.

To be honest, "Twixt" does not really work as horror, mystery or personal filmmaking, as Francis Ford Coppola takes a step back artistically in his late period. But that's not to say there is nothing of interest here, as there is just enough eccentricity and weirdness to at least merit a look.
May 10, 2015
Twixt is a miserable failure in all contexts possible. Coppola has created this poor excuse of a film with no effort, story, or motivation. There are no horror elements to this horror film, and the mystery and drama it does center on provide little to get excited about. Val Kilmer isn't trying at all here, and every actor feels out of place and forced. Twixt seems like a movie made to go straight to day-time television. A shame on all the talent wasted here.
½ May 4, 2015
There are no words that can accurately describe what this movie is like. How a director who is responsible for some of the most influential movies of all time can turn around and shit out a stinker of this caliber is beyond me. While it is pretty funny (mainly because of it's atrocious production values, terrible dialogue, corny acting...pretty much everything I guess) it is also seriously mind numbing.
½ May 2, 2015
How does it feel to be a bargain basement Stephen King?

A horror author has a book signing in a small town. He discovers the town has an interesting history that involves a serial killer and a mysterious little girl. The author has visions and the ghosts of the town and the local sheriff tell him an interesting tale that he feels is his next big project. However, as he gets more information he gets more sucked in...maybe too deep.

"You can't change time. Time changes you."

Francis Ford Coppola, director of Bram Stokers Dracula, The Godfather 1-3, Apocalypse Now, The Rainmaker, Jack, Rumble Fish, and The Outsiders, delivers Twixt. The storyline for this picture is terrible and the plot is pathetic. The acting is also awful and the cast delivers Val Kilmer, Bruce Dern, Elle Fanning, Ben Chaplin, Don Novello, and Ryan Simpkins.

"It was a town of those who wanted to be left alone."

Twixt was a movie I came across on Netflix because it was directed by Francis Ford Coppola so I thought it would be worth a viewing. It wasn't. This film has awkward comedy, mixed into a weird horror picture. It was trying to be like Frightners...it just wasn't as good. I recommend skipping this.

"You are the ending you seek."

Grade: D
½ March 10, 2015
umm, I couldn't get past the 15min mark, just because of the poorly shot and horribly edited talents behind this. there was absolutely no post production, and the directing was so boring within those 15min, it was going to be impossible to correct. bad filmmaking. unwatchable. shame on you Francis ford coppola. this was a student film at best.
Page 1 of 11