Jane The Virgin: Season 5 Reviews

November 11, 2021
The preening Rogelio steals the show; the Narrator keeps you coming back for more.
October 27, 2021
For a show that delights in the absurd, Petra and JR's love story felt as authentic as any I've ever seen on TV.
June 25, 2021
It's rare that a show manages to do so much: to break important barriers in representation... while also, fundamentally, asking all of us to be better people
March 15, 2021
It's a show that reminds us that resistance onscreen can just be giving space to characters who aren't normally visible, and writing them with both technical brilliance and empathy.
March 5, 2020
Below the surface, Jane the Virgin is also bracingly realistic about parenthood, work-life balance, relationships, and, yes, sex. Tender, fun, and expertly plotted, it's perfect multi-generational viewing.
August 1, 2019
The series never loses sight of the three women at its center.
August 1, 2019
Jane The Virgin aired its series finale last night, and I want everyone here to know that it made me cry real, genuine tears of real emotions because I was touched by the things they were saying and doing.
August 1, 2019
A fitting sendoff filled with unabashed emotion and romance that neatly tied up the loose ends with a big bright bow.
August 1, 2019
We leave the Villanuevas knowing they're headed into uncharted territory secure in themselves and in how much they care for one another. It's the heartfelt ending they deserve.
August 1, 2019
It is not the best episode of Jane the Virgin. It is not an exceptional or legendary TV finale, but it's the right one, which feels far more appropriate.
August 1, 2019
Let the record show that drama takes a back seat to wackiness and multiple shots of Jane Villanueva crying when the term "series finale" is attached to the episode.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 1, 2019
It was satisfying and moving and I cried, and as a critic, it means so much to see a show land the creative plane this successfully. Jane has been a balm, and as much as it will be missed, what a beautiful sendoff.
August 1, 2019
If there's an easier show to love than "Jane the Virgin," I can't think of it.
July 30, 2019
In an era of TV marked by mean, often evil men, Jane the Virgin spent five seasons honing a brand of sincere, female-led kindness that separated it from the pack and elevated it to being one of the defining shows of the past decade.
June 28, 2019
Jane the Virgin is easily the cleverest show on TV. This is a sentiment that's more objective than you might realize, simply because no other show does nearly as much.
June 14, 2019
This final chapter has managed to capture every way in which we managed to fall in love with this series and its characters...just like any family, we learned to love this series for its flaws and celebrate it for the accomplishments.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 2, 2019
It's designed to make hot-take writers across the internet fawn over Gina Rodriguez's acting chops and developing directorial flair. But you know what? That fawning is well deserved.
March 29, 2019
So far, they're doing an impeccable job.
March 28, 2019
Seven minutes, twenty seconds. That's how long Gina Rodriguez commands the screen in the breathtaking, heartbreaking, longest-on-TV-in-more-than-40-years monologue in the first quarter of Chapter Eighty-Two, Jane the Virgin's fifth season opener.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.3/10
March 28, 2019
It's a classic soap opera trope, but this is Jane The Virgin, so the amnesia is all the more tragic because the writing and performances so fully realize how this revelation changes relationships.
Full Review | Original Score: B+