The X-Files - Fight the Future - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The X-Files - Fight the Future Reviews

Page 1 of 140
October 1, 2016
It's at a disadvantage of being written and shot to be set after a season that had not seen made at the time. So in someways watching it again in the age of TV boxsets in between seasons 5 and 6 when its set in the X files canon dare I say it is like watching Star Wars in episode order now (you know what's been better than anyone who worked on the film did at the time). They are vague about some major plot elements that follow on from the shows fifth season, and characters introduced towards the end of that season obviously are absent because they didn't exist during the movies production.

It does do a great job of bring the show to the big screen. It does focus more on the mythology storylines of the show at the time but does create at times a big screen version of iconic elements of the "monster of the week" themes of the show as well.
September 16, 2016
The X-Files:Fight The Future(1998)
Starring: David Duchovny, Gillian Anderson, Martin Landu, Mitch PILEGGI, Armin Mueller Stah, Blythe Danner, Dean Haglund, Bruce Hardwood, Tom Braidwood, and William B. Davis
Directed By: Rob Bowman
Review
"He is just one man, and one man alone can not fight the future"
This is one exciting mystery that was worth five seasons of the show on Netflix. I have been watching the X-files series on Netflix just too get too both movies. As of right now you know where I am. The only thing that would make this film better would be well I don't know it's pretty amazing.
When a terrorist bomb destroys a building in Dallas, FBI agents Fox Mulder(David Duchovny) and Dana Scully(Gillian Anderson) put their lives on the line to try and stop the spread of a deadly virus that may be extraterrestrial in origin.
Throughout my viewing of the show I've become a fan of the series in general and have grown to love some of the characters. I'm not however fond of Mulder's three nerd friends for some reason I just don't like them. My favorite character besides Mulder and Scully is Mulder's arch-enemy The Smoking Man played just as awesome as ever by William B. Davis. He is usually trying to hide the truth of alien life and other dealings with the paranormal from Mulder. He is the first to be on this site of the where virus is. The film makes you get into each character without needing to watch the show but I like to anyway because it gives me more pleasure and more mysteries to solve with these characters.
The film does have an interesting plot, that makes any audience member who hasn't watched the show feel what it was like, and for fans adds to the excitement with it's grande scale. With disease mysteries, a conspiracy and a central key to what makes the show tick and that's the search for alien life forms. Which has always been a high point in the show because Mulder strongly believes in the existence of extraterrestrials.
Rob Bowman directs the first X-file feature and after this will be known for directing one of the worst comic book movies of all time called Elektra, a bad film I actually like and gave one a half stars too, but in this he does a great job. The shot of Dallas and Washington D.c are quite good.
All the elements of a good film seem to be here, I had a great time watching this. The acting is just as great as it was in the show, it allows and idea of the show in a decent run time for newcomers, and builds to be a great mystery with good direction. I give The X-Files: Fight The Future a five out of five.
August 10, 2016
Basically an extended X-files episode. Even more confusing and random than usual. Probably was better when viewed during the height of X-Files fervor, but at the moment, it felt very "meh".
½ July 25, 2016
awesome and even answers some of the questions from the TV series upon which this is based. oh & another lost review.
Super Reviewer
July 2, 2016
Not delivering the amiable approach to the movie's subversive themes it might have hoped for, The X-Files tells a rather inconventional yet alluring conspiracy story that will defy one's belief within the format of a more ambitious episode of the eminent TV series, strongly supported by Duchovny and Anderson's indisputable chemistry.
May 6, 2016
i am on season 5 of the show right now i already saw the movie when i was 7 but at the end of the season 5 i will watch this movie
April 22, 2016
Even if you did not watch the series the movie is still for everyone. You will not get lost and you will find out the basis of the X-Files. David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson do an excellent job. The story is well thought out and many questions are answered.
April 4, 2016
Ok for a loyal X Files fan, although its essentially a high budget double TV episode, not a film.
Super Reviewer
½ February 29, 2016
The Alien Conspiracy finally comes to light in The X-Files: Fight the Future. Set between seasons 5 and 6 of the television series, FBI agents Mulder and Sully investigate the bombing of a federal building and uncover a sinister plot by a secret cabal to pave the way for alien colonization. Both David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson bring their A-game and deliver strong performances. Additionally, several recurring characters from the series stop by for cameos. Some knowledge of the television show is helpful, but for the most part the film does a good job at giving the audience a taste of the series without overwhelming them with too much mythology. Exciting and full of thrills, The X-Files: Fight the Future delivers a compelling sci-fi adventure with aliens, shadowy organizations, and government conspiracies.
½ February 28, 2016
This inbetween the season 5 and 6 movie, is at all the effects part of the mithology of x-files, for this reason is totally faithful to the series. This is both a plus and a minus in my opinion. A plus, because all the people who follow the serie and watch the movies, recognize it immediately, and appreciate it for what it is: a very long cinematic episode of the x-files world (much before the Marvel try to do something similar with the different phases of its movies and tv series). The minus is that, if someone did not go to watch the movie to the cinema when it went out, would have surely lost too much in respect to the tv series. In fact, while in the preceding 5 seasons something rarely happens that give to the story a great advance, in the 2 hours of the movie a lot happens in a very short time. This is a bit unfair for the tv series itself, although as already said the movie should be just considered their extensions. The only real minus though, is that this movie is terribly long to be truly enjoyable, because the structure is the same of a tv episode, only 1h 20 minutes longer!
February 21, 2016
4.5/5 or an A entertaining thrilling flick to the X-files mythology
February 14, 2016
aliens and conspiracies, along with sacrifices and ... no intimacy. not yet.
½ February 3, 2016
Just as good, if not even better than the show.
½ January 28, 2016
As a huge fan of the series, this movie was everything I was hoping it would be. It has supernatural mysteries, uber conspiracies, and scares/surprises throughout. Many complained that this just simply felt like a 2 hour TV episode, but at the end of the day, isn't that just what fan of the X-Files are hoping for. There isn't anything wrong with the TV series, so why fix it if it ain't broke? Don't get me wrong, the set pieces and action sequences are worthy of the Hollywood big screen, so there is more here than just your 40+ minute FOX episode. So again, what more could you possibly hope for than an elongated TV episode that successfully bridges Season 5 to Season 6?
January 24, 2016
It may come as a mystery to people who are not familiar to the series but overall fight for the future satisfies the big screen movie that the die hard fans waited for
½ January 19, 2016
Basically, a two hour episode with better production value. That's not necessarily bad for fans of the show but even fans of the show might have a hard time finding any reason for this movie to exist.
September 20, 2015
The x files the movie was just as good as the TV show. With it being shut down Mulder and Scully are just working as normal FBI agents and not liking their job when they discover a bomb and not is all as it seems. Soon they discover there is a cover up and as usual Mulder is on the case
August 29, 2015
This movie was intended to bridge seasons 5 and 6, but it was so much more than that. Great film for fans of the X-Files!
½ July 18, 2015
Fits into Chris Carter's original story arc perfectly and maintains all the entertainment of the series and then some.
Page 1 of 140